Research Tools & Strategies - HWST 675: Polynesian temples - Society Islands - Research Guides at University of Hawaii at Manoa

Place names

French Polynesia

Polynésie Française

Society Islands (French Polynesia)

Iles de la Société

~Windward Islands

Iles du vent

Moorea (French Polynesia)

Mo'orea
Eimeo

Tahiti (French Polynesia : Island)

Tahiti

~Leeward Islands (French Polynesia)

Isles sous le vent

Bora-Bora (French Polynesia)

BoraBora
Pora Pora
Vavua

Huahine Island (French Polynesia)

Huahine Nui
Huahine Iti

Raiatea (French Polynesia)

Ra'iatea
Havaii

Tahaa Island (French Polynesia)

Taha'a
Uporu

Keywords

Marae / Heiau

Maohi

Archaeology

Antiquities

Religion

Legends

Mythology, Polynesian

a few helpful "alts"

Hold down the "alt" key while typing these number codes to get these french letters:

133 = à

131 = â

130 = é

138 = è

136 = ê

140 = î

147 = ô

135 = ç

3. Databases & Indexes (for articles and media)

See also the Pacific Collection's "Selected Databases" page for other heavily used sources of Hawaiʻi/Pacific information.

Anthropological Index Online
An index to periodicals in the Museum of Mankind Library, incorporating the former Royal Anthropological Institute library. (All journals indexed in the AIO should also be available in the Pacific Collection.)
JSTOR
Provides full-text journal articles from a wide variety of sources, dating from the 19th century (and sometimes earlier) through modern times. Does not include current articles, but is one of the most important databases for historical journal articles. (Most of the other databases do not include early journal articles, only modern.)

Moving Images of the Pacific Islands : A Guide To Films and Videos
This database of over 3,400 entries is produced by the UH-Manoa Center for Pacific Islands Studies, and is intended as a reference for those interested in films related to the Pacific Islands.

Project Muse
Project Muse provides access to selected full text of approximately 250 scholarly journals published by university presses. The publishers involved are Johns Hopkins University Press, Carnegie Mellon University Press, Duke University Press, Indiana University Press, MIT Press, Oxford University Press, Pennsylvania State University Press, University of Hawaii Press, University of Texas Press, and the University of Wisconsin Press. Most journals included are in arts and humanities.

Pacific Dissertations & Theses

These are lists or databases that provide an index and possibly full-text access to dissertations and theses.

CPIS Pacific Islands Student Research
The UH Mānoa Center for Pacific Islands' Studies digital repository of Plan A and Plan B Master's Theses and Projects.

Dissertations & Theses
Includes bibliographic citations for the doctoral and selected master's work of authors from more than 1,000 graduate schools and universities dating back to 1861. More than 750,000 dissertations and theses from 1997 on have been digitized and are available for PDF download. Print copies of additional dissertations and theses not yet digitized are available for purchase. Citations for dissertations from 1980 forward include abstracts.
NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.
Dissertations & Theses @ University of Hawaii
Dissertations and Theses at University of Hawaii provides access to complete full text of University of Hawaii theses and dissertations from 1996 to present. Use Dissertations & Theses for citations, abstracts, and full text of work from other institutions.
NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.
eVols at University of Hawaii at Manoa
eVols is an open-access, digital institutional repository hosted by UH-Mānoa Library. eVols provides a home for material which the Library or the University digitizes as part of grant projects and digital library program initiatives. As opposed to Scholarspace (see link below), eVols houses material that was not created by UH students, faculty or staff, and includes among other Pacific-related items, a few dissertations and theses produced at other universities. (For more on electronic dissertations and theses produced at UH, see the links for both CPIS' Pacific Islands Student Research and Scholarspace in this box.)
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches across the digital repositories of numerous research libraries worldwide. The downside is that you cannot limit your searches only to dissertations and theses (and sometimes the material it turns up is not scholarly research but "popular press" items ... for instance, Lonely Planet guides.)

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
NDLTD searches solely for dissertations and theses from a worldwide collective of member institutions and consortia—including the University of Hawai‘i, University of Auckland, Massey University and many other lesser-known institutions.
nzresearch.org.nz
A database of open-access research documents produced at a dozen New Zealand institutions, among them Lincoln University, Massey University, the University of Auckland, the University of Canterbury, University of Otago, University of Waikato, and Victoria University of Wellington.

OAIster
OAIster searches a vast array of material in numerous subject areas and formats, and does so on an international scale. Searches can be limited to dissertations and theses.

Pacific Islands Dissertations and Theses from the University of Hawaii: 1923-2008 by Lynette Furuhashi
Publication Date: 2008
Available online via ScholarSpace.
Earlier editions: 1994 and 1996.
All items listed are available in UH library in either print or microfilm, and some available via Proquest.

ScholarSpace at University of Hawaii at Manoa
ScholarSpace is an open-access, digital institutional repository for the UH Mānoa community. ScholarSpace stores the intellectual works and unique collections of the UHM academic community. In addition the housing all CPIS Student research (see link at top), Scholarspace also houses Pacific-related theses and dissertations submitted in other degree programs on campus. Scholarspace is full-text searchable.

TROVE
Trove is an Australian digital repository managed by the National Library of Australia that brings together content from multiple institutions.
USP Electronic Research Repository
Digital full text of theses and other scholarly work produced at the University of the South Pacific.

5. The Googles

Google searches can provide good overviews, but remeber that they will not get you everything.

Google Scholar (searching for articles in scholarly journals)

UH users: access from the Library webpage, click on "Go" button (provides you with automatic access to UH online subscriptions)

To access UH-accessible articles, click on the link to the right

If you find an article in Google Scholar that the library doesn't subscribe to electronically, search in the Voyager catalog to see if we subscribe to the print version.
If the library doesn't subscribe to print, they can be requested through the Interlibrary Loan service.

Google Books (searching full text within a book)

Depending on copyright you may get the full book, or just a "snippet", but usually enough to tell you if it would be a useful resource.

Remember to check the Voyager catalog if you want to see the print version of the book. Almost all books should be available in the Hawaiian and Pacific Collections. Any that aren't can be requested through the Interlibrary Loan service.