Content Indexes - Hawaiʻi - Newspapers - Research Guides at University of Hawaii at Manoa

mahalo!

Use these indexes to find references to newspaper articles.

Also, see the Online content page for links to sites where you can search for online articles.

Bob Krauss Research Index (Hawaii Newspapers Index)
The Bob Krauss Research Index is an index of English-language newspaper content from Hawaii, covering 1840 through 1944. It is not comprehensive but covers periods of time for which there is no formal indexing. Includes links to online copies of newspapers, where available.

Hawaiian Language Newspaper index
Indexing done under the direction of Edith McKinzie.

Hawaiian Ethnological Notes (HEN Index)
Online version of index, browsable and searchable. The Hawaiian Ethnological Notes Collection, commonly called HEN, is comprised of Hawaiian language material, most of which was translated by Mary Kawena Pukui. This material includes articles which appeared in Hawaiian Language newspapers published between the 1860’s to approximately 1940. Some articles were translated by Thomas G. Thrum.

Hawaii Pacific Journal Index
Primarily an index of magazines and journals, but includes a few newspaper titles. Most notable is the indexing for Hawaii Herald, covering 1980 to the present. Indexing for MidWeek and the Honolulu Weekly is scattered.

The Hawaii herald index by Okimoto, Elaine.; Nakamura, Toyo.; Hori, Joan
Call Number: AI21.H34 H34
Publication Date: 1980-1986
Variant Title: Index to the Hawaii Herald
The index to The Maui news by Ainsworth, Gail.; Lindstrom, Judy
Call Number: AI21 .M3 1985
Publication Date: 1985
Volume 1: 1900-1932. Volume 2: 1933-1950. Volume 3: 1951-1973. Searchable online through HathiTrust, and Maui College IR.
The Garden Island index, 1971-1980 : a subject, author, and photographer index to selected articles in The Garden Island by Lo, Catherine
Call Number: AI21.G3 G37 1987
Publication Date: 1987

Ka Leo o Hawaii and Hawaii Mirror, 1922-1924
Indexing for the very first years of the school newspapers of the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa. Extensive name indexing included. Print version available; see next entry.

Index to Hawaii mirror, volume 1, September 13, 1922-November 1, 1922 and Ka leo o Hawaii, volume 1-2, November 8, 1922-May 28, 1924 by Kaihara, Yasuto.; Furuhashi, Lynette
Call Number: LH1 .L42 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Available online.
Indexing for the very first years of the school newspaper of the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa. Extensive name indexing included.
Friend (Honolulu, Hawaii : 1845)
Call Number: BX9884.A1 F749
Publication Date: 1843-1954
The Friend is available online through the Hawaiian Mission Children's Society Library's website. Many years/volumes include an index for that year/volume.
For print version, indexing for 1852-1876. Request Index volume (not enumerated in catalog record).

A Chronological abstract of selected items on the legal system in various newspapers in Hawaii, 1836-1841, 1844-1859, 1860-1871, 1877-1881. by Wolff, Lee.
Call Number: KFH78.Z9 C47 1970za
Publication Date: 197-?
Available in print only. "The bulk of these ... were produced by Mrs. Lee Wolff ... as part of the research project The social role of the courts in the period of the Hawaiian monarchy. ... The remaining scattered items ... were produced by the graduate students in Professor Harry Ball's seminar at the University of Hawaii in 1974."