Research Guides: Film: Biographical Resources

Biographical Resources

Read this first. Use the general indexes, databases, Internet links, and printed reference tools listed below to find people. Information about people may be located in general biographical indexes and directories, as well as film encyclopedias. You should also consult film-specific biographical indexes and directories such as the titles listed below. There are many more biographical resources in the library's reference collection. Local newspapers may contain some biographical information about local performers, directors, and screenwriters.

The library catalog (Voyager) is an important tool for finding many biographical sources. Several broad subject terms that can be used in keyword searches for finding biographical resources are listed below:

Also consult the biographical resources in the Theater Research Guide for additional information on actors, directors, producers, and writers.

American National Biography (printed book)
Located in Hamilton Reference, click on title for call number.
more...less...
Printed resource. Use in library. Click on the title to see the library catalog record with the call number.
The Biographical Encyclopaedia & Who's Who of the American Theatre (printed book)
Located in Hamilton Reference, click on title for call number.
Over 3,500 biographies of persons in American theater since 1900. Credits in theater, films, and television and radio, publications and recordings. Lists of New York productions, playbills, playwrights, groups, buildings, awards, lists of biographies. The Necrology lists 9,000 people who have contributed to development of theater and film in America from earliest days through August 1964.
more...less...
Printed encyclopedia. Use in library. Click on the title to see the library catalog record with the call number.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
A first stop index tool for learning where to look for biographical material on people from all time periods, geographical locations and fields of endeavor. Indexes nearly 12 million biographical sketches in more than 2700 volumes and editions of current and retrospective reference books..

Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television (printed book)
Located in Hamilton Reference, click on title for call number.
Biographical and career information on more than 20,000 professionals currently working in the entertainment industry, including performers, choreographers, directors, technicians, writers, composers, producers, executives, designers, critics and more. Includes birth dates, parental and marriage information, education and professional training, affiliations, writings, recordings, awards, nominations, and memberships.
more...less...
Printed resource. Use in library. Click on the title to see the library catalog record with the call number.
Dramatists (printed book)
Located in Hamilton Reference, click on title for call number.
A guide to 300 living playwrights of the English language. Includes a biography, bibliography, location of manuscript collections, list of critical studies, and essay by a critic. Includes list of screen writers, radio writers, television writers, musical librettists, theaters of mixed means, theater collections.
more...less...
Printed resource. Use in library. Click on the title to see the library catalog record with the call number.
Film Choreographers and Dance Directors : an Illustrated Biographical Encyclopedia, with a History and Filmographies, 1893 through 1995 (printed book)
Located in Hamilton Reference, click on title for call number.
more...less...
Printed resource. Use in library. Click on the title to see the library catalog record with the call number.
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (printed book)
Located in Hamilton Reference, click on title for call number.
more...less...
Printed resource. Use in library. Click on the title to see the library catalog record with the call number.
Performing Arts Biography Master Index (printed book)
Located in Hamilton Reference, click on title for call number.
A consolidated index to over 270,000 biographical sketches of persons living and dead, as they appear in over 100 of the principal biographical dictionaries devoted to the performing arts.
more...less...
Printed resource. Use in library. Click on the title to see the library catalog record with the call number.