Research Guides: GEPN Orientation: Library Resources and Electronic Access: Articles & Databases

OneSearch Mānoa

OneSearch searches almost everything in UHM Library's collection. It searches through multiple databases and the library catalog at one time. Results include books, articles, conference papers, maps, government documents, DVDs, archives & manuscripts, and more.

Guides for Searching Databases

Getting the Most Out of CINAHL
by Carolyn Dennison Last Updated Sep 1, 2023 866 views this year
Getting the Most out of PubMed Medline
by Carolyn Dennison Last Updated Mar 13, 2024 3893 views this year
Getting the Most Out of Web of Science
by SciTech Reference Last Updated Aug 25, 2022 139 views this year
Boolean Operators
by SciTech Reference Last Updated Aug 25, 2022 2468 views this year

Getting Journal Articles

Getting Journal Articles Within Databases

Click on the button which will direct you to the following:

A page with a link to an electronic version of the article if it is available from UH Manoa Library
A page with a link to a request form to get the item through Interlibrary Loan if the article is not available

If you are using CINAHL, you can also use the or links.

Getting Known Journal Articles

If you already have a journal article citation, check the following sources to determine if the Library provides access to the journal,

Journals
Browse or search through UHM Library's large collection of journals
Request an Interlibrary Loan
Instructions on how to request articles, book chapters, and books that are not in the library's collection are outlined in a Google Slides file.
OneSearch Mānoa
Search for the title of the journal or article

Databases Relevant to Nursing

Listed here are several databases relevant to nursing and health sciences research. Curious about other databases? Browse the SciTech Reference Department's list of selected databases used for the sciences and technology.

CINAHL with Full Text Includes full text for more than 580 journals back to 1981.
PubMed Medline Provides free access to citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. If the University of Hawaii at Manoa (UHM) Library has a subscription to the full-text site, logged in users will be able to view the full-text. To view the citations with UHM links, select "Abstract" from the "Format" drop-down menu.
Alt-HealthWatch Alt-HealthWatch focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. This database provides full text for articles from more than 140 international and often peer-reviewed reports, proceedings as well as association and consumer newsletters. In addition, Alt-HealthWatch includes hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library is an electronic publication designed to supply high quality evidence to inform people providing and receiving care, and those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration at all levels. This resource is available thanks to the JABSOM Health Sciences Library.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
NOTE: Only 1 user allowed at one time. If you cannot login, try again later. This resource is available thanks to the JABSOM Health Sciences Library.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Provides nearly 540 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 570 journals.
Web of Science Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences (Science Citation Index Expanded) as well as both the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Approximately 70% of the records have author abstracts. Online coverage from 1900 to present.

These interdisciplinary databases contain journals and articles related to the health sciences:

Academic Search Complete Provides citations, abstracts, and full text articles for academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and books from the sciences, social sciences, and humnitites.
Google Scholar
Full-text @ UH Manoa links should automatically display. If the links are not displaying you can manually set the links to UH Manoa subscriptions by clicking the menu icon in the upper left corner of the Google Scholar search page. Go to Settings. Click on Library links and search for Hawaii. Select University of Hawaii at Manoa - Full Text @ UH Manoa and save your preferences.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
PsycINFO (via APA PsycNET) Provides citations and abstracts of international journal articles, chapters, books, technical reports and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines.