It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Government Documents - Military and Veterans Agencies: Department of Defense
War Department, Navy Department, Army, Department of Defense, Air Force, Marine Corps, National Military Establishment, Department of Veterans Affairs, and related agencies
The War Department was one of the first federal government agencies, dating back to 1789. Following World War II, the National Military Establishment (NME) was created in 1947. It included the Department of the Army, the Department of the Navy, and the newly-established Department of the Air Force. The Department of Defense (DoD) came into existence in 1949 and succeeded the NME.
Illustrations of medals, ribbons, and order of precedence.
Most pre-1900 War Department and Navy documents, including the Annual report of the Secretary of War, are available in the U.S. Congressional Serial Set (UHM login required).
Additional documents covering 1910-1932 are available in the Executive Branch Documents microfiche set. DoD directives covering 1954 to present are available online and other publications for the years 1953-1980 are available on microcards. Please contact a government documents librarian if you have questions about our holdings.
We have thousands of Congressional hearings, prints, and documents about every aspect of the military. Search for these in ProQuest Congressional (UHM login required). We also have a variety of general publications, pamphlets, and other War Deptartment and DoD materials.
The Hawaii War Records Depository (HWRD) is an extensive collection of archival materials that document life in Hawaii during World War II. In April of 1943, during its first session after the United States' entrance into World War II, the Hawaii Territorial Legislature passed a joint resolution designating the University of Hawaii as the official depository of material related to Hawaii's part in the war. Over a five year period, individuals, organizations and agencies throughout the state donated or loaned correspondence, personal accounts, reports, photographs, scrapbooks, phonograph discs, maps, posters, artwork, pamphlets, newspapers, clippings, memorabilia and other materials.
Viewers will learn how to find defense reports and documents using GPO resources, other public sites, and some creative thinking. Examples include searching for reports on a topic, searching when you have a partial citation, and searching for statistics.
The Military History Institute at the Army War College has an extensive collection of unit histories. The Army Military Institute also has copies of Army publications that may not be available elsewhere.
The CLA, part of the National Archives, is the repository for copies of documents printed by the Government Printing Office. Its holdings date back to 1895. It is the collection of last resort for publications listed in the Monthly Catalog of Government Publications.
DTIC is the Defense Technical Information Center. You can search technical reports from many military sources, most of which are available in full text. We may have other reports in print or microform.
Duke University Library is a Center of Excellence for Economic Analysis Bureau, International Trade Administration, International Trade Commission, Military History Center, Naval Historical Center, and Women's Bureau. It collects publications of these agencies comprehensively.
Full text content consists of peer-reviewed and other scholarly journals, with a focus on engineering. The database includes the following features: over 100 new full text titles added, bringing the total number of full text to 287 titles, full text country reports from CountryWatch, 245 full text pamphlets, and indexing and abstract coverage for dozens of newly added journals.
EBSCO has made changes to the database previously entitled Military Library FullTEXT. The database, now known as Military and Government Collection, has been enhanced with added content. EBSCO has also given the database a sharper focus to better meet the needs of its users in military and non-military government libraries.
The supply front
For victory, buy United States war bonds and stamps
Report by the Supreme Commander to the Combined Chiefs of Staff on the Operations in Europe of the Allied Expeditionary Force