Veterans - Government Documents - Military and Veterans Agencies - Research Guides at University of Hawaii at Manoa

The Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) has its roots in the Veterans Bureau, the Bureau of Pensions, and the National Homes for Disabled Volunteer Soldiers, which were made part of the Veterans Administration in 1930. The National Cemetery System was added to its functions in 1973. The VA was established as a Cabinet-level department in 1989. The VA administers health care, benefits, and burial serrvices for veterans.

Government Documents holds a partial collection of VA publications, including the following series:

Annual reports (VA 1.1:)

We have many Congressional hearings, prints, and documents about veterans, military cemeteries and memorials, pensions, benefits, and other issues. Search for these in ProQuest Congressional (UHM login required).

We also have a variety of general publications, pamphlets, and other VA. materials.

VA web site
Records of the Department of Veterans Affairs at National Archives
Veterans Service Records at National Archives
Explains what kinds of records are available and how to make requests.
University of Alabama Library
UA Library is a Center of Excellence for VA publications.
VA Office of Inspector General
Audits and reports of investigations.

C-SPAN
C-SPAN hosts hearings of the House and Senate Veteran's Affairs committees and other videos about veterans.
VA YouTube Channel
VA Appeals webinar

Resources for Veterans in Hawaii

A complete list of benefits for veterans or family members is available from the State of Hawai‘i Department of Defense.

The Honolulu Regional Office for the Veterans Benefits Administration is located at:

459 Patterson Road, E-Wing
Honolulu , HI 96819-1522
Phone: 800-827-1000
Fax: (808) 433-0478

Federal Benefits for Veterans, Dependents and Survivors
Lists centers, clinics, offices, and contact information for every state.
Dept of Veteran Affairs Office of the Inspector General
Report abuses of Veterans Benefits
eBenefits Homepage
Information and links.
Transition Assistance
The Transition GPS program "provides comprehensive services to our nation’s Servicemembers to transition to work, life, and home after the military."
Department of Veterans Affairs Vet Center homepage
My Army Benefits - Hawaii
A list of all veterans benefits available in the state of Hawaii.
Military Spouse Employment Partnership
Veteran Homelessness News and Info

Veterans Affairs Health Care
VA Pacific Islands Health Care System
Information for the state-wide system of outpatient clinics for veterans.
Disabled American Veterans Association
The national website for the DAV.
Disabled American Veterans (DAV) Department of Hawaii
The website for the DAV of Hawaii. Includes local announcements and contact information.
PTSD Program(s) in Hawaii
The VA hospital in Honolulu offers programs for dealing with PTSD. Call 808-433-0600 or 808-433-6661 for more information.

DOL Employment Services Information
List of resources for veterans searching for jobs.
more...less...
Find state contacts for employers who hire veterans.
Gold Card Services for Vets
The Gold Card provides unemployed post-9/11 era veterans with the intensive and follow-up services they need to succeed in today's job market.
more...less...
The Gold Card initiative is a joint effort of the Department of Labor's Employment and Training Administration (ETA) and the Veterans' Employment and Training Service (VETS).
National Resource Directory
Employment resources for veterans in Hawai‘i
HIRE Vets
This program recognizes businesses that hire veterans.

GI Bill Main Portal
Navigate from here to find out all there is to know about both forms of the GI Bill.
Joint Services Transcript
JST is an academically accepted document approved by the American Council on Education (ACE) to validate a service member's military occupational experience and training along with the corresponding ACE college credit recommendations.
Education and Employment
Military Onesource Education Information Page

Burial and Memorial Benefits - Dept. of Veterans Affairs
Funerary Information Fact Sheets
Hawai‘i Veterans' Cemeteries
National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific
"Honolulu Memorial was erected to honor the sacrifices and achievements of American Armed Forces in the Pacific during World War II and in the Korean War". View the following link for hours, location and further details regarding the Memorial.

Jobs for Vets State Grants
Get grants for hiring vets.
Small Business Resource Center
Dept of Labor Office of Small and Disadvantaged Business Utilization (OSDBU) list of links.
SBA Funding Programs
Small Business Administration's loan and grant programs for small businesses.

Veterans Crisis Line

Veterans Crisis Line call toll-free 1-800-273-8255 press 1

chat at http://veteranscrisisline.net

text to 838255

Aloha United Way

Aloha United Way
Aloha United Way provides referrals to service providers for a variety of veterans' needs.

Government Documents - Military and Veterans Agencies: Veterans

Resources for Veterans in Hawaii

Veterans Crisis Line

Aloha United Way