Over 500 collections of private papers documenting social, economic, civil or political history of Hawaiʻi
38,000-volume library includes govt publications, pamphlets, and 2 rare book collections (Capt. Cook Memorial Collection & Paul Markham Kahn Collection)
120,000 photographs of people and places of Hawaiʻi
387 artifacts (e.g. coins, stamps, flags, maps, attire of govt officials)"
**Records are arranged mostly by the agency, organization or individual that created them, rather than by subject. Use finding aids (descriptive inventories) to help you navigate these records.**
The library’s strength is on the history of Hawai‘i and the Pacific in the 19th century. It has fine collections of early voyages and travels, Hawaiian-language imprints, and newspapers published in Hawai‘i. Types of materials include books, manuscripts, newspapers, broadsides, maps, and photographs.
Hawaiian language texts come from mission and governemnt presses dating from 1823. Sheet music produced between 1867 and 1960s includes Hawaiian and Hapa Haole songs.
**Materials are organized by author, title, and subject according to the Dewey Decimal Classification System.**
The general focus of the Library's collections is on the history of Hawaiʻi from 1778 to 1900. Houses original Hawaiian-language publications, many of which were printed at the Mission Houses Printing House.
Library holdings include rare books, periodicals, newspapers, and special collections of published material. Archives holdings are the results of extensive studies done by Museum staff in various disciplines throughout the Pacific, as well as diverse and important collections of manuscripts, photographs, artwork, oral histories, sound recordings, and maps.
Appointment required to access library & archives in-person. Digital collections include Hawaiʻi ALIVE, Government and Governance: A Digital Initiative, Maps of Henry E.P. Kekahuna, and Ethnology Database.
The Office of Hawaiian Affairs' (OHA's) Papakilo Database, is the ongoing development of a cutting edge and comprehensive "Database of Databases" consisting of varied collections of data pertaining to historically and culturally significant places, events, and documents in Hawai`i's history.
This online repository of data will greatly increase OHA's ability to preserve and perpetuate cultural and historical information and practices, thus providing an invaluable resource to educate other regulatory agencies, OHA's Native Hawaiian beneficiaries, and the general public. NOTE: Free registration required to access the database.
Search by category or by specific collection
Results are organized by collection (look at tabs at top)
ScholarSpace is an open-access, digital institutional repository for the University of Hawaii at Manoa community. ScholarSpace stores the intellectual works and unique collections of the UHM academic community .
eVols is an open-access, digital institutional repository for the University of Hawaii community and researchers around the world. eVols provides a home for material which the Library or the University digitizes as part of grant projects and digital library program initiatives.
Search the "Subject" list for "Hawaii" to find Hawaii-related materials
Since March 2009, Sinclair Library has been digitizing many of its older videos, focusing on those in the Hawaiian and Pacific collections. Videos present various aspects of Hawaiian language and culture.
This edition is a revision of the 1989 edition, adding over 1,000 new entries from twenty-six Hawaiian legend anthologies. Although every attempt was made to keep the index accurate, the user is advised that there have been many reprints and versions of some of the legend anthologies, and, therefore, page numbers may be different.