Research Guides: Journalism Reporting Research Guide: Data & Statistics

Library Databases

Sage Data, powered by Data Planet Formerly Data-Planet Statistical Datasets, search 52 billion data points in over 6.2 billion datasets sourced from over 70 public and private data providers. Allows users to manipulate datasets, compare multiple indicators and multiple sources, chart trends over time, and spatially represent data without requiring additional software programs. Includes the EASI Analytics Market Planner module, as well as data from Zillow, Factset Corporate Fundamentals, US Stock Market Prices, and selected international market indices and exchanges.

GlobalStat GlobalStat’s website provides users with a comprehensive collection of data in which indicators are disaggregated as far as possible. Whenever possible, country level data is presented for 193 UN countries and for the longest period available, starting in 1960. Apart from statistical data, data on global trends is collected to highlight potential future paths. GlobalStat indicators are grouped in 12 thematic and three horizontal areas. Each thematic area is divided into sub-themes that include a number of statistical data series.
Official Statistics on the Web OFFSTATS, run by the University of Auckland Library, has links to resources that provide general and country-specific statistical information. The listed web pages mainly come from statistical offices, central banks, and government departments which contain social, economic, and general data.

ProQuest Statistical Insight Easy access to statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international and intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities. Use these extensive indexes and abstracts to identify statistics available fulltext in the library's SRI Microfiche Collection (microfiche S50003) or other print and online sources. NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.
Social Explorer Social Explorer provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change.

New York Times Mapping America: Every City, Every Block Mapping tool for race/ethnicity, income, education, housing and families.

Data.gov part of the open government initiative, it allows the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government

Statistical Abstract of the United States 1878-2012 (also called the National Data Book)

FBI Uniform Crime Reports

NOAA's National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI)

United States Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Historical Tables - (find out how many times the debt ceiling has been raised (table 7.3), etc.)

Hawaii State Data Center (HSDC) includes the State of Hawaii Data Book, Hawaii Census Data, and Economic Forecasts

SimplyAnalytics
SimplyAnalytics, Inc. (formerly Geographic Research, Inc.) is a leading provider of analytics, data visualization, spatial analysis, and GIS software to educational institutions, non-profit organizations, businesses and government agencies.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.
WorldPublicOpinion.org
WorldPublicOpinion.org is an international collaborative project whose aim is to give voice to public opinion around the world on international issues. As the world becomes increasingly integrated, problems have become increasingly global, pointing to a greater need for understanding between nations and for elucidating global norms. With the growth of democracy in the world, public opinion has come to play a greater role in the foreign policy process. WorldPublicOpinion.org seeks to reveal the values and views of publics in specific nations around the world as well as global patterns of world public opinion.