Research Guides: Spanish Resources: Home

Humanities Librarian

Email Me

Introduction

Use the set of pages in this guide to find articles, books, reference sources and more for research in Spanish language & literature. The guide focuses on online resources, which can be accessed either within the library or remotely. In addition to online resources, selected print titles may be included. The guide lists basic resources and does not contain all of the materials in the library useful for research in Spanish. For additional resources consult other relevant subject guides, the Hawaii Voyager Library Catalog, or the library specialist in Spanish, David Gustavsen.

Depending on your research, you may need to use one or more of the collections in the UHM Library. In Hamilton Library, the Business, Humanities & Social Sciences Collection covers Spanish language & literature around the world, emphasizing Europe, Spanish America, and the United States. The Hawaiian & Pacific Collections and the Asia Collection may be consulted for Spanish-related topics in those geographic areas.

Reference Sources

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
This encyclopedia treats the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Over 900 A-to-Z articles written by academics, scholars, writers, artists, and journalists, address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history.

Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)
Bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources. More information on the history of the Handbook can be found in a paper written for the Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials (SALALM) annual meeting in 1996.

Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) Complete Online
More than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Comprised of the award-winning Dictionary of Literary Biography series, which over its 30-year history has been dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series - all delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.

Related Subjects

Use these research guides for disciplines related to Spanish.