Research Guides: Marketing: Consumers

Consumer Information

Statista
Statistics and studies from market research institutions, business organizations, government agencies, scientific publications, and more. Covers business, media, technology, society, education and more. The Consumer Insights module, including the Global Consumer Survey, provides consumer behavior, consumption, media usage for more than 55 countries.
SimplyAnalytics
Web-based mapping application for creating professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. Includes Nielson Scarborough Data module. UH Mānoa users may "sign in as guest," or register for an individual account if you would like to save your work. NOTE: Only 5 users allowed at one time. If you cannot login, try again later.
Mergent Intellect
Global coverage with Dun and Bradstreet's private and public company data searchable by company, industry, size, and location. Includes First Research industry reports, Nielson demographic reports, PRIZM consumer segmentation data down to the zip code level, residential directory information, and powerful reporting functionality.
Passport
Passport by Euromonitor is a comprehensive market research database providing key business intelligence on markets, consumers and companies, emphasizing consumer-related industries. It is an excellent source for international data, including market forecasts, consumer market sizes, consumer lifestyles, brands, and more.
Data Axle Reference Solutions
Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) is a directory of business and residential listings. Includes the following databases: U.S. Businesses, U.S. Consumers / Lifestyles, U.S. Jobs / Internships, U.S. New Businesses, U.S. New Movers / Homeowners, U.S. Standard White Pages, Canadian businesses, and Canadian White Pages. Filter searches on nearly 40 unique data points, including geography, business type, number of employees, ownership, etc.

See also : Viewing and listening audiences

Television Bureau of Advertising
Measurement, Trends, Market Profiles, more. Some reports require membership login.

Psychographics, Segmentation

Definitions

Psychographics:
"Analysis of consumer lifestyles to create a detailed customer profile. Market researchers conduct psychographic research by asking consumers to agree or disagree with activities, interests, and opinions statements. Results of this exercise are combined with geographic (place of work or residence) and demographic (age, education, occupation, etc.) characteristics to develop a more 'lifelike' portrait of the targeted consumer segment." (businessdictionary.com)

Market Segmentation:
"...marketing term referring to the aggregating of prospective buyers into groups or segments with common needs and who respond similarly to a marketing action. Market segmentation enables companies to target different categories of consumers who perceive the full value of certain products and services differently from one another." (Investopedia.com)

Market Segmentation
Library of Congress Business Reference Section. "This guide includes books and other resources that discuss marketing to particular segments of the population along with other sources that are important in determining the size and power of a particular market segment. Also included are statistical books and other sources whose main focus is on a specific generational, ethnic or other group."

Mergent Intellect
Global coverage with Dun and Bradstreet's private and public company data searchable by company, industry, size, and location. Includes First Research industry reports, Nielson demographic reports, PRIZM consumer segmentation data down to the zip code level, residential directory information, and powerful reporting functionality.

See also : Tapestry Segmentation from ESRI

ESRI Site License Program
See site license program for details or contact the UH Manoa Library GIS Coordinator. See also Tapestry Segmentation Guide.

Demographics

SimplyAnalytics
Web-based mapping application for creating professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. Includes Nielson Scarborough Data module. UH Mānoa users may "sign in as guest," or register for an individual account if you would like to save your work. NOTE: Only 5 users allowed at one time. If you cannot login, try again later.
Mergent Intellect
Global coverage with Dun and Bradstreet's private and public company data searchable by company, industry, size, and location. Includes First Research industry reports, Nielson demographic reports, PRIZM consumer segmentation data down to the zip code level, residential directory information, and powerful reporting functionality.

Census Business Builder
"...suite of services that provides selected demographic and economic data from the Census Bureau tailored to specific types of users in a simple to access and use format." Currently includes:
- Small Business Edition - data for a single type of business and geography at a time. Demographic and consumer spending data (ESRI) at the county, city/town/place, ZIP code and neighborhood (census tract) levels.
- Regional Analyst Edition - data for all sectors of the economy and for one or more counties. Demographic and consumer spending data (ESRI) at the city/town/place and neighborhood (census tract) levels.
data.census.gov
Data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Sage Data, powered by Data Planet
Search 52 billion data points in over 6.2 billion datasets sourced from over 70 public and private data providers. Allows users to manipulate datasets, compare multiple indicators and multiple sources, chart trends over time, and spatially represent data without requiring additional software programs. Includes the EASI Analytics Market Planner module, as well as data from Zillow, Factset Corporate Fundamentals, US Stock Market Prices, and selected international market indices and exchanges.

Surveys, Opinion Polls

Statista
Statistics and studies from market research institutions, business organizations, government agencies, scientific publications, and more. Covers business, media, technology, society, education and more. The Consumer Insights module, including the Global Consumer Survey, provides consumer behavior, consumption, media usage for more than 55 countries.

American Customer Satisfaction Index
"...measures the satisfaction of U.S. household consumers with the quality of products and services offered by both foreign and domestic firms with significant share in U.S. markets... Each year, roughly 250,000 customers are surveyed about the products and services they use the most."
American Time Use Survey
Bureau of Labor Statistics. "...measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing."
Gallup News Service
1996-present via Business Source Complete.
General Social Survey
NORC. "...contains a standard ‘core’ of demographic and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have been unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings."
Pew Research Center
"...nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research."
PollingReport.com
"...independent, nonpartisan resource on trends in American public opinion."
Roper Center
Selected resources on membership site are available without fee.
Surveys of Consumers
Public Archive: "...contains archive and historical data from the Reuters/University of Michigan Surveys of Consumers."