It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hawai`i's Military Archives, Museums and Libraries : Additional Web Resources
This guide provides information and links to the military archives, museums, and libraries in Hawai`i and discusses research strategies for using the resources they hold.
Recent and recently archived editions are searchable on Stars and Stripes, a Department of Defense-authorized daily newspaper distributed overseas for the U.S. military community. The paper is unique within in the Department of Defense and "is editorially independent of interference from outside its own editorial chain-of-command." Stars and Stripes maintains news bureaus in Europe, Pacific and the Middle East to provide first-hand reporting on events in those theaters.
Editions from 1948 through 1999 are available as searchable PDFs online at Stars and Stripes Digital Archives. Membership rates for the digital archive are required. The archives date back to 1942 for the European edition and 1945 for the Pacific edition. The paper is in the process of digitizing and adding World War II content to the digital archive.
The State of Hawaii's Department of Transportation, Airports Division created this site as a reflection of Hawaii's aviation history, including topics such as World War II aviation and Military Aviation. Also included is a island-by-island list of Hawaii's airfields and airports. Many full-text government publications/documents are freely accessible, including items such as U.S. Naval Air Facilities Honolulu Report (1945-1947), and Origins of the Air Force in Hawaii (1889-1957).
The U.S. Army Museum of Hawai'i at Fort DeRussy has information on military units that have served in Hawai'i since 1898. If you need or have information on these units, contact the U.S. Army Museum of Hawaii (not HAMS) by phone at (808) 438-2822, by fax at (808) 438-2819, or by mail at U.S. Army Museum, Kalia Road, Honolulu, Hawai'i 96815.
CARL is a physical collection held at Fort Leavenworth, Kansas, however its digital collections, finding aids, and bibliographies make it a valuable web resource. Full-text, digital content related to Hawaii's military history is available and the links and resources provided are helpful for further research.
The Military History Institute at the Army War College has an extensive collection of unit histories. The Army Military Institute also has copies of Army publications that may not be available elsewhere.
The CLA, part of the National Archives, is the repository for copies of documents printed by the Government Printing Office. Its holdings date back to 1895. It is the collection of last resort for publications listed in the Monthly Catalog of Government Publications.
DTIC is the Defense Technical Information Center. You can search technical reports from many military sources, most of which are available in full text. We may have other reports in print or microform.
Duke University Library is a Center of Excellence for Economic Analysis Bureau, International Trade Administration, International Trade Commission, Military History Center, Naval Historical Center, and Women's Bureau. It collects publications of these agencies comprehensively.
Full text content consists of peer-reviewed and other scholarly journals, with a focus on engineering. The database includes the following features: over 100 new full text titles added, bringing the total number of full text to 287 titles, full text country reports from CountryWatch, 245 full text pamphlets, and indexing and abstract coverage for dozens of newly added journals.
EBSCO has made changes to the database previously entitled Military Library FullTEXT. The database, now known as Military and Government Collection, has been enhanced with added content. EBSCO has also given the database a sharper focus to better meet the needs of its users in military and non-military government libraries.