Research Guides: Architecture: Reference Sources

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Handbooks, Surveys

Architect's Guide to Running a Job (2001) (printed book)
Architect's Guide to Running a Practice (2005) (printed book)
Architect's Handbook of Professional Practice (2008) (printed book) This updated resource covers all aspects of architectural practice, featuring: new material of sustainable design, managing multiple offices, lifelong learning, mentoring, and team building; revised content on programming, project management, construction contract administration, risk management, and ethics; and coverage of small firm considerations as well as emerging issues such as integrated practice and integrated project delivery
Dictionary of Architecture & Construction (2006) (printed book) This classic dictionary now features nearly 25,000 definitions (including 2,800 new terms), 2,500 illustrations (including 200 new illustrations), and maintains its extraordinary visual appeal and easy-to-read page design.
Dictionary of Architecture (1999) (printed book) Contains more than 5,000 entries that profile architecture and its history from ancient times to the present day.
Dictionary of Architecture and Building Construction (2008) (printed book) With more than 20,000 words and terms individually defined, this is a dictionary for anyone studying or working in architecture, construction or any of the built environment fields.
Dictionary of Landscape Architecture and Construction (2005) (printed book) More than 7500 terms and definitions facilitate communication among professionals of all stripes and workers of all types. This tool crosses the disciplines, skills, and crafts of the range of professionals who contribute to landscape architecture today.
Encyclopedia of 20th Century Architecture (2004) (printed book) The contents feature major architects, firms, and professional issues; buildings, styles, and sites; the architecture of cities and countries; critics and historians; construction, materials, and planning topics; schools, movements, and stylistic and theoretical terms
Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World (1997) (printed book) v. 1. Theories and principles -- v. 2. Cultures and habitats (Asia, East and Central Australasia and Oceania, Europe and Eurasia, Mediterranean and Southwest Asia) -- v. 3. Cultures and habitats (Latin America, North America, Sub-Saharan Africa, Glossary, Lexicon, Bibliography, Indexes).
A Global History of Architecture (2007) (printed book) Spanning from 3,500 B.C.E. to the present, this unique guide is written by an all-star team of architectural experts in their fields who emphasize the connections, contrasts, and influences of architectural movements throughout history.
Green Studio Handbook : Environmental Strategies for Schematic Design (2007) (printed book)
Historic preservation handbook (2003) (printed book)
HOK guidebook to sustainable design (2006) (printed book) This comprehensive, updated edition of the definitive reference on sustainable design includes extensive new design process information, updated case studies, and post-occupancy evaluations organized to support use of the USGBC's LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) Green Building Rating System
Information Sources in Architecture and Construction (1996) (printed book)
A Visual Dictionary of Architecture (1997) (printed book)
A World History of Architecture (2008) (printed book) Architecture is discussed in various contexts - artistic, economic, environmental, political, social, and technological - so as to determine the extent to which buildings met the needs of clients, society at large, and future generations.