Central Intelligence Agency - Government Documents - Intelligence Agencies - Research Guides at University of Hawaii at Manoa

The Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) was established in 1947. Its mission is to provide the president with intelligence to ensure national security.

National Archives guide to CIA records
Presidential directives and where to find them
Freedom of Information Act Electronic Reading Room
Selected documents that have been released by the CIA through the Freedom of Information Act, including National Intelligence Estimates.
Digital National Security Archive
The Library does not have access to the Digital National Security Archive, another source for CIA documents. The Archive has some declassified documents available on its website.
Government Accountability Office
GAO produces reports about CIA activities at the request of members of Congress.

As one might expect, most CIA documents are classified and are not available in libraries. Government Documents holds a small collection of CIA publications. Many were acquired through the Documents Expediting Project, a onetime program of the Library of Congress. Here are some of our holdings:

World factbook
Call Number: GOVD PREX 3.15:
Publication Date: Current edition
Reference book with entries for all of the countries in the world, with background information, maps, and statistics.
World factbook
Call Number: GOVD PREX 3.15:
Publication Date: 1980-
Directory of officials of...
Call Number: GOVD PREX 3.15:
Cold-war era posters with photographs of the leaders of various communist countries.
Chiefs of state and cabinet members of foreign governments
Call Number: GOVD PREX 3.11/2:
Publication Date: 1966-
Studies in intelligence
Call Number: GOVD PREX 3.19:
Publication Date: 1992-
Journal featuring historical articles about CIA activities and personnel. Parts of the contents are classified, so we only have the unclassified issues.
Foreign relations of the United States
Call Number: GOVD S 1.1:
FRUS contains many declassified CIA documents.

The CIA produces maps of all the countries in the world. The maps are kept in the Map Collection. You may also view some CIA maps online.

The Government Documents collection has a number of congressional hearings, reports, and documents concerning the activities of the CIA. You can search for these in ProQuest Congressional and U.S. Congressional Serial Set (UHM login required). Please ask a librarian for assistance in locating the hearings, reports, and documents in our collection.