Research Guides: Communicology Research Guide: Articles

Find Articles

When looking for articles Hamilton Library has access to many subject specific and general databases. Below a select few have been identified as potentially useful for Communicology research.
NOTE: Often the full text of the article will be immediately accessible in the database you search. Sometimes, however, the database only provides a citation (article title, journal name, year, etc.) for the article. If you have only a citation, determine if the library has the journal that contains the article you want by following the steps to find journals (in the box to the right).

Article Indexes, Abstracts, Full Text Databases

Communication Source
Communication Source is the most comprehensive resource on the market for communication research. Communication Source was developed from a merger of high-quality EBSCO databases, Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts (formerly published by Sage), and includes many unique sources not previously available in other databases. Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now
Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is home to journals published by Elsevier. UH Manoa subscribes to several hundred ScienceDirect journals in agriculture, medicine, physics, astronomy, earth sciences and business.

Useful Tips

Databases identify and locate articles published in magazines, journals and newspapers. Many databases also index essays, book chapters and monographs.

Tip 1: Some of the databases provide full-text coverage of journals.

Tip 2: If the database does not provide full-text, use Find It or search the library catalog for the article title (or journal title). This will provide you with Hamilton's access to the article (in both print and electronic form).

Tip 3: For more precise searching, it is best to search the databases individually (rather than only using OneSearch).

Find Journals

When you have a citation to an article and need to determine if the library has the journal that contains it, search for the journal name