Research Guides: Second Language Studies (SLS): Find Articles

Journal Articles

In addition to general databases (JSTOR, Academic Search Premier) there are several specialized databases of material related to Linguistics. The most important of these can be found below.

ERIC (via ProQuest)
National information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education, and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement. It provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests and references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals.
NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Dates covered are from 1973 to the present.
MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
NOTE: MLA International Bibliography is only available via EBSCOhost beginning Jan. 1, 2019.
Subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.6 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.
A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now
It is compiled by the staff of the MLA Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. Such international coverage is represented by literature from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America, and while the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish. Includes access to MLA Directory of Periodicals.

Second Language Studies Journals @ Hamilton

Below are just a few Second Language Studies journals available through the UHM Library. It is meant as a starting point and not a comprehensive list. To find out if the library subscribes to the journal you are looking for, check the UH Catalog (Voyager) and the Electronic Journals/eBooks list.