Research Guides: ENG 200: Advanced Composition -- Writing Identity: Multi-media

Finding videos, music, etc. with Voyager

Voyager

Go to the "Advanced" tab. Type your search terms into the Search box. Further below there is a scroll box with the title "Type". With the "Ctrl" key pressed down, select these four options: Videorecording/DVD, Musical Recording, Nonmusical Recording, and Serial Videorecording/DVD.

Look at the holdings information at the bottom of the cataloging record. Many of the results will be available at the Wong A/V Center in Sinclair Library. If the video is available electronically, it will be linked in the holdings information. Click on the long URL after "Web Site/Electronic Resource"

UHM Pacific digital image collections

Creating Siapo
Images of making siapo (tapa/kapa) taken in 1967 in American Samoa by Joan Griffis.
Douglas Oliver Bougainville Research Collection
Most of the images taken 1938-1939 by Oliver in Bougainville.
George Grace Linguistic Research and Slides of Melanesia
Photos from throughout Melanesia, on a variety of subjects, taken between 1955 and 1956.
Hawaiian & Pacific Images
Images from 19th and early 20th century works about the Pacific.
Jack Tobin Marshall Islands Anthropology Collection
Images taken by Tobin from 1950-1985 in the Marshall Islands.
more...less...
Dr. Jack A. Tobin (1920-2010) first went to the Marshall Islands in 1950 as a student of Dr. Len Mason, to work on the Pacific Science Board's Coral Atoll Project (CAP) -- an initiative meant to study the needs of atoll dwellers with limited resources and growing populations. Arno Atoll was chosen as the first CAP research site, and the first 225 photos in this online collection derive from Dr. Tobin's time there. Later in 1950, Tobin was hired as an anthropological field consultant by the Civil Administration Unit of Naval Operations. Dr. Tobin extensively documented his time in Micronesia, both in written and photographic form. The photos in this collection date from 1950 through 1985, with the majority taken between 1950 and 1972. These images include not only the Marshalls, but also various atolls and islands throughout what was then the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands. In addition to his own photographs, Dr. Tobin also amassed a large collection of military images, most of which deal with issues surrounding nuclear testing in the Marshall Islands.
Margo Duggan Collection
Images of Micronesia and Hawaiʻi taken in 1949-1954 by Duggan.
Nuclear Diaspora: Bikini and Enewetak
Images taken from 1946-1988 by Mason and Kiste throughout Micronesia, but mostly the Marshall Islands.
more...less...
The United States conducted more than eighty nuclear weapons tests on and around Bikini and Enewetak Atolls between 1946 and 1958. The slides in this collection derive from the anthropological fieldwork of Dr. Leonard “Len” Mason and Dr. Robert Kiste, both of whom served as longtime faculty members at the University of Hawaii-Manoa prior to their retirement. The early images in this collection document the lives of Bikinians after they were relocated first to Rongerik Atoll in 1946 and later to Kwajalein (1948), Kili and Jaluit (1949). These early photos were all taken by Len Mason, who returned in 1957 to do further work on Kili and Jaluit.
Pacific in Wartime
Images from multiple collections/authors about the Pacific during World War II (1940's).
more...less...
The images contained in this online collection are digital reproductions of materials in several distinct art and photograph collections, covering a range of geographic regions and time periods. Taken as a whole, these collections document many facets of life in the Pacific during World War II, from the brutal and the tragic to the mundane.
Rapanui: The Edmunds/Bryan Photograph Collection
Photographs of Rapa Nui taken in the early 1900s by Henry Percy Edmunds, and William Alanson Bryan Jr.
Steve Thomas Traditional Micronesian Navigation Collection
Images taken by Thomas in Satawal in the 1980s.
Trust Territory Archives Photograph Collection
Images that document the history of the American period in Micronesia (1947-1988).
Trust Territory Survey Maps
Scans from a collection of about 1,700 survey maps on microfiche. Many of the fiche are also surveyors notes (longitude/latitude etc.) that don't have an attached map with them.

Ethnographic Video Online

Ethnographic Video Online: Volume III, Indigenous Voices
Ethnographic Video Online is a comprehensive online resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. The collections contain over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork. It's also a resource for a study of the discipline itself: By placing examples of traditional ethnographic methodologies alongside indigenous-made films representing previously overlooked perspectives, scholars, teachers and students of anthropology can gain a sense of the discipline's history and of its future direction.

ArtStor

You can find Sophia Tekala-Smith's Savage Island Man with Pure in the database ArtStor

ARTstor
To use the digital library of ARTstor, click "Enter Here" in the box that says "ARTstor Digital Library" in the upper right corner. Register or log in with your free ARTstor account (separate from the UH account) to use full functionality. ARTstor is a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Minimum Requirements: IE 7.0+, Firefox 3.0+ or Safari 3.0+

ENG 200: Advanced Composition -- Writing Identity: Multi-media

Finding videos, music, etc. with Voyager

Other places to find Pacific online videos

UHM Pacific digital image collections

Ethnographic Video Online

ArtStor