Online - Hawaiʻi - Newspapers - Research Guides at University of Hawaii at Manoa

Hawaiian Dictionaries

At wehewehe.org you can check on spellings and meanings of Hawaiian words and place names, or find Hawaiian equivalents for English words.

When searching in Hoʻolaupaʻi, remember to remove diacritical marks from words.

Hoʻolaupaʻi, He ʻOhina Nūpepa ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi (Hawaiian Nūpepa Collection)
Hawaiian language newpapers, covering ca. 1834-1948. Most pages are available as images-only. Some pages have been converted to searchable text (and are available as images also). Via Ulukau / Nupepa.org.

Hoji Shinbun
Full-text, full-image, searchable access to a selection of Japanese newspapers published outside of Japan by overseas Japanese and their descendants. Includes Hawaii newspapers: Hawaii Shokumin Shinbun (Hilo); Hawaii Times (Honolulu), and Nippu Jiji (Honolulu). A project of the Japanese Diaspora Initiative of the Hoover Institution at Stanford University.

Chronicling America
Search full-text newspaper articles from historic Hawaiʻi and U.S. newspapers, primarily between 1836-1922. Includes 23 English language newspapers from Hawaiʻi, covering 1840-1922.

Aurora Hawaiiana (1888-1891)
The second Portuguese newspaper in the Islands. Four-page Honolulu weekly, August 1889 to March 1891; 85 issues, 340 pages. Helen Chapin's description here.
The Friend (1843 - 1910)
Via Mission Children's Society Library. The Friend is the oldest continuing newspaper in Hawaiʻi, in publication since 1843. Click here for Helen Chapin's description.
The Friend (1902-1924)
Via Hathi Trust. The Friend is the oldest continuing newspaper in Hawaiʻi, in publication since 1843. Click here for Helen Chapin's description.

Honolulu record by Koji Ariyoshi
Call Number: AN2 .H65
Publication Date: 1948-1958
Also on Microfilm: MICROFILM S90146
Available online via the Center for Labor Education & Research. The Search box retrieves search results but the links do not work. To get to the articles, take note of the issues' volumes and numbers, click the "back" button and browse your way to the issue through the "Honolulu Record Index" link.
Offered "investigative, crusading journalism that attacked the Establishment for racism, 1st amendment infractions, police brutality, improper political fundraising, sub-standard plantation housing" (from Helen Chapin's Guide to Newspapers of Hawaiʻi).
Honolulu weekly
Call Number: MICROFILM V91184 and DU629.H7 H66
The Honolulu Weekly was published between 1991-2013. For many in Honolulu during these years, especially prior to the advent of the Internet, the Weekly was a welcome alternative to the Honolulu dailies, offering a fresh take on Honolulu's music and culture scene, and focusing on astutely selected social and political issues of the day. The paper’s weekly publication cycle and long-format cover stories often allowed writers to explore topics at a depth the daily newspapers were unable to, while also encouraging writers to go beyond simple reporting and into a more nuanced analysis. Full-text access via eVols at UHM Library. Use the "Search Community" search box.

Honolulu Star-Advertiser Database
Search the full-text content of the Honolulu Star-Advertiser (June 6, 2010 - present), the Honolulu Advertiser (Nov. 30, 2002-June 6, 2010) and the Honolulu Star-Bulletin (Mar. 18, 1996-June 6, 2010).
NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.