Government Documents: History 429: War Crimes Trials in History: Home

This guide is for students in Yuma Totani's History 429: War Crimes Trials in History course.

In order to borrow books or use electronic resources, you need to register your ID with the library. Registration for UH Students, Staff, Affiliates, and Faculty is available through an online registration form or in-person at Hamilton Library circulation counter during service hours.

OneSearch is Hamilton Library's discovery tool that searches many of our physical collections and databases.

This resource is good for comprehensive research from historical to the most current materials, from a wide variety of sources.
The link above takes you to the Advanced Search screen.

In the Advanced Search screen, separate out your search terms to find relevant results.

For example,

• in the first line, type "war crimes" in quotes to keep the phrase together
• then in the next field, specify the geographical area, such as Yugoslavia.
• in the third line, you can type "Government docs" if you want your results to specifically include resources from our Government Documents collection.
• Many materials are available online, and will appear in the results list as well.

Use this resource when you need to do legal research, primarily dealing with the U.S. but also includes foreign and international law databases.
HeinOnline provides access to these special databases which pertain to your research focus:

• Law Journal Library

• Civil Rights and Social Justice

• Foreign & International Law Resources Database

• Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture, and Law / American Indian Law Collection

• International Law Association Reports

• U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library

• World Trials Library

It also contains databases dedicated to:

• treaties
• constitutions
• case law
• world & international trade
• foreign relations
• and much more

HeinOnline allows for broader historical research, providing coverage, from inception, of more than 2,600 law journals and publications. 

Also useful are research Pathfinders, which are collections of resources by subject, for example, Human Rights Law or Crimes Against the Person. These pathfinders will pull up links to documents such as Library of Congress research reports or law journal articles on topics related to war crimes or genocide.