Tools for Creating a Community Profile: Census Data

The American Community Survey (ACS) is an ongoing survey that provides vital information on a yearly basis about our nation and its people. Information from the survey generates data that help determine how more than $675 billion in federal and state funds are distributed each year.

• Collects/produces population and housing information every year
• Over 3.5 million housing unit addresses are selected annually
• Collects more information than decennial census, such as: income, commute time to work, home value, veteran status, and other important data
• Single-Year Estimates for geographic areas with a population of 65,000 or more
• Multiyear Estimates: In 2010, the Census Bureau released the first 5-year estimates for small areas. Additional 5-year estimates have been released annually.

Find newly released data here. 

There are a few things you should know about census geography in Hawaiʻi.

• First, since there are no incorporated towns in the state, we rely on census-designated places, or CDPs, to represent communities. 
• Islands are not a type of census geography. Researchers who need data for an island like Molokaʻi must use county subdivisions or census tracts.
• Because there is a single statewide public school system in the state, it does not make sense to look at census data by school district in Hawaiʻi.
• ACS 1-year estimates are only available for communities with a population greater than 65,000. Thus, 1-year estimates are only available for counties and the two metropolitan statistical areas, Honolulu and Kahului-Wailuku-Lahaina. 

To learn more about census geography in Hawaiʻi, please consult the publication Hawaii’s Census Geography.

Narrative Profiles are short, analytic reports derived from the ACS 5-year estimates. Each Narrative Profile covers 18 different topic areas and provides text and bar charts to display highlights of selected social, economic, housing and demographic estimates for a selected geographic area.

Hierarchical structure of geographic areas:

• Nation
• State
• County
• Place
• Census Tract
• ZIP Code Tabulation Area
• Metropolitan/Micropolitan Statistical Area
• American Indian Area/Alaska Native Area/Hawaiian Home Land

Data Profiles, supported by data.census.gov, have the most frequently requested social, economic, housing, and demographic data. Each of these four subject areas is a separate data profile. The data profiles summarize the data for a single geographic area, both numbers and percent, to cover the most basic data on all topics.

Social Characteristics: includes Education, Marital Status, Relationships, Fertility, Grandparents

Economic Characteristics: includes Income, Employment, Occupation, Commuting to Work

Housing Characteristics: includes Occupancy and Structure, Housing Value and Costs, Utilities

Demographic Characteristics: includes Sex and Age, Race, Hispanic Origin, Housing Units. The Census discusses races and ethnicity here.

QuickFacts is an easy to use application that provides tables, maps, and charts of frequently requested statistics from many Census Bureau censuses, surveys, and programs. Profiles are available for the nation, all 50 states plus the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and all counties. Cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more are also included.