Food and Agriculture Organization - Government Documents - United Nations Specialized Agencies - Research Guides at University of Hawaii at Manoa

Databases and Online Resources

Corporate Document Repository
Full-text electronic access for all FAO publications. Includes options to browse by category or topic.
The State of Food and Agriculture (SOFA)
This annual report covers a different thematic area related to food and agriculture. Editions going back to 1947 are available in the Corporate Document Repository (see link above)
FAO FactFile archives 1997-2001
FAO Fact sheets
"Fact sheets on major FAO issues, prepared in view of the World Food Summit: five years later".
OECD-FAO Agricultural Outlook
"The OECD Agricultural Databases provides a unique collection of policy-relevant agricultural statistics, detailed support estimates for both OECD and transition economies and a detailed framework for quantifying the economics of agriculture".

AGRIS
Agricultural science and technology literature from 1975 to present. Covers all aspects of agriculture, including extension, agricultural economics, plant production, plant pathology, postharvest technology, agricultural engineering, forestry, animal husbandry, aquatic sciences and fisheries, human nutrition, rural sociology, and natural resources and environment.
The database is assembled by the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations and offers an international perspective on agricultural research. Covers journal articles, books and conference papers as well as unique material such as unpublished scientific and technical reports, theses, and government publications from over 135 participating countries. About one quarter of the records include abstracts.

FAO documents listed in AGRIS may be available on microfiche or online. Refer to this guide for more information about locating the documents.

Statistics

FAOSTAT
"Large time-series and across sectional data relating to hunger, food and agriculture for 245 countries and territories and 35 regional areas, from 1961 to the most recent year".
FAO country profiles
Country profiles provide key statistics about food, farming, and fishing in all of the FAO member countries.
FAO Yearbook of Fishery and Aquaculture Statistics
The State of Food and Agriculture
One of FAO's major annual flagship publications aims at bringing to a wider audience balanced science-based assessments of important issues in the field of food and agriculture. Each edition of the report contains a comprehensive, yet easily accessible, overview of a selected topic of major relevance for rural and agriculture development and for global food security.

For a world without hunger

The Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations has a mandate to "raise levels of nutrition, improve agricultural productivity, better the lives of rural populations and contribute to the growth of the world economy. Achieving food security for all is at the heart of FAO's efforts - to make sure people have regular access to enough high-quality food to lead active, healthy lives."

FAO motto: "Fiat panis" = "Let there be bread"

Publications

You can search for FAO materials in the library's OneSearch discovery layer. Some resources may also be available electronically via ebrary and require a UH username and password for remote access.

To search for FAO items, type "food and agricultural organization of the united nations" or "FAO" and the subject of your choice in the search boxes.

Food and Agriculture Organization publications in print can be found in the Government Documents Collection. Examples of publications include:

Food outlook by FAO
Call Number: GOVD FAO F 739/18
Publication Date: 1985-
This biannual publication reviews the global markets for many agricultural commodities.
FAO fisheries and aquaculture technical paper
Call Number: GOVD FAO F 526/11
This periodical on fisheries and aquaculture is also available online in several languages here.
Tropical Grasses by Food and Agriculture Organization Staff
Call Number: GOVD FAO T 753/7
Publication Date: 1990
Describes "the wide range of grasses suited to pasture and other uses and gives information on their adaptation, cultivation and management, necessary for increasing production and for ensuring improved land use, especially in developing countries."
FAO species catalogue for fishery purposes by FAO
Call Number: GOVD FAO Sp 31/5
Publication Date: 2001-
This multi-volume resource provides annotated and illustrated detail known to date on a particular species. Some volumes of interest include the catalog "Sharks of the World" or "Lampreys of the World."
Speciality Rices of the World by R. C. Chaudhary (Editor); Dat Van Tran (Editor); R. Duffy (Editor); Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: GOVD FAO Sp 31/4
ISBN: 1578081955
Publication Date: 2001
The second most widely grown cereal crop, rice is the staple food for over half the world's population. However, only five per cent of rice production - mostly speciality rices - enters world trade. This text explores current research and development on speciality rices in Asia, Africa and the US.

Government Documents - United Nations Specialized Agencies: Food and Agriculture Organization

Databases and Online Resources

Statistics

For a world without hunger

Publications