University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

History Research Guide: Find Historical Newspapers

David Beales, Humanities Librarian

David Beales's picture
David Beales
Contact:
Hamilton Library
2550 McCarthy Mall
Honolulu, HI 96816
808-956-2529

Historical Newspapers

Alt-PressWatch Provides publications of the alternative and independent newspapers from 1970 to current.

Chronicling America Provides access to some digitized versions of Hawaii newspapers at the Library of Congress.

Ethnic NewsWatch Offers newspapers and periodicals from the ethnic, minority and Native American press from 1960 to the present.

Google News Project Google's short-lived newspaper project digitized historical runs of several papers from around the world.

Hawaiian Language Newspapers Provides access to some heavily used Hawaiian language newspapers published from the mid-nineteenth through early twentieth centuries in Hawaii.

Historical Newspapers Online Research guide from the University of Pennsylvania Libraries that provides links to historical newspapers by state and National Collections.

Index to the Honolulu Advertiser and Honolulu Star-Bulletin 1929-1967, 1968-1969 and AI21 .H6 .I5 in Hamilton Library Reference.

Honolulu Advertiser

(Published 1882 - June 2010 when it became the Star Advertiser)

  • Microform: The Hamilton Library has 1882 - 1910 in the Microform Reading Room, First Floor (Microfilm S90014 and V90001)

To Find Citations

  • For articles published from 1929 through 1994, use the Index to the Honolulu Advertiser and the Honolulu Star Bulletin 1929-1994, a print resource in the Hamilton Library Reference Area (call number AI221.H6 I5 - Reference Stacks Isle #4 or Hawaii-Pacific Collection on the 5th floor). Ulukau also offers an index to the Honolulu Advertiser and Honolulu Star-Bulletin from 1929 to 1969.
  • For citations to articles published between 1989 to the May 2010, use the Hawaii Newspaper Index, an electronic resource.

Honolulu Star Bulletin

(Published 1893 - June 2010 when it became the Star Advertiser)
  • Microform: Hamilton Library has from 1893 to the present in the Microform Reading Room, First Floor (Microfilm S90015, S91296, V90002, and V91258).
  • Full-text Electronic Articles: For full-text articles published from 1996 to 2010, use the Honolulu Star Bulletin via Proquest

To Find Citations

  • For articles published from 1929 through 1994, use the Index to the Honolulu Advertiser and the Honolulu Star Bulletin 1929-1994, a print resource in the Hamilton Library Reference Area (call number AI221.H6 I5 - Reference Stacks Isle #4 or Hawaii-Pacific Collection on the 5th floor). Ulukau also offers an index to the Honolulu Advertiser and Honolulu Star-Bulletin from 1929 to 1969.
  • For citations to articles published between 1989 to the May 2010, use the Hawaii Newspaper Index, an electronic resource.