Statistics and Data - Government Documents - Military and Veterans Agencies - Research Guides at University of Hawaii at Manoa

General

Annual reports of the Secretary of War, Secretary of the Navy, and Department of Defense contain statistics on the size of the armed forces, civilian workers, defense budget, military contracts, military lands, assistance to foreign governments, and other subjects. Use the links in the Health & Medical Statistics box to access the reports.

Department of Defense datasets

Defense contractors

Hawaii Defense Economy
Data about defense contractors and their impact on the economy in Hawaii.
Audits and evaluations
The DoD Office of the Inspector General publishes audit reports that cover contracting, construction, procurement, and specific projects.
GAO web site
The GAO issues reports and testimony about DoD programs, contracting, construction, and other activities.
USAspending.gov
Track federal government spending by type, contractor, geographic area, and other parameters.
Defense Contract Action Data System
Records of Prime Contracts Awarded by the Military Services and Agencies, created 7/1/1975 - 9/30/2006

100 companies receiving the largest dollar volume of prime contract awards by Department of Defense
Call Number: GOVD D 1.57:
Military prime contract awards by region and state by Department of Defense
Publication Date: 1962-1978
500 contractors receiving the largest dollar volume of prime contract awards for research, development, test, and evaluation
Publication Date: 1984

Defense Budget/Spending

Defense Security Cooperation Agency historical factbook
Lists arms sales and military assistance provided to foreign countries
Defense budget materials
Office of the Under Secretary of Defense (Comptroller) provides access to current budget documents for the DoD.
Budget of the United States Government
"Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year."

Size of the Armed Services

DoD Personnel, Workforce Reports & Publications
Active duty military, reserves, and civilian personnel; dates of coverage vary
Statistical Information Analysis Division Work Force Publications
An archived website with statistical reports on manpower and casualties from the 1990s and 2000s.

Active duty military personnel strengths by regional area and by country (309A)
Call Number: GOVD D 1.61/10x:
Publication Date: 1950-2004

Veterans statistics

National Center for Veterans Analysis and Statistics
Veterans Benefits Administration reports
Veterans and Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
Data.Census.gov
Consult Table B21001, Sex by Age by Veteran Status for the Civilian Population 18 Years and Over, and its iterations by race.

Statistics - Ethnic Groups & Women

American Indian and Alaska Native Servicemembers and Veterans 2013

Special groups by Selective Service System
Call Number: GOVD Y 3.SE 4:17/10
Publication Date: 1953
Includes data for some ethnic/nationality groups and racial groups that were inducted into the armed services during World War II.
Military women in the Department of Defense
Call Number: GOVD D 1.2:W 84/4
Publication Date: 1984-1985

Number and Location of Bases

Base Structure Reports
Base structure reports list most of the U.S. military installations in the U.S. and foreign countries. Some installations are not listed if they do not meet size criteria. Older editions can be found in dtic.mil.

Federal real and personal property inventory report (civilian and military) of the United States Government covering its properties located in continental United States, in the Territories, and overseas. by United States Congress House Committee on Government Operations
Call Number: GOVD Y 4.G 74/7:P 94/
Publication Date: 1956-1972
Atlas/data abstract for the United States and selected areas
Publication Date: 1987-1997
Statistics about military installations in each state and in foreign countries.

Casualties

Defense Casualty Analysis System
United States Military Casualty Statistics: Operation Iraqi Freedom and Operation Enduring Freedom
Breakdown by race/ethnicity

State summary of war casualties by Navy Department Office of Information
Call Number: GOVD CLOSED N 1.34:
Each volume lists World War II Navy casualties for a state or the U.S. territories and possessions.
U.S. Military Personnel and Casualties in Principal U.S. Wars: By Branch of Service from the Revolutionary War to the Vietnam War: By Pre-Service Home State from World War I to the Vietnam War by Congressional Research Service
Publication Date: 1973
Historical statistics of the United States, colonial times to 1970
Call Number: GOVD REF C 3.134/2:H 62 1789-1970
Publication Date: 1975
Page 1140 lists size of the armed services, casualties, medical care, occupations, etc.
Worldwide U.S. active duty military personnel casualties by Department of Defense
Publication Date: 1979-1993

Accident Statistics

Health & Medical Statistics

Annual reports of the Surgeon General of the Army and Surgeon General of the Navy include historical medical and casualty statistics for the Army, Navy, and Marine Corps. These reports can be found in the following databases (UHM login may be required):

HathiTrust Digital Library
To access HathiTrust as a University of Hawaii student, faculty or staff member, click on the yellow Log In button to the right of the screen and search partner institution for University of Hawaii. You can then log in with your UH username and password if you have not yet logged in today before continuing to HathiTrust as a UH member.

HathiTrust makes the digitized collections of some of the nation’s great research libraries available for all.
HathiTrust was initially conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California system, and the University of Virginia to establish a repository for those universities to archive and share their digitized collections. Page images of works in the public domain in HathiTrust are open to all researchers - whoever and wherever they may be.
NewsBank Readex
Congressional Serial Set - Search or browse the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes for the period 1817-1980. Access UN - The premier index to United Nations documents including Official Records, masthead documents, draft resolutions, meeting records, UN Sales Publications, and the UN Treaty Series citations.
HeinOnline: Modern Link to Legal History
Hein Online includes law periodicals and journals. It provides indexing for US Treaties and Agreements, US Reports of the Supreme Court, Federal Register, etc. All of the library modules are image-based and fully-searchable, meaning that they provide exact page images and enable the researcher to view all pages as they originally appeared in hardcopy-including all charts, graphs, and photographs! This resource is available thanks to the Law Library.

U.S. naval medical bulletin
Call Number: GOVD CLOSED M 203.3:
Publication Date: 1907-1949
The naval medical bulletin published quarterly statistics on deaths, diseases, and injuries in the U.S. Navy.

Government Documents - Military and Veterans Agencies: Statistics and Data