Research Guides: History Research Guide: Reference Sources

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Surveys

Brill's New Pauly : Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World : Classical Tradition (printed book)
Located in Hamilton Reference, click on title for call number.
Brill's New Pauly is the English edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996. Key reference work for research in classical antiquity and the classical tradition
more...less...
Printed resource. Use in library. Click on the title to see the library catalog record with the call number.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa (printed book)
Located in Hamilton Reference, click on title for call number.
The four-volume set overs the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations involvement in the region. With 3,000 nonpartisan articles written by specialists in anthropology, history, political science, religion and social sciences.
more...less...
Printed resource. Use in library. Click on the title to see the library catalog record with the call number.

Oxford Reference Online
Contains hundreds of Oxford's reference books across many subjects. The history collection contains over 40 titles. See list below.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online
The Oxford English Dictionary is the preeminent historical dictionary of the English language. The OED Online contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3).
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Search the complete Encyclopedia Britannica with the addition of audio and video components and links to WWW sites with related information. Includes Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary. This database is continuously revised and updated weekly.

Research Guides

A Short Guide to Writing About History / Richard Mairus and Melvin E. Page) (printed book)
Located in Hamilton 2nd floor, click on title for call number.
Widely used by students and scholars in history, Marius and Page provide the basics of researching and writing papers, explain how to gather information, share best practices on recording notes, how to write, and documented sources. The book acts as an easy quick-reference for those already familiar with these concepts.
The Modern Researcher / Jacques Barzun and Henry F. Graff (printed book)
Located in Hamilton Library, click on title for call number.
Classic introduction to the techniques of research and the art of expression used widely in historiography courses. Thoroughly covers every aspect of research from the selection of a topic, through the methods of finding and verifying data, writing and revising, to preparing a manuscript for publication.
Reference Sources in History : an Introductory Guide (printed book)
Located in Hamilton Reference, click on title for call number.
Contains entries on 930 reference works. Organized in 14 chapters by topic, format, and country. Covers bibliographies, historical statistics, biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and atlases, etc. Each entry is numbered and includes bibliographical information and an annotation. Personal name and title indexes included. Lists of core journals, Web sites, databases, other electronic resources.

Printed resource. Use in library. Click on the title to see the library catalog record with the call number.
The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature (printed book)
Located in Hamilton Reference, click on title for call number.
Bibliographic guidance by hundreds of historians about the best and most useful works in their fields--almost 27,000 annotated citations, from prehistory to the twentieth century. Arranged by chronology and national and regional history, with each section introduced by a brief historiographical essay. Extensive coverage of Africa, Asia, and North and South America. Includes author and subject indexes.

Printed resource. Use in library. Click on the title to see the library catalog record with the call number.

History as Wonder: Beginning with Historiography (eBook)

Located online, click on title for access.

History and Wonder is a new take on the idea of history that tracks the entanglement of history and philosophy over time through the key idea of wonder. It explores the different ways in which historians have called upon wonder to cross boundaries between the past and the present, the universal and the particular, the old and the new, and the ordinary and the extraordinary.

Oxford Reference Online

The library provides access to the Oxford Reference Online, which contains hundreds of Oxford's reference books across many subjects. The history collection contains over 40 titles. Log in through the Oxford Reference Online link above to access this substantial set of resources. Some of the titles contained include:

The Oxford Companion to American Military History	The Oxford Dictionary of Local and Family History
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology	Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
The Oxford Companion to Archaeology	The Oxford Companion to Military History
The Oxford Companion to Australian History	The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science
The Oxford Companion to Australian Military History	Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World
The Oxford Companion to Black British History	The Oxford Companion to World Exploration
The Oxford Companion to the Book	Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World
A Dictionary of British History	A Dictionary of Political Biography
The Oxford Companion to British History	A Dictionary of Popes
The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium	The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
The Oxford Companion to Canadian History	The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church	An Oxford Companion to the Romantic Age
The Oxford Classical Dictionary	The Oxford Dictionary of Saints
A Dictionary of Contemporary World History	The Oxford Companion to Ships and the Sea
A Guide to Countries of the World	Encyclopedia of Social Work
Dynasties of the World	Who's Who in the Twentieth Century
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment	The Oxford Guide to the United States Government
The Oxford Companion to Irish History	The Oxford Companion to United States History
The Oxford Companion to Scottish History	The Oxford Essential Dictionary of the U.S. Military
The Kings and Queens of Britain	A Dictionary of World History
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States	The Oxford Companion to World War II
The Oxford Companion to Local and Family History

Directories

Directory, Historical Agencies in North America (printed book)
Located in Hamilton Reference, click on title for call number.

Printed resource. Use in library. Click on the title to see the library catalog record with the call number.
Directory of History Departments, Historical Organizations, and Historians (printed book)
Located in Hamilton Reference, click on title for call number.

Printed index. Use in library. Click on the title to see the library catalog record with the call number.
Grants, Fellowships & Prizes of Interest to Historians (printed book)
Located in Hamilton Reference, click on title for call number.

Printed resource. Use in library. Click on the title to see the library catalog record with the call number.