Skip to main content

Hawaii Art 101 - A Resource List

This guide is an overview of art books, videos, museums and archives, organizations and societies focused on Hawaii artists.

Reading Room

The Jean Charlot Collection is a large artist archive with the artist's personal library. The reading room is open for research Monday-Friday, by appointment. The reading room is also where researchers access other Hawaii artist and architecture archives located in Hamilton Library.

Note that services are extremely limited in response to covid-19.

University of Hawaii, Hamilton Library entrance lobby

"Makahiki Hookupu" mural by Juliette May Fraser

Makahiki Ho'okupu, charcoal and sanguine mural by Juliette May Fraser, 1938
Created for the 1939 San Francisco International Exposition,
permanently installed in the Hamilton Library entrance lobby.

This guide is a broad overview of: books and videos about Hawaii artists: an introduction to museums and archives collections with work by artists born or active in Hawaii; and art centers and societies.

Books and videos can be searched in UH Manoa's OneSearch.

Databases and journals can also be found in OneSearch (select from the drop down list next to the search box); however, most require login with a University of Hawaii user identification and password.

Artist Archives can be searched in UH Manoa's ArchivesSpace (select desired collection or search for a particular artist, then click the "Print" button on the top right corner to generate the most up to date finding aid). Note that many of the finding aids are being revised and expanded.

Honolulu Museum of Art Newsletters

One of the best sources on Hawaii artists is the Honolulu Museum of Art News Bulletin and Calendar, searchable online:
https://evols.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/handle/10524/57641

Hawaii Artists in Wikipedia

Wikipedia has a page titled Artists from Hawaii. It is a compiled list: "Visual artists who were born in, have lived in, have worked in or been involved with Hawaii." It is far from complete, but it does provide links to pages for several of Hawaii's master artists in various categories.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Artists_from_Hawaii

Subject Guide

Malia Van Heukelem's picture
Malia Van Heukelem
Contact:
Art Archivist Librarian, Jean Charlot Collection, Hawaii Artists & Architects
808-956-2849
Website