Research Guides: Conducting Genealogy Research in Hawaiʻi: Other Resources

City Directories

Husted's Directory of Honolulu and the Hawaiian Territory
This directory gives the names, occupations, places of business and residences of the adult population of the Hawaiian Islands. It is also a complete classified business register of all of the islands, with other useful information, together with a street guide of Honolulu.
more...less...
City Directories list names, professions, addresses of individuals, as well as many business ads. The city directories are excellent for genealogy research because you can trace the home address and profession of your family members beginning in the late 19th century, through the 20th and 21st centuries.
City directories were first published in 1869 and produced intermittently in the 1870's, 1880's. and 1890's. From 1900 onward, city directories were produced annually until 1942, where it was suspended between the years 1942-1947. Publication of the city directories resumed in 1947 and have been published continuously ever since.

Thrum's Hawaiian Annual

Thrum's Hawaiian Annual
Annual almanac, published between 1875-1974. Includes detailed annual listings of government officials, and officers of business and charitable associations, and civic and social clubs. Also includes editors of publications and church leaders. Name index for 1875-1932 and general index for 1875-1932 kept with print copies.

Published Oral Histories

Published oral histories are a great resource for genealogy research because 1) the information provided comes directly from "the horse's mouth" and 2) often includes information not found in other historical data & statistical sources.

University of Hawaiʻi Center for Oral History
Index to oral histories by names, topics. Oral histories were recorded for specific individuals, ethnic groups, communities, and significant events. Some oral histories are available online.
Ulukau
Provides a small number of published oral histories. Search for "oral histories."

Kūʻē Petitions

Kūʻē Petitions
The Kū'ē Petitions, also known as the Anti-Annexation Petitions, were a collection of signatures of Hawaiian men and women who were opposed to the Annexation of Hawaiʻi to the United States of America. The signatures were collected island by island by three hui: the Hui Aloha ʻĀina for Women, the Hui Aloha ʻĀina for Men, and the Hui Kālaiʻāina. The original petitions are located at the United State Archives. The Kū'ē petitions are organized by island and district, then by men and women.