Home - Government Documents - Department of Education - Research Guides at University of Hawaii at Manoa

Contace the Department of Education

DOE contact form and telephone numbers

The U.S. Department of Education was established in 1867 and in 1868 it was placed within the Department of the Interior. It was named the Office of Education in 1929 and in 1939 it was moved to the Federal Security Agency. In 1953, it became part of the newly-created Department of Health, Education, and Welfare. Finally, in 1979 it was separated from the Department of Health and the Cabinet-level Department of Education was created.

Department of Education records at National Archives

Bibliography of the literature on the history of the U.S. Department of Education and its forerunners by Steven J. Sniegoski
Call Number: ERIC 3034394
Publication Date: 1988

Government Documents holds an extensive collection of Office of Education and Department of Education publications, most from the 1910s-present. Additional documents covering 1910-1932 are available in the Executive Branch Documents microfiche set. Approximately 25% of our holdings are listed in OneSearch. We also have hundreds of Congressional hearings and documents about education laws, funding, and other topics. Please contact a government documents librarian if you have questions about our holdings.

The Government Documents Collection has hundreds of statistical publications about various aspects of education. Here are a few of the most popular resources:

Condition of education
Call Number: GOVD ED 1.109:
Statistics and education indicators for K-12 and higher education.
Digest of education statistics
Call Number: GOVD ED 1.140:
Contains information on a variety of subjects within the field of education statistics, including the number of schools and colleges, enrollments, teachers, graduates, educational attainment, finanaces, Federal funds for education, libraries, international education, and research and development.

Education - Census Bureau
The Census includes data about educational attainment, school finance, school districts, and school enrollment.
Fast Facts: National Center for Education Statistics
This site provides information on a range of educational issues, from early childhood to adult learning and draws from various published sources and are updated as new data become available. Additional references on each of these topics are highlighted within each fact.
Hawai`i Department of Education School Data and Reports
Enrollment, achievement, transportation, school lunches, and other data and reports for Hawai`i public schools.
National Center for Education Statistics
NCES collects, collates, analyzes, and reports complete statistics on the condition of American education; conducts and publishes reports; and reviews and reports on education activities internationally. (Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education)

Education - Data.gov
Federal datasets related to education.
Survey data
Data from the National Assessment of Educational Progress and National Assessment of Adult Literacy
IPEDS Data Center
Data on colleges and universities, vocational and technical schools.
ICPSR
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research. UH Manoa is not a current member. [Note from provider: "Some ICPSR data are freely available for anyone to download from our website. These data are part of the topical archives at ICPSR and generally include data pertaining to criminal justice, health and aging, substance abuse and mental health, child care, and health and medical care. Other data, referred to as members-only data, can only be downloaded by member institutions. Individuals at nonmember institutions interested in those data should send email to ICPSR User Support at ICPSR-help@umich.edu or call (734) 647-2200 for access information. ICPSR typically charges an access fee of approximately $550 per dataset."]
Census Bureau
Find Census data about educational attainment, numbers of school-aged children, school enrollment, public school finance, and more.

NewsBank Readex
Older Office of Education documents are available in the U.S. Congressional Serial Set (UHM login required).
ERIC (via EBSCOHost)
National information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education, and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement. It provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests and references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals (UHM Login Required).

Government Accountability Office
GAO has thousands of reports about the administration of education programs and funds.
Ed.gov - Teacher Resources
Lesson plans, recommendations, and publication resources for teachers.
Florida State University Library Center of Excellence
FSU Library is a Center of Excellence for EDA and FSA publications. The library collects comprehensively and will fully catalog its collection of these agencies' documents.

Government Documents - Department of Education: Home

Contace the Department of Education

The Communication Arts and the High School Victory Corps

Related Guide

Subject Guide