Read this first. Often the full text of the article will be immediately accessible in the database you search. Sometimes, however, the database only provides a citation (article title, journal name, year, etc.) for the article. If you have only a citation, determine if the library has the journal that contains the article you want by following the steps to find journals (see box to the right).
And remember that you can always reach out to me, the Film Librarian, David Brier. My contact info is on the left.
Academic Search CompleteThis database provides full text for 3,288 scholarly publications from many academic disciplines including social sciences, humanities, education, language and linguistics, arts & literature, and ethnic studies. It is a good starting point and enables researchers to search a single topic across many disciplines.
Art on Film OnlineA clearinghouse for information about film, video, CD-ROM and other interactive productions on fine arts, architecture, photography, decorative arts, and related topics. This Web site is a service of the Program for Art on Film, Inc., affiliated with the School of Information & Library Science (SILS) at Pratt Institute. During an initial Beta test period, access to the Art on Screen Database is free of charge. Visitors to the Database site must first complete a registration form.
Bibliography of Asian StudiesResearchers interested in Asian will want to explore BAS. It covers all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. Through the 1991 printed version, the BAS included citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, etc. Monographs published since 1992 have not been added.
Through the 1991 printed version, the BAS included citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Monographs published since 1992 have not been added to the database, and users seeking such monographs are urged to consult other general resources and databases (RLIN, OCLC, etc.).
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts IndexDesign & Applied Arts Index (DAAI) covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewelery, wood, metal, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.
Film & Television Literature IndexThe definitive index to film and television literature. It is a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers.
International Bibliography of Theatre & DanceThe definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts. It is a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.
These volumes comprise a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text contains more than 450 full-text titles, including more than 140 full-text journals, and more than 300 full-text books & monographs.
International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA)IIPA's current content draws from more than 130 international periodicals and also indexes articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post. IIPA covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic and more.
Literature, Arts, and Medicine DatabaseAn annotated bibliography of prose, poetry, film and art, this database is a comprehensive resource in Medical Humanities. Its focus is the health/pre-health and liberal arts settings.
MLA (Modern Language Association) International BibliographyThis is the preeminent online index for books and articles about modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.6 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals). Coverage is international and includes literature from North and South America, Europe, Australia, Asia, and more . While the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented.
It is compiled by the staff of the MLA Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. Such international coverage is represented by literature from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America, and while the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish. Includes access to MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Oxford Music OnlineOxford Music Online is a new gateway that offers users the ability to access and cross-search the vast resources of Oxford's music reference in one location. Searchable resources include: the Encyclopedia of Popular Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music.
World Shakespeare Bibliography OnlineThe World Shakespeare Bibliography Online is a searchable electronic database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide between 1961 and 2009. Containing over 119,044 annotated entries, this collected information is an essential tool for anyone engaged in research on Shakespeare or early modern England.
have a citation to an article and need to determine if the library has
the journal that contains it, search for the journal name.