Research Guides: Hawai`i's Military Archives, Museums and Libraries : Resources by Military Branch

Military Base Libraries

Many of Hawaii's military bases maintain base libraries that function similarly to public libraries.

Base libraries hold general reading materials, as well as books and publications related to warfare and military history.
Access to base libraries is limited to active-duty military members and their dependents, military retirees, and reservists.
Authorized members can sponsor a private civilian onto base; If you're an authorized member or a civilian who can obtain sponsorship, contact any of the following base libraries to inquire about their collections:

Air Force/Navy:

Joint Base Pearl Harbor-Hickam Library (Oahu) / Telephone: (808)449-8299

Army:

Fort Shafter - (Oahu) / Telephone: (808) 438-9521
SGT Yano Library at Schofield Barracks -(Oahu) / Telephone: (808) 655-8002
Tripler Army Medical Center (Medical Library) - (Oahu) / Telephone: (808) 433-6968

Marine Corps:

MCBH Kaneohe Bay - (Oahu) / Telephone: (808)254-7624
MCBH Camp Smith - (Oahu) / Telephone: (808)477-6348

Other:

Asia Pacific Center for Security Studies Library - Located at 2058 Maluhia Road Honolulu, HI 96815,(808) 971-8900. Access for authorized users only. Website has useful resource guides and links for conducting research related to the military.

Air Force

Air Force Historical Research Agency
Official Airforce historical repository since 1949. Physical collection located at Maxwell Airforce Base in Montgomery, Alabama. Website provides useful background information and factsheets on areas such as:

•Major commands
•Air divisions
•WWII aerial victory credits
•Personal papers and oral history catalogue
•Timelines
•Photos

Army

Army Museum of Hawaii at Fort DeRussy (Honolulu, HI)
Museum housed in Battery Randolph, a building built in 1911 as part of Honolulu's defense system. The museum is located on the West edge of Waikiki, along Kalia Road, on the grounds of the Hale Koa Hotel and the Ft. DeRussy Recreation Center. Museum is open Tuesday - Saturday from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. For more information, visit the museum website at the URL provided above.
U.S. Army Center of Military History (CMH)
Tropic Lightning Museum (Army) (Schofield Barracks, HI) (Oahu)
Archival collection includes, but is not limited to, military yearbooks from 1941-2009, primary and secondary source materials from 1939-present, and select military newspapers and magazines from 1900 to 1975.
United States Army Heritage and Education Center (USAHEC) - Digital Archive
Search digital Army records and histories by subject using facets and boolean operators, or simply browse materials. Large volume of digitized, accessible content that includes military publications, finding aids, photographs, and many other materials.

Coast Guard

Coast Guard Historian's Office

Navy

Naval Air Museum Barbers Point (Kapolei, HI)
Naval Air Museum Barbers Point aims to preserve Hawaii's naval aviation history, as well as its historical aircraft. Historical content includes artifacts and aircraft, as well as historical documents and publications from Hawaii's many airstations. Covered airstations include, but are not necessarily limited to the following: Khului (Maui), Pu'unene (Maui), Holmstead (Molokai), Kaneohe (Oahu), Ewa field (Oahu), Barbers Point (Oahu). Museum open to the public by appointment only. For appointment, contact (808)682-3982. Note that as of Nov. 9, 2019 the museum was closed. No plans for relocation have been announced.
Pearl Harbor National Memorial
National Monument includes multiple sites on Ford Island, including the U.S.S. Arizona Memorial, U.S.S. Oklahoma Memorial, and U.S.S. Utah Memorial.
U.S.S. Oklahoma Memorial
U.S.S. Utah Memorial
At this time, the USS Utah Memorial on Ford Island is only open to visitors with a government ID card.
Battleship Missouri Memorial
Part of the Valor of the Pacific National Monument. Memorial located at 63 Cowpens Street, Ford Island, Honolulu, HI 96818.
Pacific Fleet Submarine Museum (Honolulu, HI)
Museum is open to the public and includes exhibits including a waterfront memorial, flags, mssiles, war artifacts and more. See museum page for information on U.S.S. Bowfin's non-lending research library.
Pearl Harbor Aviation Museum (Ford Island, HI)
PHAM, located in historic buildings on Ford Island, commemorates the December 7, 1941 attack on Pearl Harbor and military aviation in the Pacific region.