Research Guides: Resources Relating to Hawaiian Knowledge: Books

Print Resources

OneSearch Manoa
Web-scale discovery tool for finding millions of articles, books, media and more using a single search. Includes the UH Voyager Catalog plus a huge index of academic journals on most topics. Also includes conference papers, maps, government documents, music scores, DVDs, archives & manuscripts, and more.

**To get PRINT materials, be sure to filter your results to show only those "Available in the Library"

Digital Resources

Select a tab above to learn more about a specific digital collection and its resources. Note that some resources are only accessible to University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa users.

Ulukau
The purpose of Ulukau, the Hawaiian Electronic Library, is to make available resources for the use, teaching, and revitalization of the Hawaiian language and for a broader and deeper understanding of Hawaiʻi. Ulukau provides full-text access to a number of seminal texts related to Hawaiian language, culture, and history.

Selected titles available on Ulukau:

Ke Aupuni Mōʻī by Samuel M. Kamakau (2001)
Fornander Collection of Hawaiian Antiquities and Folk-lore, Vol. 4, Vol. 5, Vol. 6 by Abraham Fornander (1916-1921)
The Polynesian Family System in Ka-ʻu by Handy and Pukui

ebrary
ebrary provides online access to more than 100,000 books in business & economics; career & general education; computers, engineering & applied sciences; humanities; science, medicine, & allied health; and social & behavioral sciences.

Selected titles available on ebrary:

ʻIke Ulana Lau Hala by Keawe, Macdowell, and Dewhurst (2014)
Value of Hawaiʻi 2: Ancestral Roots, Oceanic Visions by Yamashiro and Goodyear-Kaopua (2014)
Who Owns the Crown Lands of Hawaiʻi? by Jon Van Dyke (2008)

EBL (Ebook Library)
Search or browse the EBL eBooks available through UHM Library. Includes a search full text option.

Selected titles available on EBL:

Decolonizing Methodologies: Research and Indigenous Peoples by Linda Tuhiwai Smith (2012)
Rethinking the Native Hawaiian Past by T. Kanalu Young (2014)
Voices of Fire: Reweaving the Literary Lei of Pele and Hiʻiaka by Kuʻualoha Hoʻomanawanui (2014)

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Search and view the full text of eBooks purchased by the University of Hawaii at Manoa Library, as well as those included in the eBook Public Library Collection.

Selected titles available on eBook Collection:

Food and Power in Hawaiʻi: Visions of Food Democracy by Kimura and Suryanata (2016)
Shaping History: The Role of Newspapers in Hawaiʻi by Helen Chapin (1996)
From a Native Daughter: Colonialism and Sovereignty in Hawaiʻi by Haunani-Kay Trask (1999)

Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, movies & music, as well as 279 billion archived web pages.

Selected titles available on Internet Archive:

Hawaiian Antiquities (Moʻolelo Hawaiʻi) by Davida Malo (1903)
The Legends and Myths of Hawaiʻi by King David Kalākaua (1888)
An Account of the Polynesian Race by Abraham Fornander (1878)