Home - Government Documents - National Aeronautics and Space Administration - Research Guides at University of Hawaii at Manoa

The National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) was established in 1958. Its predecessor agency was the National Advisory Committee on Aeronautics (NACA), which was formed in 1915. NASA is responsible for the U.S. space program. It also conducts scientific research on a wide variety of subjects.

NASA history
NASA and NACA records at National Archives
NASA Centers and Facilities
NACA to NASA to Now
A general history of NASA and its predecessor.

NASA Technical Report Server
Science.gov
Search for government information about astronomy and space.
Institute for Astronomy Library
The UH Institute for Astronomy (IfA) Library contains a collection of books and journals in astronomy and related fields.
Georgia Tech Library
Georgia Tech Library is a Center of Excellence for EPA, NASA, and PTO. It collects the documents of these agencies comprehensively.
University of Central Florida Library
UCF Library is a Center of Excellence for DOE, AEC, NRC, and NASA publications.
Government Accountability Office
GAO produces reports about NASA's programs, contracts, and other activities at the request of members of Congress.
NASA Images NASA provides high quality images, video, audio, and data files used for the rendition of 3-dimensional models. They are free for educational or informational purposes.

Government Documents holds an extensive collection of NASA publications, including the following titles. Approximately 25% of our print holdings are cataloged. We also have a large collection of publications on microfiche that was acquired from the NASA library. Many of the microfiche publications are not available elsewhere.

Technical reports
Call Number: GOVD NAS 1.12:
Technical notes
Call Number: GOVD NAS 1.14:
Technical memorandum
Call Number: GOVD NAS 1.15:
Special publications
Call Number: GOVD NAS 1.21:
Contractor reports
Call Number: GOVD NAS 1.26:

These publications are indexed through the NASA technical reports server (NTRS), which also provides links to the full text of most publications. For assistance finding printed or microfiche copies of NASA reports that aren't available online, please contact a librarian.

We have numerous sets of photographs of planets and other objects in space, stickers, posters, pamphlets, CD-ROMs, and other NASA and NACA publications. We also have reports about all of the space program disasters as well as Congressional hearings about NASA funding and activities. Please ask a government documents librarian for assistance.

NASA TV
NASA YouTube Channel
C-SPAN
C-SPAN hosts numerous videos about NASA's programs, facilities, personnel, budget, and other matters.

NASA pages related to Hawai‘i
NASA hosts many images of the Hawaiian Islands as well as documents about discoveries made by telescopes located in the state.
Space-acquired photographs of Hawai‘i
USGS EROS provides access to space-acquired photographs of the Hawaiian Islands from various space missions, satellites, etc.

Astronomy & Astrophysics
by Jonathan Young Last Updated Apr 14, 2023 100 views this year

Government Documents - National Aeronautics and Space Administration: Home

Contact NASA

NASA astronauts

Aerospace bibliography

This is NASA

The air we breathe