Art Research Guide

For resources by subject, scroll down this page. 

Hamilton Library holds nearly 10,000 DVDs and over 24,000 VHS tapes. You can also explore their Online Video Resources lists.

Films on Demand delivers entertainment, educational and documentary films to your desktop (a UH account required). 

Streaming videos from the UH Hawaiian and Pacific collections are available through OneSearch Manoa, the online library catalog (a UH account required).

Showcasing the British Film Institute’s Victorian Film Collection and the Mitchell and Kenyon Collection, Victorians on Film provides a glimpse into the lives of the late Victorians and Edwardians captured by some of Britain’s earliest film pioneers and innovators.

Supplied by the British Film Institute and Imperial War Museums, British Newsreels, 1911-1930: Culture and Society on Film showcases a large collection of newsreels produced by the Topical Film Company and provides a glimpse into the early twentieth century - from everyday interests, such as sport and fashion, to coverage of key events, such as the First World War, the Suffragette Movement, and the establishment of the Irish Free State.

This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.

Looking for film-related articles, scripts, criticism, full text databases, etc.? Go to Film Research Guide.

Confused about citations for audiovisual materials in your paper/thesis?

See Audiovisual Citation: BUFVC Guidlines For Referencing Moving Image and Sound

See the world the way it was between 1900 and 1970. The Travel Film Archive is a collection of travelogues and educational and industrial films--many of them in color.