Research Guides: Spanish Resources: Find Articles

Indexes, Abstracts, Full Text Databases

In addition to general databases (JSTOR, Academic Search Premier) there are several specialized databases of material related to Spanish and Spanish literature. The most important of these can be found below.

Fuente Academica
Provides full text Spanish language coverage for more than 150 scholarly academic journals from respected Latin American, South American, Spanish, and other worldwide publishers.
A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)
Bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources. More information on the history of the Handbook can be found in a paper written for the Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials (SALALM) annual meeting in 1996.
MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
NOTE: MLA International Bibliography is only available via EBSCOhost beginning Jan. 1, 2019.
Subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.6 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.
A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now
It is compiled by the staff of the MLA Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. Such international coverage is represented by literature from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America, and while the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish. Includes access to MLA Directory of Periodicals.