Skip to Main Content

Hawaii Art 101 - A Resource List

This guide is an overview of art books, videos, museums and archives, organizations and societies focused on Hawaii artists.

Archives

Association of Hawaii Archivists (AHA) is the local professional organization for archives. They maintain a Directory of Historical Records Repositories which has descriptions of holdings.
https://hawaiiarchivists.org/links/
__________________________________

Archive of Hawaii Artists - an extension of the Jean Charlot Collection, with artist papers and prints by several of Hawaii's master artists [in progress]
https://manoa-hawaii.libapps.com/libguides/admin_c.php?g=953236

Hawaii State Archives - includes the Madge Tennent Collection in the manuscript holdings
http://ags.hawaii.gov/archives/

Jean Charlot Collection - featuring the papers and fine art print collection of the international artist
https://manoa.hawaii.edu/library/research/collections/charlot-collection/

Museums & Galleries

Hawaii Museums Association (HMA) is the professional organization for museums across Hawaii. The institutions included below are known to exhibit or have art in their collections by artists born or active in Hawaii. Additional museums can be located through the HMA site.
https://hawaiimuseums.org/
_____________________________________________________________________________

Bishop Museum (BPBM) - Hawaii's natural history museum includes the Picture Gallery, featuring 19th century art of Hawaii
https://www.bishopmuseum.org/

Hawaii State Art Museum (HiSAM) - features the Art in Public Places Collection of the Hawaii State Foundation on Culture and the Arts; primarily contemporary art of Hawaii collected since 1967
https://hisam.hawaii.gov/

Honolulu Museum of Art (HoMA) - Hawaii's comprehensive art museum; includes a gallery dedicated to art of Hawaii
https://honolulumuseum.org/

Honolulu Museum of Art at First Hawaiian Center
https://honolulumuseum.org/12002-first_hawaiian_center

'Iolani Palace - 19th century Hawaiian royal portraits
https://www.iolanipalace.org/

Maui Historical Society (MHS) - includes a collection of 19th century paintings by Edward Bailey
https://www.mauimuseum.org/

The Art Gallery and John Young Museum of Art at University of Hawaii at Manoa
https://hawaii.edu/art/exhibitions-events-museum/

Festivals

Festival of Pacific Arts (FESTPAC)
https://festpachawaii.org/

Haleiwa Arts Festival - annual
http://haleiwaartsfestival.org/

Hawaii Contemporary [formerly the Honolulu Biennial Foundation] - now triennial
https://hawaiicontemporary.org/

Murals

808 Urban - A Hawaiian Non-Profit Arts Organization
Creating community murals since 2006: 808urban.org/

POW! WOW! Hawaii
Annual mural festival in Kakaako since 2011: www.powwowworldwide.com/festivals/hawaii

Hawaii State Foundation on Culture & the Arts
Commissioning Art in Public Places since 1967.
Search the collection: https://sfca.hawaii.gov/blog/2017/05/17/search-the-art-in-public-places-collection/

Mayor's Office on Culture and the Arts
Commissioning Art in City Buildings since 1971.
Search the collection: https://hiculturearts.pastperfectonline.com/

Jean Charlot Collection
French-American artist Jean Charlot is known for his murals. His archive is in the Hamilton Library, 5th floor; see ArchivesSpace for a preliminary finding aid: https://archivesspace.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/repositories/4/resources/335

Juliette May Fraser Collection
May was one of Hawaii's most accomplished 20th century muralists. Makahiki, the mural in the entrance of Hamilton Library was created for the San Francisco International Exposition in 1939. See ArchivesSpace to learn more: https://archivesspace.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/repositories/4/resources/336