Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Streaming Video Subscriptions
UH Library subscribes to some wonderful streaming video collections. You will need to use your UH username and password to log in and view these videos.
Ethnographic Video Online: Volume III, Indigenous Voices Ethnographic Video Online is a comprehensive online resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. The collections contain over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork. It's also a resource for a study of the discipline itself: By placing examples of traditional ethnographic methodologies alongside indigenous-made films representing previously overlooked perspectives, scholars, teachers and students of anthropology can gain a sense of the discipline's history and of its future direction.
Kanopy Streaming Video Kanopy is a "Netflix-like" video platform for college campuses. UH-Manoa licenses select videos from the platform for course reserves. Covering many topics, featured producers in Kanopy's collection include Criterion Collection, PBS, HBO, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, BBC, New Day Films.
Swank Digital Campus Web site for streaming popular video content used for reserves in classes this semester, but open to all of UH Manoa. May need to download plug-ins to view videos.
Drama Online Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides. The constantly growing collection meets the full range of teaching needs for theatre studies, literature courses and drama schools. From the epic to the monologue; ensemble to one-person plays; comedy to tragedy; the historical to the contemporary; and from the highly political to the profoundly personal.
JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) JoVE publishes videos of scientific experiments from the top laboratories around the globe. UH Manoa has access to the following sections:
Video Journal: Cancer Research, Developmental Biology, Genetics, Immunology and Infection, Medicine, Neuroscience
Science Education: Basic Biology, Clinical Skills
This resource is available thanks to the JABSOM Health Sciences Library.
Free Online Videos: General/Educational
Video Reformatting Project
Since March 2009 to December 2019, Sinclair Library has been digitizing many of its older videos, focusing on those in the Hawaiian and Pacific collections. Starting January 2020 the digitizing process moved to Hamilton Library. Digitized videos are now available online via OneSearch. Learn more
Free Online Videos: Hawaii/Pacific
Hawaii Nisei Story
Provides video clips of interviews with Hawaii Nisei veterans and selected spouses.
An Internet network with multiple channels featuring news, entertainment, original programming, vintage television from Hawaii, provided free to the public.
Think Tech Hawaii
ThinkTech Hawaii creates and disseminates videos of events and news makers relating to technology and globalism in Hawaii.
NZ On Screen
Explore an excellent collection of documentaries, TV shows, and feature films from New Zealand.
East-West Center on Vimeo
The East-West Center, based in Honolulu and Washington, D.C., was established by Congress in 1960 to promote dialogue and cooperative research between the US, Asia, and the Pacific. They have publicly available videos on various topics.
Micronesian Seminar Videos
Micronesian Seminar has over 60 free videos available for downloading. Subjects range from the history of the islands to current social issues and health care.
Insights on PBS Hawaii
Archive of Insights on PBS Hawaii videos going back to 2008.
University of Hawaii Streaming videos on Hawaii
Selected Video Hawaii Video Series available to the University of Hawaii Community (login required)
ʻŌiwi TV - Native Hawaiian television station. Streams
ʻAhaʻi ʻŌlelo Ola - Hawaiian Language news (subtitled in English)
Indigenous Insight - International indigenous news magazine featuring themes and topics relevant to indigenous communities. Produced in partnership with the World Indigenous Television Broadcasters Network
Nä Maka o ka ʻÄina - Award winning Native Hawaiian filmmakers.
ʻÄina ʻŌiwi - Hawaiian language cartoon produced by the ʻAha Pünana Leo Hawai
Ka‘iwakīloumoku by Kamehameha Schools
O 'oe e Kalaninuimehameha e hea aku ana i ka 'iwa kīlou moku lā e komo… 'Ano'ai ke aloha! Welcome to the Ka'iwakīloumoku Virtual Archive – a multi-media haven for online cultural learning. Here you’ll find videos, snapshots, articles, recipes, interviews, profiles of Hawaiian elders, and more.