Skip to main content

OneSearch Mānoa Help: Ask Us

This guide explains how to use OneSearch Mānoa

Frequently Asked Questions

Here, you will find frequently asked questions about OneSearch Mānoa. If you have other questions, let us know by visiting our Ask a Librarian page or visit us at any one of the information desks.

Finding Books

What is included in the "Books +" search?
Books + will search the Library's Hawaii Voyager catalog data, plus the index to the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands Archives, ScholarSpace and eVols.

What does "Available in the Library" mean?
Clicking on the "Available in the Library will limit your results to physical books and media owned by UH that are currently available, as well as ebooks and digital videos found in Hawaii Voyager Catalog.

What does 'Check library holdings' mean?
OneSearch could not interpret the location information for the item. Click on the 'Locations' tab for more information. If no further information is available, please contact your nearest UHM Library reference desk.

What if the book I want is located at another library in the UH System?
Click on the the Available at link to open a pop-up window.

Click on the "Hold or transfer this item" link.

Finding Articles

What is included in the Articles + search?
Articles + will search a massive journal index called Primo Central Index, plus ScholarSpace and eVols. The Primo Central Index is a subscription database of millions of scholarly journal articles, magazine and newspaper articles, ebooks, and legal documents. Quick full text access is available for millions of academic articles if you are signed in to OneSearch.

Are all of UH Manoa Library's full text articles in OneSearch?
No. OneSearch does not search all of the Library's databases. However, OneSearch is huge and will work well for many assignments. Visit the Library's subject guides for more resources when necessary.

How do I request an item that's not available in full text in OneSearch?
Click on the No full-text online to open up a new window or web browser tab and click on the link for Interlibrary Loan. UHM Library Interlibrary Loan Service obtains books, journal articles, and other materials for University of Hawaii at Manoa students, faculty, staff, and affiliates when the materials are NOT available at the UH Manoa Libraries. Log in (if you are not already logged in) and complete the request form.

OneSearch & Voyager

How is OneSearch different from the Hawaii Voyager Library Catalog?
OneSearch is a web-scale discovery tool that finds books, articles, maps, audio-visual and more with a single interface. Often times your search results will be very large and have a wide variety of choices. Hawaii Voyager is the UH catalog of books, videos, archives, music, and government documents owned by UH system libraries. Remember also that Hawaii Voyager does not search for articles.

Does OneSearch replace the Hawaii Voyager Library Catalog?
OneSearch includes Hawaii Voyager, but certainly doesn't replace it. Depending on your research needs, you may want to search Hawaii Voyager directly. The search functionality is different and the information displayed in most bibliographic records will be different. Remember, OneSearch is a discovery tool.