Research Guides: Southeast Asia Research Guide: Books & Articles

Find Stuff!

OneSearch includes the library catalog plus a huge index of academic journals on most topics. It also includes conference papers, maps, government documents, music scores, DVDs, archives & manuscripts, and more.

Find Journal Articles

The library gives access to many journal, magazine and newspaper articles through online databases. These databases can be searched by keyword, title or author and they can be browsed by date and publication.

Academic Search Complete
Licensed for UHM use only
Provides full text for 3,288 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Licensed for UHM use only.
This on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains over 545,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
Through the 1991 printed version, the BAS included citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Monographs published since 1992 have not been added to the database, and users seeking such monographs are urged to consult other general resources and databases (RLIN, OCLC, etc.).
Ethnic NewsWatch
Licensed for UHM use only
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text general reference database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press -- English and Spanish language. The titles in Ethnic NewsWatch represent the diversity of the American population in ways that are generally not seen in the mainstream media.
Newspaper Source Plus
Licensed for UHM use only
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 700 full-text newspapers, providing nearly than 31 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 677,000 television and radio news transcripts.
PAIS International
Licensed for UHM use only
PAIS International is an index to the world's public and social policy literature in the fields of business, economics, local and federal government, political science, international relations, finance, and other social sciences. It has references and in some cases abstracts of articles from over 3,660 journal titles, books, gray literature, internet material, conference proceedings, government and ngo documents and statistical publications.
Religion & Philosophy Collection
Licensed for UHM use only
The Religion and Philosophy Collection is a comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. There are over 240 full text journals.

Find Newspaper Articles

Nexis Uni
more...less...
Provides full text of hundreds of news sources including newspapers, magazines, and newsletters.
Newspaper Source Plus
more...less...
includes more than 700 full-text newspapers, providing nearly than 31 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 677,000 television and radio news transcripts.

Journal of Southeast Asian Studies

GO DIRECTLY TO THE JOURNAL

Back issues

Current issues

Contemporary Southeast Asia

GO DIRECTLY TO THE JOURNAL

Back issues

Current issues

Journal of Asian Studies (JAS)

GO DIRECTLY TO THE JOURNAL

Back issues

Current issues

Asian Perspectives

GO DIRECTLY TO THE JOURNAL

Back issues

Current issues

Open Access Resources

These databases provide unrestricted access to publications. These databases can be searched by keyword, title or author and they can be browsed by date and publication.

Scholarspace ScholarSpace is an open-access, digital institutional repository for the University of Hawaii at Manoa community. ScholarSpace stores the intellectual works and unique collections of the UH at Manoa academic community and also provides a permanent web location for those accessing these resources. Click here for more information.
more...less...
ScholarSpace is an open-access, digital institutional repository for the University of Hawaii at Manoa community. ScholarSpace stores the intellectual works and unique collections of the UH at Manoa academic community and also provides a permanent web location for those accessing these resources. Click here for more information.
eVols eVols is an open-access, digital institutional repository for the University of Hawaii community and researchers around the world. eVols provides a home for material which the Library or the University digitizes as part of grant projects and digital library program initiatives. Click here for more information.
more...less...
eVols is an open-access, digital institutional repository for the University of Hawaii community and researchers around the world. eVols provides a home for material which the Library or the University digitizes as part of grant projects and digital library program initiatives. Click here for more information.
Southeast Asia Visions A collection of European travel accounts of pre-modern Southeast Asia from Cornell University Library's John M. Echols Collection.
more...less...
A collection of European travel accounts of pre-modern Southeast Asia from Cornell University Library's John M. Echols Collection.
Southeast Asia Digital Library Includes images (photographs, digitized manuscript pages), videos, books, manuscripts, reference materials (rare grammars and dictionaries). Resources organized by country, language and institution.
more...less...
Includes images (photographs, digitized manuscript pages), videos, books, manuscripts, reference materials (rare grammars and dictionaries). Resources organized by country, language and institution.
Southeast Asia Posters Posters from Southeast Asian countries: Indonesia, Malaysia, Brunei, Thailand, the Philippines, and many more. The collection houses various types of posters, from socio-political, environmental, to radio and TV promotion.
more...less...
Posters from Southeast Asian countries: Indonesia, Malaysia, Brunei, Thailand, the Philippines, and many more. The collection houses various types of posters, from socio-political, environmental, to radio and TV promotion.
Photographs from Subali-Sugriwa: Battle of the Monkey Kings Balinese Wayang Listrik UHM Kennedy Theatre, January 22-31, 2016 Director: Dr. Kirstin Pauka
more...less...
Balinese Wayang Listrik
UHM Kennedy Theatre, January 22-31, 2016
Director: Dr. Kirstin Pauka
Jerome Feldman’s Photographic Slides (Nias, INDONESIA) Jerome Feldman, who earned his doctoral degree from Columbia University with a dissertation titled "The Architecture of Nias, Indonesia, with Special Reference to Bowomataluo Village," generously donated a collection of photographic slides documenting Nias Island, Indonesia in the late 1970s. These slides provide valuable visual insights into the island's architecture and culture, particularly focusing on the village of Bowomataluo (sometimes spelled Bawomataluo), a central subject of Feldman's scholarly research. Professor Feldman would like to make these available to other scholars, and especially to people from Nias.
more...less...
Jerome Feldman, who earned his doctoral degree from Columbia University with a dissertation titled "The Architecture of Nias, Indonesia, with Special Reference to Bowomataluo Village," generously donated a collection of photographic slides documenting Nias Island, Indonesia in the late 1970s. These slides provide valuable visual insights into the island's architecture and culture, particularly focusing on the village of Bowomataluo (sometimes spelled Bawomataluo), a central subject of Feldman's scholarly research. Professor Feldman would like to make these available to other scholars, and especially to people from Nias.
OAPEN A collaborative initiative to develop and implement a sustainable Open Access publication model for academic books in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
more...less...
A collaborative initiative to develop and implement a sustainable Open Access publication model for academic books in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Explorations : a graduate student journal of Southeast Asia studies Explorations is a student production of the Southeast Asian Studies Student Association in association with the Center for Southeast Asian Studies and with financial assistance provided by the Associated Students at the University of Hawaii.
more...less...
Explorations is a student production of the Southeast Asian Studies Student Association in association with the Center for Southeast Asian Studies and with financial assistance provided by the Associated Students at the University of Hawaii.
Stephen Kolenda Photographic Slides & Photpgraphs Stephen Kolenda is a Professor Emeritus of Business Administration & Accounting at Hartwick College in New York. He lived in Thailand and China, and taught on two occasions for Chiang Mai University in Thailand at the Department of Business Administration. For about 25 years he tracked the economic development of northern Laos, including its effects on the environment and local culture. He published several papers and made many presentations about the effects of the road construction that has culminated in the new Chiang Khong bridge and the opening of the road linking China to Thailand. Starting in 1995 he maintained a photo journal of the area - preceding the start of the road, and during the road construction, with emphasis on the road from Luang Namtha to Huay Xia. In addition, there are photos in Myanmar, northern Thailand, and PRC. This collection consists of photographic slides and digital photos throughout that time. He stated that he would like to make them available to academic researchers. The original slides are kept in room 405 of Hamilton Library. The digital version of the photographic slides was created by Daniel Peacock in Access Services.

JSTOR & PROJECT MUSE

JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journals articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Project MUSE is a trusted provider of authoritative humanities and social science books and journals from more than 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies.

Dissertations & Thesis

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.