Research Guides: Journalism Reporting: Newspapers

Honolulu Star Advertiser (and Honolulu Advertiser and Honolulu Star Bulletin)

Honolulu Star Advertiser
(Published June 2010 to present when the Star Bulletin and the Honolulu Advertiser merged)

Digital Web Version: requires a personal subscription
Print Edition: Newspaper Stacks - Hamilton, Hawaiian and Sinclair
Microform: Hamilton Library has from June 10, 2010 to the present in the Microform Reading Room, First Floor (Microfilm S53364 )
Full-text Electronic Articles: For articles from June 2010 to 1 day before current issue, use the Honolulu Star Advertiser Index Licensed for UHM use only

To Find Citations
* For citations to articles published from June 2010 to the present (excluding the last two months), use the Hawaii Newspaper Index
* For full-text articles published from June 2010 to 1 day before current issue, use the Honolulu Star Advertiser Index Licensed for UHM use only

Honolulu Advertiser
(Published 1882 - June 2010 when it merged to became the Star Advertiser)

Microform: The Hamilton Library has 1882 - 1910 in the Microform Reading Room, First Floor (Microfilm S90014 and V90001)
Full-text Electronic Articles: For full-text articles published from 1999 to 2010, use the Honolulu Advertiser Licensed for UHM use only

To Find Citations:
* For citations to articles published from 1929 through 1994, use the Index to the Honolulu Advertiser and the Honolulu Star Bulletin 1929-1994, a print
resource in the Hamilton Library Reference Area (call number AI221.H6 I5 - Reference Stacks or Hawaii-Pacific Collection on the 5th floor). Ulukau
also offers an index to the Honolulu Advertiser and Honolulu Star-Bulletin from 1929 to 1969.
* For citations to articles published from 1989 to 2010, use the Hawaii Newspaper Index
* For full-text articles published from 1999 to 2010, use the Honolulu Advertiser Licensed for UHM use only

Honolulu Star Bulletin
(Published 1893 - June 2010 when it merged to became the Star Advertiser)

Microform: Hamilton Library has from 1893 to the present in the Microform Reading Room, First Floor (Microfilm S90015, S91296, V90002, and V91258).
Full-text Electronic Articles: For full-text articles published from 1996 to 2010, use the Honolulu Star Bulletin Licensed for UHM use only

To Find Citations:
* For citations to articles published from 1929 through 1994, use the Index to the Honolulu Advertiser and the Honolulu Star Bulletin 1929-1994, a print
resource in the Hamilton Library Reference Area (call number AI221.H6 I5 - Reference Stacks and Hawaii-Pacific Collection on the 5th floor). Ulukau
also offers an index to the Honolulu Advertiser and Honolulu Star-Bulletin from 1929 to 1969.
* For citations to articles from 1989 to 2010, use the Hawaii Newspaper Index
* For full-text articles published from 1996 to 2010, use the H onolulu Star Bulletin Licensed for UHM use only

National & International Newspapers

Nexis Uni Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Newspaper Source Plus Includes more than 700 full-text newspapers, providing nearly than 31 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 677,000 television and radio news transcripts. A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now
New York Times NOTE: You must be a UH Manoa student, faculty or staff member to use this resource. You will need to create a free personal account via the link above to access the New York Times. Once you have created an account via the above link, you can access the New York Times by logging in directly from NYTimes.com. Your account will be good for one year; once it expires, you may renew your personal account via the above link.

Alternative Newspapers

Alt-PressWatch Alt-PressWatch is a full text database comprised of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Current coverage includes approximately 100 titles going back to 1995. NOTE: Only 2 users allowed at one time. If you cannot login, try again later. NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.
Ethnic NewsWatch Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text general reference database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press -- English and Spanish language. The titles in Ethnic NewsWatch represent the diversity of the American population in ways that are generally not seen in the mainstream media. NOTE: Only 2 users allowed at one time. If you cannot login, try again later. NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.

News Sources on the Web

AllYouCanRead.com
Database of magazines and newspapers on the Internet from all over the world

DocumentCloud
Search for public documents and investigative news stories

Newseum
Displays the front pages of International and National newspapers in their original, unedited form

Newspaper Map
Click on a newspaper in any country and translate it into multiple languages

World Newspapers and Magazine
World newspapers, magazines, and news sites in English, sorted by country and region