Research Guides: Medical Technology: Articles & Databases

OneSearch Mānoa

OneSearch searches almost everything in UHM Library's collection. It searches through multiple databases and the library catalog at one time. Results include books, articles, conference papers, maps, government documents, DVDs, archives & manuscripts, and more.

Databases Relevant to Medical Technology

Listed here are several databases relevant to medical technology and health sciences research. Curious about other databases? Browse the SciTech Reference Department's list of selected databases used for the sciences and technology.

PubMed Medline
Provides free access to citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. If the University of Hawaii at Manoa (UHM) Library has a subscription to the full-text site, logged in users will be able to view the full-text. To view the citations with UHM links, select "Abstract" from the "Format" drop-down menu.
CINAHL with Full Text
Full text for more than 580 journals indexed in the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. Full-text coverage dates back to 1981.
Web of Science Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences (Science Citation Index Expanded) as well as both the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Approximately 70% of the records have author abstracts. Online coverage from 1900 to present.

These interdisciplinary databases contain journals and articles related to the health sciences:

Academic Search Complete Provides full text for more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Web of Science Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences (Science Citation Index Expanded) as well as both the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Approximately 70% of the records have author abstracts. Online coverage from 1900 to present.

Guides for Searching Databases

Getting the Most Out of CINAHL
by Carolyn Dennison Last Updated Sep 1, 2023 885 views this year
Getting the Most out of PubMed Medline
by Carolyn Dennison Last Updated Mar 13, 2024 3995 views this year
Getting the Most Out of Web of Science
by SciTech Reference Last Updated Aug 25, 2022 140 views this year
Boolean Operators
by SciTech Reference Last Updated Aug 25, 2022 2509 views this year

Selected Journals for Medical Technology

Here are important titles for scholarly literature in medical technology. UHM subscribes to hundreds of scholarly journals. Use the Library's Journal Search page to find titles.

The journal links listed below will lead you to a OneSearch Manoa record.

American Journal of Clinical Pathology (Online)
American Society for Clinical Pathology
Archives of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine (Online)
College of American Pathologists
Blood (Online)
American Society of Hematology
Journal (with Full Text): v.1(1946)-Present
Most recent 1 year not available
Clinical Biochemistry (Online)
Canadian Society of Clinical Chemists
Clinical Chemistry (Online)
American Association for Clinical Chemistry
Clinical Laboratory Science
American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science
Journal (Print): v.1(1988)-v.27(2014)
Call Number: RB1 .C55
Clinical Laboratory Science (Online)
American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science
Hawaiʻi Journal of Health & Social Welfare (Online)
Previously published as the Hawai‘i Journal of Medicine & Public Health
Also available in print, call number: Hawaiian (Library Use Only) R99 .H24
Journal of Clinical Microbiology (Online)
American Society for Microbiology
Laboratory Medicine (Online)
American Society for Clinical Pathology
Medical Laboratory Observer (Online)
Journal (with Full Text): v.33:no.9(2001:Sep.)-Present
Most recent 3 months not available
Nature Medicine
Access courtesy of the JABSOM Health Sciences Library.