Z-ARCHIVED OneSearch Mānoa Help: Get Started

1) To find a specific article, type in part or all of your desired title in the search box and select Articles + in the drop-down menu.

Articles + will search a massive journal index called Primo Central Index (a subscription database of millions of scholarly journal articles, magazine and newspaper articles, e-books, and legal documents), plus the Hawaii Pacific Journal Index, ScholarSpace, and eVols.

When finished, click on the SEARCH button or ENTER key.

Note: You can also search by the article's author (Last name, First name).

2) This search should lead you to a results page with entries for articles that match your search terms.

A typical entry will mention the article's title, information about the journal in which this article is located, the article's author's name, and other relevant information. 

3) When an article is available in full-text online, an  will appear. Click on it to view the article. 

This should open up a new window or browser tab with the link to the full text article online. Click on that link to access the article.

When it is not available, the entry will be tagged as . To learn how to request an article that is not available either online or in the library, review the Questions About Finding Journal Articles section of the FAQ & Help tab to learn more.

An improvement over the Voyager catalog system is the addition of the "Tweak my results" function on a results page. This function allows you to exclude results and reduce the number of items retrieved.  You can refine your results by the following categories:

• Sort: Default is by relevance or change to sort by date-newest, author, title
• Availability: peer-reviewed journals, online only, available in the library (not checked out)
• Material Type: articles, books, electronic resources, maps, etc.
• Subject: subject headings assigned to the book, article, or other resource
• Author: personal or corporate author or creator
• Location: the library within the UH System that has the item
• Language: results published in a selected language
• Journal Title: results from specific journal titles
• Source Database: results from electronic resources so you can tell which ones are most relevant for your topic
• Classification LCC: Library of Congress classification number
• Creation Date: clusters the dates of publication of the resources
• Publisher

In Advanced Search, you have the option to limit your search in various ways. You can use any combination of these limiters to eliminate results that you do not want and concentrate on those that are of most interest.

#1 limits your search by Any field, Title, Author/creator, Subject, ISBN, ISSN, Call Number, and Series Title.

#2 is used directly in conjunction with #1 and contains contains, is (exact), and starts with.    

#3 allows you to limit searches to a particular Search Scope:  Everything, Books +, Articles +, Research Guides, Course Reserves, UHM Digital Repositories, and the Library Catalog.

#4 allows you limit your search results by Material type (e.g., books, periodicals, articles, images, audio, music scores, maps, video, and DVDs), Language (English, Hawaiian, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, French, German, Spanish, Russian), and Publication date.

OneSearch has a number of search features that can help you find what you are looking for. 

Search for a phrase
Type quotation marks around the phrase to search for a phrase. If you do not enclose the phrase with quotation marks, the system will find more items that contain the individual words in the phrase, regardless of whether these words are located next to each other in the order specified.

Search for synonym words or phrases
You can search for items that contain similar and related words or phrases. To do so, type OR between the words and phrases. OR must be capitalized, otherwise OneSearch will think you are looking for the word "or" in your search.

Exclude words or phrases
You can exclude items that contain specific words or phrases. To do so, type NOT and then type the word or phrase to exclude. NOT must be capitalized, other OneSearch will think you are looking for the word "not" in your search.

Search using wildcard question mark character
The question mark ? will perform a single character wildcard search. This search will find records that contain the words woman and women. 

Search using the wildcard asterisk character
The asterisk * will perform a multiple character wildcard search. This search will find records that contain the words culture, cultural, and culturally. 

Group terms within a query
You can use parentheses to group terms within a query. This search will find you Shakespeare and either tragedy OR sonnet.

For items located in the Hawaiian & Pacific Collections (Hamilton Library) and in the Wong Audiovisual Center (Sinclair Library), you will need to request the them through OneSearch Mānoa in order to be able to borrow them. You may also use this feature to request that books in other collections or at other libraries in the UH System be pulled for you by library staff and placed on hold at the circulation desks at Hamilton or Sinclair Library.

To do this, you will need to follow these steps:

1. Use OneSearch Mānoa to find the item.
2. When item is found, click on the Locations link at the bottom of the entry.
   
   
    
3. Click on the "Sign-in" link in the yellow box. 
   
   
    
4. Sign in with your UH username and password.
5. Once signed in, you should be able to view your request options. 
6. To request most items, click on the Hold or transfer this item link. For items in the Hawaiian & Pacific Collections, click on the UH Manoa/Pac OR Spec. Research Col. link. Once you click on an option, select a pick up location.