Research Guides: Business Databases: Business Databases: By Name

Business Databases: By Name

A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

The Wall Street Journal

Registration required. UH Mānoa students, faculty, and staff must create an individual account on our WSJ registration page: https://WSJ.com/UHManoa. Once activated, you can access this resource directly from WSJ.com or by using the WSJ app on your smartphone or tablet. The Wall Street Journal is a national newspaper with emphasis on business and finance, but also includes U.S. and world news on education, politics, health, technology, the arts, and more. Available in English, Chinese and Japanese language editions. WSJ.com archives go back four years. More information and directions for setting up and renewing your personal WSJ account.

BCC Research
Market research reports covering life sciences, sensors, materials, environment, sustainability, and commerce. Coverage includes: advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, nanotechnology, information technology, health maintenance, medical devices, energy, food, fuel cell and battery, finance, venture capital, and much more.
eMarketer
Provides analysis, market data, and statistics on e-commerce, online marketing, social media, the internet and emerging digital technologies around the world. Includes sections for advertising & marketing, ecommerce & retail, financial services, health, technology, and more. Reports are developed using over 3,000 global resources from research firms, audience measurement companies, media agencies, government institutions, industry associations and more.
Mergent Intellect
Global coverage with Dun and Bradstreet's private and public company data searchable by company, industry, size, and location. Includes First Research industry reports, Nielson demographic reports, PRIZM consumer segmentation data down to the zip code level, residential directory information, and powerful reporting functionality.
Mintel Reports
Market research reports on consumer products, services, and lifestyles. Reports describe the economic drivers, leading companies, market share, market size, trends, segmentation, and consumer attitudes and purchasing habits. U.S. reports, consumer data, and interactive databooks.
SimplyAnalytics
Web-based mapping application for creating professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. Includes Nielson Scarborough Data module. UH Mānoa users may "sign in as guest," or register for an individual account if you would like to save your work. NOTE: Only 5 users allowed at one time. If you cannot login, try again later.

ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library
ACM Digital Library contains tables of contents of twenty Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) journals and more than 400 conference proceedings. Bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since its founding in 1947 are available in the library together with selected works published by affiliated organizations.

Ad*Access
Duke University, "...images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955."
AICPA via Checkpoint
Professional Standards, including: U.S. Auditing Standards, Attestation Standards, Code of Professional Conduct. Technical Practice Aids, including: Statements of Position, Practice Bulletins. Audit and Accounting Guides. Other Audit Risk Alerts.
ALFRED Archival Federal Reserve Economic Data
St. Louis Fed. "ALFRED® allows you to retrieve vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history... Vintage or real time economic data allows academics to reproduce others' research, build more accurate forecasting models, and analyze economic policy decisions using the data available at the time."

Bank Holding Company Data
Financial data are available for: FR Y-9C—All domestic holding companies on a consolidated basis; FR Y-9LP—All large domestic holding companies on an unconsolidated parent only basis; and FR Y-9SP—All small domestic holding companies on an unconsolidated parent basis, including balance sheet and income information for all three categories.

BCC Research
Market research reports covering life sciences, sensors, materials, environment, sustainability, and commerce. Coverage includes: advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, nanotechnology, information technology, health maintenance, medical devices, energy, food, fuel cell and battery, finance, venture capital, and much more.
BizMiner
BizMiner offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code.
Bloomberg Businessweek Archive
The Bloomberg Businessweek Archive contains indexing, abstracting, and full text for the complete archive of Businessweek, beginning with its first issue in 1929 and ending in December 2000.
A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now

Bureau of Economic Analysis
GDP, National Accounts, Industry Data, International Trade and Investment Data, Regional and State Estimates.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Consumer Price Index, Current Population Survey, Employment Cost Trends, Local Area Unemployment and Producer Price Index.

Business Source Complete
Over 3,800 full-text journals, including nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals. Industry reports, market research reports, SWOT analyses, case studies, country economic reports, conference proceedings, working papers collections, and over 1 million company profiles.
A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now

Checkpoint
Comprehensive tax information and research. Includes FASB Codification, IASB International Financial Reporting Standards, AICPA Professional Library, complete federal and state tax sources; expert analysis, practitioner insights, tax-related news, cases, rulings and more.

China Data Center (National Level) via Data-Planet
National-level indicators of social and economic characteristics of the People’s Republic of China, dating back to the 1950s in some cases. Population; national accounts, including Gross Domestic Product and Balance of Payments; employment, labor, and wages; financial and banking data; price indices; government income and expenditures; agriculture; industry, construction, and transportation; domestic and foreign trade; education; health; and natural resources. Data collected primarily by the National Bureau of Statistics of China.

Conference Board
Full-text of management and economic research. Covers corporate citizenship and sustainability, corporate governance, economics, enterprise risk management, ethics and compliance, executive compensation, human resources, and strategic management and planning.

Data Axle Reference Solutions
Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) is a directory of business and residential listings. Includes the following databases: U.S. Businesses, U.S. Consumers / Lifestyles, U.S. Jobs / Internships, U.S. New Businesses, U.S. New Movers / Homeowners, U.S. Standard White Pages, Canadian businesses, and Canadian White Pages. Filter searches on nearly 40 unique data points, including geography, business type, number of employees, ownership, etc.

data.census.gov
Access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.

EconLit
1969-present. Includes abstracts of journal articles, books, reviews, working papers, collective volume articles and dissertations.
Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2017
The Economist presents the worlds political, business, scientific, technological, and cultural developments and the connections between them. Full-color images, multiple search indexes, and the facility to browse each and every issue - all combine to offer a unique primary source covering the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

EDGAR
Securities and Exchange Commission. All publicly-traded companies in the U.S. are required to file annual reports, quarterly reports, proxy statements, and other disclosure documents.

EIU Online (subscription expires December 31, 2024)
Includes Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) publications analyzing and forecasting the economic, political and business environments of almost 200 countries. Current publications include Country Reports, Country Commerce (business and trade regulations), Country Finance (taxation and investment), ViewsWire, Premium Country Access for China, Global Forecasting Service.
eMarketer
Provides analysis, market data, and statistics on e-commerce, online marketing, social media, the internet and emerging digital technologies around the world. Includes sections for advertising & marketing, ecommerce & retail, financial services, health, technology, and more. Reports are developed using over 3,000 global resources from research firms, audience measurement companies, media agencies, government institutions, industry associations and more.
Emerald Insight
Covers the major management disciplines including, marketing, HR and organizational development, library & information management, quality and operations management. Coverage also includes accounting, education, science & technology, healthcare, and communications.

Encyclopedia of Associations
Search more than 300,000 entries via the Gale Directory Library. Includes international, national, regional, state and local organizations.

Entrepreneurial Studies Source
Covering the latest insights in entrepreneurship and small business ownership, Entrepreneurial Studies Source is an essential full-text database for business students and researchers. It offers hundreds of full-text magazines, journals and books, plus thousands of company profiles and hundreds of videos.
eStatement Studies
eStatement Studies includes two classic RMA publications: Financial Ratios Benchmarks and the Industry Default Probabilities and Cash Flow Measures. Data derived directly from financial statements. Covers more than 750 industries using the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes.

FASB Codification via Checkpoint
Current codified standards, plus wide range of prior FASB materials.
FFIEC Central Data Repository's Public Data Distribution
Uniform Bank Performance Reports. Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council. Reports of Condition and Income (Call Report) data for individual institutions in PDF, SDF, or XBRL format. Bulk data also available.

Films on Demand
Streaming access to educational videos in the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, business, and health.
Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2016
The Financial Times Historical Archive delivers the complete run of the London edition of this internationally known daily paper through 2016. The Financial Times chronicled the critical financial and economic events that shaped the world, from the late nineteenth and entire twentieth centuries to today.
Forbes Archive
The Forbes Archive contains indexing, abstracting, and full text for the complete archive of Forbes, beginning with its first issue in 1917 and ending in December 2000.
A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now
Fortune Magazine Archive
The Fortune Magazine Archive contains indexing, abstracting, and full text for the complete archive of Fortune magazine, including cover-to-cover searchable advertisements, beginning with its first issue in 1930 and ending in December 2000.
A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now

FRASER Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research
Historical statistics complementing FRED Federal Reserve Economic Data
FRED Federal Reserve Economic Data
Economic time series database. Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.

globalEDGE
Data by country. Includes a "...wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities."

Global Financial Development
External debt and financial flow data for 128 countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt to the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System. Time series for 200 indicators run from 1970 to current, with contractual obligations data out seven years. External debt stocks and flows, major economic aggregates, and key debt ratios as well as average terms of new commitments, currency composition of long-term debt, debt restructuring, and scheduled debt projections.
Google Scholar
Set Google Scholar to link to UH Manoa subscriptions: Click on Settings in the upper right corner of the Google Scholar search page. Go to Library Links and search for Hawaii. Select University of Hawaii at Manoa - Full Text @ UH Manoa and save your preferences. Make sure you're signed in to your Google account to remember your preferences on future visits. Scholarly publications from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities, more.
Government Finance Statistics
IMF time series data on revenue, expenses, and transactions in assets and liabilities for all levels of government. Includes deficit/surplus, total financing, revenues, expenditures, domestic financing, foreign financing and debt. 137 countries from 1990 to present.

Hawaii Pacific Journal Index (HPJI)
Provides citations to articles in over 50 Hawaii or Pacific-focused serials including Hawaii Business, Island Business, Midweek, Guam Business News, Islands Business (Fiji) and Pacific Islands Monthly.
Honolulu Star-Advertiser Database
Search the full-text content of the Honolulu Star-Advertiser (June 6, 2010 - present), the Honolulu Advertiser (Nov. 30, 2002-June 6, 2010) and the Honolulu Star-Bulletin (Mar. 18, 1996-June 6, 2010).
NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete
Incudes full text for top journals in the field. Coverage includes hotel management, travel and tourism, food and beverage service, event management, market trends and technology, demographics, statistics, and more.
A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now

IBISWorld
UH Manoa Library subscription includes the Core NAICS US Industry Market Research Reports, US Specialized Industry Reports, Global Industry Reports, and China Industry Reports. Identifies business operating risks and opportunities within 700 industries at the 5-digit NAICS level. U.S. reports are fully updated three times per year on average.

IMF DataMapper
"Plot, compare, and import data from countries and regions."
IMF eLibrary
"...direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and so much more." [International Monetary Fund]

International Financial Statistics
Current and historical financial and economic data for IMF member countries. Time series data from 1948. Includes data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.

Leisure Tourism Collection (CABI)
Database of bibliographic information, abstracts, book chapters, news for all aspects of leisure and tourism (via CABI Digital Library)

Mergent Intellect
Global coverage with Dun and Bradstreet's private and public company data searchable by company, industry, size, and location. Includes First Research industry reports, Nielson demographic reports, PRIZM consumer segmentation data down to the zip code level, residential directory information, and powerful reporting functionality.
Mergent Online
Comprehensive global company database with custom reporting features. 15,000 U.S. public companies. 20,000 non-U.S. based corporations, representing 95% of the non-U.S. global market capitalization. Basic information on approximately 1 million global private companies, including up to four years of full financial information on over 400,000 firms. 20+ years of U.S. and International HSD Equity Pricing. Note: Only 12 users allowed at one time.
Mintel Reports
Market research reports on consumer products, services, and lifestyles. Reports describe the economic drivers, leading companies, market share, market size, trends, segmentation, and consumer attitudes and purchasing habits. U.S. reports, consumer data, and interactive databooks.
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Morningstar Investment Center gives faculty, staff, and students access to daily updates on more that 30,000 mutual funds, stocks, closed end funds and exchange traded funds. It also includes Morningstar fund and stock screeners, all 3,500 fund and stock Analyst Reports, Portfolio X-Ray and 150 investment classes. NOTE: Only 2 users allowed at one time. If you cannot login, try again later.

NBER Working Papers
(National Bureau of Economic Research) 1973-present. Provides full-text of this research organization's working papers and chapters of its forthcoming books in PDF files. Includes searchable index.

NetAdvantage, Standard & Poor's (S&P)
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage is a source of business and investment information with extensive financials and analysis on more than 10,000 public companies. Basic data for 85,000 private companies. Includes industry surveys, stock reports, and more.

Newspaper Source Plus
Includes more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, providing more than 38 million full-text articles. Features nearly 913,000 television and radio news transcripts, including ABC News CBS News, CNBC, CNN, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, PBS and more.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Nikkei Asia
Formerly the Nikkei Asian Review, Nikkei Asia online covers East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, Oceania, and other regions such as Russia, Caucasus, Central Asia, Latin America, North America, and Europe. The data and news are compiled by the Nikkei (Japan's Wall Street Journal) and its partner the Financial Times. Strong in business and market but also cultural trends and life styles and arts.

OECD iLibrary
Publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998.
OneSearch Manoa
Web-scale discovery tool for finding millions of articles, books, media and more using a single search. Includes the UH Voyager Catalog plus a huge index of academic journals on most topics. Also includes conference papers, maps, government documents, music scores, DVDs, archives & manuscripts, and more.
Oxford Reference Online
Economics & Business section includes Dictionary of Accounting, Dictionary of Business and Management, Dictionary of Economics, Dictionary of Finance and Banking, Dictionary of Human Resource Management, The Handbook of International Financial Terms, and Dictionary of Statistics.

Pacific Business News
Great resource for information on Hawaii's companies. Includes access to Book of Lists entries with current rankings of local companies, organizations, services, and more. NOTE: You must be a UH Manoa student, faculty or staff member to use this resource. First time users will need to create a free personal account with your hawaii.edu email address using the Pacific Business News registration page.
Visit the library's FAQ page for full registration instructions.
PAIS International
(Public Affairs Information Services) 1972-present. A selective index to the latest books, pamphlets, government publications, reports of public and private agencies and journal articles relating to business, economic and social conditions, public administration and international relations published throughout the world.
Passport
Passport by Euromonitor is a comprehensive market research database providing key business intelligence on markets, consumers and companies, emphasizing consumer-related industries. It is an excellent source for international data, including market forecasts, consumer market sizes, consumer lifestyles, brands, and more.

Patent Public Search
United States Patent and Trademark Office.
Penn World Tables 10.0 (1950-2019) via Data-Planet
Note: From Data-Planet menu select "Browse by Source" > "Groningen Growth and Development Centre." Includes national accounts economic time series covering 182 countries.

PrivCo
Data on privately-held companies: family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and selected international unlisted companies. Over 850,000 firms, 20,000 investors and 100,000 private market deals. Note: Only 20 users allowed at a time. If you cannot login, try again later. NOTE: Click Direct Access to access the database without a personal PrivCo account.
ProQuest One Business
All of ProQuest's business content is now available in one new platform. More than 130 million documents. Includes more than 2,400 journals, plus eBooks, news and magazines, videos, and hundreds of thousands of reports on companies, industries, markets, and countries. Includes The Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and The Economist.
PsycINFO (via APA PsycNET)
Comprehensive database of literature in psychology and related disciplines. Business topics include human resources, marketing, consumer behavior. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book chapters, technical reports, and dissertations from 1887 to the present.

Regional Business News
Full-text for nearly 100 regional U.S. and Canadian business publications with coverage back to 1990. Includes newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires. Indexing (and selected full text) for Hawaii Business magazine, 1994-2020.

Sage Business Cases
Unlimited access to more than 5,500 authoritative cases from over 120 countries. Includes cases for marketing, management, entrepreneurship, finance, business ethics & corporate social responsibility, human resource management, accounting, more. Note to instructional faculty: To access the Teaching Notes (available only to instructors), please request the verification code from David Flynn, Business/Social Sciences Librarian.

Sage Business Skills
"...develop and practice real-world skills needed to successfully transition from campus to the modern workplace through interactive self-assessment, virtual scenarios, downloadable data, and expert insights." [Publisher Note]

Sage Data, powered by Data Planet
Formerly Data-Planet Statistical Datasets, search 52 billion data points in over 6.2 billion datasets sourced from over 70 public and private data providers. Allows users to manipulate datasets, compare multiple indicators and multiple sources, chart trends over time, and spatially represent data without requiring additional software programs. Includes the EASI Analytics Market Planner module, Data Axle Reference Solutions, as well as data from Zillow, Factset Corporate Fundamentals, US Stock Market Prices, and selected international market indices and exchanges.
Sage Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1,000 books, reference works, journal articles, case studies, datasets and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is home to journals published by Elsevier. UH Manoa subscribes to several hundred ScienceDirect journals in agriculture, medicine, physics, astronomy, earth sciences and business.
SimplyAnalytics
Web-based mapping application for creating professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. Includes Nielson Scarborough Data module. UH Mānoa users may "sign in as guest," or register for an individual account if you would like to save your work. NOTE: Only 5 users allowed at one time. If you cannot login, try again later.
Small Business Source
Nearly 400 full-text periodicals and over 450 full-text reference books. Helps guide users through small business and entrepreneurial subject areas. Includes a help and advice section, and sample business plans.
Social Sciences Citation Index
Multidisciplinary index, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Online coverage from 1980 to present.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage is a source of business and investment information with extensive financials and analysis on more than 10,000 public companies. Basic data for 85,000 private companies. Includes industry surveys, stock reports, and more.
Statista
Statistics and studies from market research institutions, business organizations, government agencies, scientific publications, and more. Covers business, media, technology, society, education and more. The Consumer Insights module, including the Global Consumer Survey, provides consumer behavior, consumption, media usage for more than 55 countries.
Sustainability Reference Center
Sustainability Reference Center is a robust full-text database covering all aspects of sustainability, including environmental stewardship, corporate social responsibility and federal, state and local regulations. It includes full text journals, magazines, books and trade publications, plus expert analyses, benchmarks and best practices for sustainability initiative management.

ThomasNet
(Free web version of Thomas Register) Directory of manufacturers, suppliers, industrial products/services in U.S. and Canada. Some product catalogs and CAD available.
TradeStats Express
International Trade Administration. Latest annual and quarterly trade data. Product (Harmonized System Codes), industry, state, market.

UN Comtrade Commodity Trade Statistics Database
United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database. Annual international trade statistics, detailed by commodity and partner country. All values are converted into US dollars using exchange rates supplied by the countries, or derived from monthly market rates and volume of trade.

UNdata
UNdata, formerly UN Common Database (UNCDB), pools major United Nations databases and those of several international organizations into a single Internet environment covering a whole range of statistics including Population, Industry, Energy, Trade and National Accounts. When fully developed, UNdata will have a comprehensive array of international and national databases providing the world instant access to a wealth of statistical information.
U.S. International Trade Data
U.S. Census Bureau. Official source for U.S. export and import statistics. Detailed statistics on goods and estimates of services shipped from the U.S. to foreign countries.

US West Newsstream
Search the most recent regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. West Newsstream covers news sources from Alaska, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington.

USA Trade Online
(Free registration required) Current and cumulative U.S. export and import data on more than 18,000 export commodities and 24,000 import commodities worldwide. Commodity categories up to the 10-digit HS or 6-digit NAICS level. Create reports for port level detail, state exports, balance of trade, method of transportation and market level ranking.

Value Line Investment Survey
The Value Line Investment Survey is a comprehensive source of information and advice on 1,700 stocks, representing approximately 95% of the market capitalization of all stocks traded in U.S. markets. Provides multi-year statistical history of key investment factors and forward-looking performance projections for each stock, including Value Line’s proprietary ratings and analyst commentary. Also includes analysis on more than 90 industries. Note: The UHM Library subscription includes the Investment Survey stocks only (no small or mid cap). Some database features may not be available in this academic library version.

Wall Street Journal (Digital Edition, WSJ.com)
Registration required. UH Mānoa students, faculty, and staff must create an individual account on our WSJ registration page: https://WSJ.com/UHManoa. Once activated, you can access this resource directly from WSJ.com or by using the WSJ app on your smartphone or tablet. The Wall Street Journal is a national daily newspaper with emphasis on business and finance, but also includes U.S. and world news on education, politics, health, technology, the arts, and more. Available in English, Chinese and Japanese language editions. WSJ.com archives go back four years. More information and directions for setting up and renewing your personal WSJ account.

Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition, 1984-present
Via ProQuest. Same day access to articles that originally appeared in the print Eastern edition, considered the "edition of record."
Wall Street Journal, 1889-2012
World Bank Data
More than 2,000 indicators now available for free. Note: "Much of the data comes from the statistical systems of member countries, and the quality of global data depends on how well these national systems perform."
World Development Indicators
1960-present. Provides direct access to more than 900 development indicators, with time series data for more than 200 countries and 18 country groupings. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Updated monthly. Export to Excel and CSV.