Services for Faculty & Instructors

What are videos? 

Videos are a multimedia format that combines visual images and sound to convey information, tell a story, or provide entertainment. Videos are typically recorded, stored, and played back on electronic devices like cameras, smartphones, computers, or televisions.

How are other universities using them?

University of Michigan School of Public Health integrates documentaries and professionally produced videos in public health courses to frame real-world challenges, provide lived-experience perspectives, and convey complex systems or historical developments. For example, a class on U.S. healthcare delivery might feature excerpts from PBS or HBO documentaries alongside lectures, interviews, and instructional modules.

At Austin Peay State University (APSU), the Department of Distance Education curates documentary videos and news specials to compliment online and hybrid courses, emphasizing best practices such as targeting learning objectives and encouraging active engagement with film content. Instructors often embed these films within assignments, quizzes, or online discussion forums for topics in history, media, and the social sciences.

Supportive peer-reviewed articles:

Video Improves Learning in Higher Education: A Systematic Review by Michael Noetel, Shantell Griffith, Oscar Delaney, Taren Sanders, Philip Parker, Borja del Pozo Cruz, and Chris Lonsdale is a comprehensive analysis of 105 studies exploring the impact of video on student learning. The review, which focused on over 7,700 college students, found that adding videos to traditional teaching methods significantly improved learning outcomes. Overall, the research shows that video is a valuable educational tool that can make college learning more effective and engaging.

Effective Educational Videos: Principles and Guidelines for Maximizing Student Learning from Video Content by Cynthia J. Brame’s explains how to make educational videos that help students learn better. She shares three main tips: keep videos clear and simple, make them interesting, and include ways for students to stay active and involved. The advice is based on research with college students and is meant to help them learn more effectively from videos.

Here are some examples at UHM Library:  

RBG by Julie Cohen 

Hawaiian Soul by ʻĀina  Paikai

Database(s) available at UHM Library:

• Ethnographic Video Online: Volume III, Indigenous Voices

  Ethnographic Video Online is a comprehensive online resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. The collections contain over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork. It's also a resource for a study of the discipline itself: By placing examples of traditional ethnographic methodologies alongside indigenous-made films representing previously overlooked perspectives, scholars, teachers and students of anthropology can gain a sense of the discipline's history and of its future direction.
• Academic Video Online (AVON)

  Academic Video Online from Alexander Street Press delivers more than 82,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
• Sage Video

  SAGE Video combines originally commissioned and produced material with licensed video to provide a complete disciplinary resource for students, faculty, and researchers. These streaming collections, developed in partnership with leading academics, societies and practitioners, deliver cutting-edge pedagogical and research-oriented video within the social sciences.
• Kanopy Streaming Video

  Kanopy is a "Netflix-like" video platform for college campuses. UH-Manoa licenses select videos from the platform for course reserves. Covering many topics, featured producers in Kanopy's collection include Criterion Collection, PBS, HBO, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, BBC, New Day Films.

What is a board game? 

Board games are tabletop games played on a physical surface or board, with pieces or counters that players move or position according to a set of rules.

How are other universities using them?

At University of Tennessee, Knoxville (UTK) in Industrial and Information Engineering 322, Professor James Ostrowski uses the board game Ticket to Ride to teach concepts in operations research, a field focused on decision-making and analytical methods. In this course, students use the game to practice optimizing routes and making data-driven decisions, bringing theory to life in a hands-on, engaging way. This integration received a Creative Teaching Grant, supporting innovation in course design.

Through its Center for Game Science, the University of Washington has developed educational games like FoldIt (protein folding) and supports the integration of board and puzzle games like Mastermind into STEM instruction for conceptual understanding and research skills.

Supportive peer-reviewed articles: 

Use of board games in higher education literature review by Smith and Golding talks about how board games can help college students learn better. Playing board games can improve important skills like math thinking, planning, and solving problems. The authors say that using board games in classes can be a fun and useful way to help students think and communicate more clearly.

Let's bring games into university classrooms: Specifically adapted games could greatly enhance teaching in higher education by Ľubomír Tomáška says that using board games in college classes can help students learn better and enjoy their studies more. It explains that games can make learning fun and help students work together and remember information. The author encourages teachers to try using games in their lessons because they are a helpful and easy way to improve education.

Here are some examples at UHM Library:  

Coyote & Crow 

Ticket to Ride

Database(s) available at UHM Library: 

Games at Hamilton Library

What is a podcast? 

A podcast is a digital audio or video program, similar to a radio show, that's available on demand over the internet.

How are other universities using them?

Stanford uses podcasts primarily through its Graduate School of Education’s "School’s In" podcast, hosted by Dean Dan Schwartz and Senior Lecturer Denise Pope. This award-winning series shares the latest education research and insights, tackling topics like post-pandemic learning, AI in classrooms, youth mental health, and educational equity to help educators, parents, and the Stanford community stay informed and engaged. The podcast also experiments with new formats like video episodes and offers practical tips, aiming to translate cutting-edge academic research into accessible knowledge for a wide audience.

Stanford, Harvard, McGill, and the University of Manchester are using podcasts to share faculty research, campus life, and big ideas with global audiences. These universities publish shows that feature expert hosts, student voices, and alumni stories, helping to make education and campus culture more accessible and engaging. Podcasts offer a flexible way for students, faculty, and alumni to connect, learn, and stay informed at their own pace.

Supportive peer-reviewed articles: 

Podcasts: Accessing, Choosing, Creating, and Disseminating Content by James Ahn, Charles P. Inboriboon, and Michael C. Bond says podcasts are a great way for college students to learn because they can listen anytime and anywhere. It encourages teachers to add podcasts to their classes and use them to explain ideas better. Podcasts are free, easy to use, and help students learn at their own speed.

Engaging Students Through Educational Podcasting: Three Stories of Implementation by Erin D. Besser, Lauren E. Blackwell, Matthew  Saenz shows that using podcasts in college and university classes helps students learn better by improving their listening, reading, and writing skills. It shares real examples of how teachers use podcasts to make lessons more interesting and help students think critically. Overall, the article encourages more teachers to use podcasts because they keep students engaged and support different learning styles.

Here are some examples at UHM Library: 

Podcast Discussion of "Crafting AI Terms of Use for Higher Education by Soroush Sabbaghan, Enisha Bhangoo, Enisha, and Emmanuel Amaechi

WBTN Podcast: The importance of representative samples and why it matters in wildlife work by Cinthia Eichhorn, Cinthia Harris, Matthew Butler,  David Stewart, and Cinthia Eichhorn

Database(s) available at UHM Library: 

Access content in DataCite.org

What is ScholarSpace?     

What is loanable technology? 

Loanable technology refers to a collection of electronic devices and equipment that libraries and other institutions, like universities, make available for short-term borrowing by their patrons.

How are other universities using it?

DePaul University offers an extensive loanable technology program through its libraries and the College of Computing and Digital Media (CDM). Students, faculty, and staff can borrow a range of equipment including graphing calculators, DVD drives, Canon DSLR cameras, camcorders, tripods, headphones, webcams, gaming consoles, and Victrola portable turntables, with different devices available at the Richardson and Loop libraries. The CDM also provides a Laptop Loaner Program, which supplies MacBook Pro and Windows laptops, as well as WacomOne tablets, primarily to students in need for the duration of an academic quarter.

University of Washington’s Student Technology Loan Program (STLP) offers a free service to students providing equitable access to essential technology. Through STLP, students can borrow laptops, tablets, calculators, and other devices needed for their studies, helping bridge the digital divide for those without reliable access to personal technology. This program aims to support academic success by ensuring students have the necessary tools for their coursework and research.

Supportive peer-reviewed articles: 

Technology equipment lending in an academic library: Understanding patron usage and proficiency through quantitative assessment by Kelsey Sheaffer and Chris Vinson explores how an academic library loans technology equipment like laptops and tablets to its patrons. It uses quantitative methods to analyze who borrows the equipment and how proficient they are with it. The study focuses on understanding patron usage patterns through data assessment.

Beyond "Classroom" Technology: The Equipment Circulation Program at Rasmuson Library, University of Alaska Fairbanks by Karen Jensen describes how the library provides patrons with access to a broad range of equipment beyond typical classroom technology. This equipment can be checked out through the main Circulation Desk for use outside the library, with checkout periods of three days or longer. The program also offers substantial user support throughout weekdays, evenings, and weekends, making it unique among academic libraries.

Here are some examples at UHM Library: 

Panasonic G7 - D-SLR Camera, Cardioid Microphone, Movo VXR10, External, Lavalier Microphone (pair) for iPhone, plus receiver, lightning and USB-C, Trimmer, Precision Paper, Camcorder, Sony HXR-NX70N,  Zoom Portable Recorder, H6 All Black with 6-Input, 6-Tracks,  Tripod, medium-sized, from various lighting kits, Tripod, medium, Neewer, GoPro HERO8 Black 4K Waterproof Action Camera, Calculator, TI-30X, Calculator, TI-89, Computer, Macbook, 13" (2015), Computer: Thinkpad E14 laptop,  Computer, Inspiron 5100

Database(s) available at UHM Library: 

Loanable Technology Devices at Hamilton Library

What are newspapers?

A newspaper is a publication that is periodically published (daily or weekly) that presents news and informative articles

What is a graphic novel? 

A graphic novel is a book-length work of sequential art that uses a combination of text and images to tell a complete story, often with complex narratives and developed characters

How are other universities using them?

Columbia University uses graphic novels and comics in classes to explore a variety of themes, such as heroes and antiheroes, race and ethnicity, gender and sexuality, perceptions of war, and society in crisis. This approach allows instructors to illustrate complex academic themes through sequential art, offering alternative entry points for students to engage with material.

Florida State University offers surveys on graphic novels, including manga, that focus on their use for young adult and adult readers. The course investigates their application in library science, collection development, and programming, as well as their use in classrooms to discuss key social, political, and cultural themes.

Supportive peer-reviewed articles: 

Graphic novels in Curriculum and Instruction Collections by Elizabeth M. Downey discusses how graphic novels are increasingly being embraced in education for their ability to engage reluctant readers, support visual learners, and improve comprehension and interpretation of complex themes and literary devices. As graphic novels gain traction in classrooms, the article argues that students in teacher education programs should have ready access to them for professional preparation, not just recreational use. Integrating graphic novels into curriculum and instruction collections in academic libraries helps meet the evolving research and training needs of future educators and aligns with broader educational goals.

Manga, graphic novels, and comics in Higher Education? by Hendrik van der Sluis explores how these visual media are being integrated into university courses to diversify teaching methods and engage students. Manga, graphic novels, and comics help explain complex topics, foster creativity, and develop important skills such as critical thinking and cultural understanding. Their use in higher education also makes learning more inclusive and broadens students’ perspectives beyond traditional texts.

Here are some examples at UHM Library: 

Capital & Ideology: A Graphic Novel Adaptation: Based on the Book by Thomas Piketty, the Bestselling Author of Capital in the 21st Century and Capital and Ideology by Thomas Piketty, Claire Alet, and Benjamin Adam

Build, Baby, Build: The Science and Ethics of Housing Regulation by Bryan Caplan

Bitch Planet by Kelly Sue DeConnick, Valentine De Landro, and Robert Wilson IV   

Kindred by  Octavia E. Butler

More Graphic Novels available at UHM Library: 

Graphic Novels List

Database(s) available at UHM Library: 

• OneSearch Manoa

 Web-scale discovery tool for finding millions of articles, books, media and more using a single search. Includes the UH Voyager Catalog plus a huge index of academic journals on most topics. Also includes conference papers, maps, government documents, music scores, DVDs, archives & manuscripts, and more.

• Underground and Independent Comics

Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels is the first-ever scholarly online collection for researchers and students of adult comic books and graphic novels. This multi-part resource covers the full spectrum of this visual art form, from pre-comics code era works to modern sequential releases from artists the world over. Users can experience the full range of this offbeat art form by exploring 200,000 pages of original material alongside interviews, commentary, criticism, and other supporting materials.

What is an article? 
Peer-reviewed articles, also known as scholarly or refereed articles, are research papers that have been evaluated by experts in the same field before publication. This process ensures the quality, validity, and originality of the research.

How are other universities using them?

New York University (NYU) Rory Meyers College of Nursing implemented a Peer Review of Teaching (PRT) pilot to incorporate evidence-based teaching methods informed by peer-reviewed research. This effort included developing inclusive syllabi and course reviews, designing observation tools, reflecting on evidence-based strategies, and creating a community focused on teaching improvement grounded in scholarly standards.

The Ohio State University integrates peer-reviewed research and structured peer review activities into both teaching practices and student learning. Faculty use peer review tools and rubrics to enhance course design and instructional effectiveness, while students engage in peer feedback through writing assignments and CarmenCanvas-based reviews. These evidence-based practices foster critical thinking, collaboration, and continuous improvement in teaching and learning.

Supportive peer-reviewed articles: 

Teaching Beginning College Students with Adapted Published Research Reports by William R. Klemm introduces a way to help freshmen understand academic research. It uses simplified versions of real studies so students can better follow the ideas and methods. This helps build their confidence, thinking skills, and interest in doing research.

The Benefits of Peer Review and a Multisemester Capstone Writing Series on Inquiry and Analysis Skills in an Undergraduate Thesis by Weaver, K. F., Morales, V., Nelson, M., Weaver, P. F., Toledo, A., and Godde, K. shows that a four-course, writing-intensive capstone series with peer review improves undergraduate biology students’ inquiry, critical thinking, and writing skills. The study found significant gains in science literacy and students’ ability to analyze and communicate research effectively. It also highlights that peer review reduces faculty workload while enhancing student learning across diverse backgrounds and research labs.

Here are some examples at UHM Library: 

A New Polar Ring Galaxy Discovered in the COSMOS Field by Minoru Nishimura, Kazuya Matsubayashi, Takashi Murayama, and Yoshiaki Taniguchi

Shakespeare and the New Palace of Westminster (1834–1927) by Callan Davies

Database(s) available at UHM Library: 

• OneSearch Manoa

  Web-scale discovery tool for finding millions of articles, books, media and more using a single search. Includes the UH Voyager Catalog plus a huge index of academic journals on most topics. Also includes conference papers, maps, government documents, music scores, DVDs, archives & manuscripts, and more.
• MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography

  NOTE: MLA International Bibliography is only available via EBSCOhost beginning Jan. 1, 2019.
  Subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.6 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.
• Web of Science

  Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences (Science Citation Index Expanded) as well as both the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Approximately 70% of the records have author abstracts. Online coverage from 1900 to present.
• JSTOR

  The Library has purchased access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-XV collections, Life Sciences collection, and Business IV. These collections provide full-text journal backfiles in various disciplines. Selected journals in the following subject areas are available: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics.
• ScienceDirect

  ScienceDirect is home to journals published by Elsevier. UH Manoa subscribes to several hundred ScienceDirect journals in agriculture, medicine, physics, astronomy, earth sciences and business.

What are maps and aerial photographs? 

Maps and aerial photographs are both tools for representing the Earth's surface, but they differ in their approach.Maps are symbolic, generalized representations, while aerial photographs are actual images of the Earth's surface taken from the air.

How are other universities using them?

The University of Wisconsin–Madison created a detailed digital map of its 900-acre campus by combining many aerial photos into one accurate, easy-to-use image. This map removes distortions to allow precise measurements and helps students and staff with planning and navigation. The project also enhanced students’ skills by involving them in modern mapping techniques.

Ohio State University developed a web-based teaching aid titled "A Global View of the Earth" to help teachers use satellite imagery (NASA's Landsat-7 images) in classrooms ranging from grades 5-8. This kit supports lesson plans in environmental topics such as agriculture, geology, urban planning, space science, and cartography. This enhances understanding by providing actual satellite images as a learning resource, akin to a textbook.

Supportive peer-reviewed articles: 

Aerial Photography: A Rapidly Evolving Tool for Ecological Management by Jessica L. Morgan, Sarah E. Gergel, and Nicholas C. Coops explains that aerial photographs provide detailed, high-resolution spatial and historical data crucial for mapping and managing small ecosystems and landscape features. They offer a cost-effective method for various applications including forest inventories, disturbance mapping, productivity estimates, and wildlife management, supporting informed ecological management decisions. The authors emphasize the value of aerial photography for its fine-scale detail and longest-available continuous record of landscape change, dating back to the 1930s, making it indispensable for ecological research and management.

"Learning Geomorphology Using Aerial Photography in a Web-facilitated Class by R. Evan Palmer explores how online aerial photography labs using tools like Google Earth can effectively teach students to identify and interpret landforms in introductory geography courses at Arizona State University. The study highlights that well-designed scaffolding, including text, diagrams, videos, and interactive exercises, supports student learning across diverse backgrounds, and that prior experience with Google Earth is generally not a barrier to success. Palmer also emphasizes that such web-based labs, combined with tailored feedback tools, can make learning engaging and accessible, enhancing spatial thinking and content knowledge, especially for future educators in physical geography.

Here are some examples at UHM Library: 

Island of Maui, Territory of Hawaii

Oʻahu Aerial Photos 1940s

Database(s) available at UHM Library: 

Interactive Maps/GIS

Maps

What are primary sources? 

Primary sources are original materials that provide firsthand accounts or direct evidence concerning a topic or event.

How are other universities using them?

At University of Arizona, faculty and librarians co-design writing-intensive courses across disciplines (English, History, Gender Studies) that center on critical reading, analysis, and writing about diverse primary sources, both physical and digital. Students visit archives physically or virtually, working hands-on with materials, fostering diverse perspectives despite limitations in source diversity.

At University of Pittsburgh, librarians collaborate with humanities instructors to create inquiry-based learning where students encounter primary sources for discovery and analysis, balancing facilitated and self-motivated exploration. Courses emphasize critical thinking, student-centered research skills, and interdisciplinary topics.

Supportive peer-reviewed articles: 

Advancements in Primary Source Pedagogy: Catalysts for Collaboration, Context, and Change by Clare Withers, Carrie Donovan, Diana Dill, Jeanann Haas, and Berenika Webster explores how teaching with primary sources fosters collaboration between librarians, faculty, and students. The authors emphasize that using these sources enhances critical thinking by encouraging students to analyze historical context and engage deeply with materials. The article also highlights how innovative teaching strategies are transforming traditional roles in education and promoting meaningful academic change.

Bridging the Gap: Competencies for Teaching with Primary Sources by Daines, J. Gordon; Kopp, Maggie Gallup; and Skeem, Dainan M. encourages professors to use primary sources to promote critical thinking and deeper student engagement. The authors outline key teaching competencies—like content knowledge, instructional design, and collaboration with archivists—that make using these materials more effective. By integrating primary sources into the classroom, professors can create richer, inquiry-based learning experiences that connect students directly with historical evidence.

Here are some examples at UHM Library:

Donald Angus collection of botanical prints, 1696-1840 by Donald Angus

The Orchidaceae of Mexico & Guatemala by James Bateman, Sarah Anne Drake, Maxim Gauci, and Augusta Innes Withers

Collections available at UHM Library: 

What is Social Explorer? 

Social Explorer is an online platform that provides access to a wealth of demographic and socioeconomic data, along with tools for visualization and analysis. It allows users to explore and visualize a variety of data in geographical and table formats, including historical census data, American Community Survey data, and other demographic information

How are other universities using it?

Utah State University students and faculty use Social Explorer, provided by the USU Libraries, to work with U.S. Census and other datasets for class assignments, research, and projects. Faculty often include Social Explorer in coursework for sociology, geography, and public health, helping students explore real-world data and build visual presentations. Students can create accounts with their USU email to save their work and access Social Explorer both on and off campus.

University of California, Santa Cruz offers full campus access to Social Explorer, allowing students to use interactive maps and demographic data in a variety of courses. Professors assign projects with Social Explorer to help students analyze trends, such as changes in population, race, or income, and make clear, data-driven arguments. Students can sign up for accounts through UCSC for saving and sharing their map-based projects and research presentations. 

Here are some helpful user guides:

Guides and Videos

Database(s) available at UHM Library: 

• Social Explorer
  Social Explorer provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change. 

What is the GIS Lab? 

The GIS Lab (Geographic Information System) at the University of Hawaii at Manoa (UH Manoa) is part of the Maps, Aerial Photographs, and GIS (MAGIS) collection within the university library. It provides resources and support for students, faculty, and staff using Geographic Information Systems (GIS) for research and coursework. The lab offers specialized software, computers, and training workshops.

How are other universities using it?

College of the Atlantic (COA) established its GIS Lab in 1988 as the first GIS lab at a small college, serving the entire academic program through mapping, analysis, and planning. The lab emphasizes learning by doing, with students engaging in community and research projects that develop skills for internships and jobs in spatial thinking. In recognition of its impact, the COA GIS Lab received the prestigious Esri Special Achievement in GIS Award in 2008.

Carleton College GIS Lab supports students by helping them acquire GIS data, perform geospatial analysis, present maps, and collect field data using GPS/GNSS technology. The lab also provides consultation on database design and GIS methods, maintains campus and local GIS data, and supplies software like ArcGIS Pro, StoryMaps, and QGIS. Additionally, students can check out equipment such as Trimble GPS receivers to assist with their projects and research.

Supportive peer-reviewed articles: 

Changing the Face of GIS Education with Communities of Practice by Tate, Nicholas J., and Jarvis, Claire H. explores how GIS education in colleges and universities can be improved through communities of practice. These communities connect students, educators, and professionals in collaborative, real-world learning experiences that go beyond traditional classroom teaching. The authors argue that this approach helps students gain practical skills, build professional networks, and become more engaged GIS practitioners.

Model of Higher GIS Education by Jakab, Imrich; Ševčík, Michal; and Grežo, Henrich presents a modern approach to teaching GIS in universities, especially for environmental science students. The authors emphasize using real-world problems, inquiry-based learning, and hands-on experience with GIS tools in lab settings to improve student engagement and skills. They highlight the importance of combining GIS software, data analysis, and collaborative learning to better prepare students for professional practice.

Here is an example at UHM Library: 

GIS Lab at UHM

To learn more about GIS, please contact Mahany Lindquist at mahanya@hawaii.edu

What is Sage Research Methods? 

Sage Research Methods is a comprehensive online tool and platform from SAGE Publications designed to support researchers, students, and faculty in all aspects of the research process. It provides access to a vast collection of resources, including books, journal articles, videos, case studies, and datasets, covering a wide range of research methods across various disciplines.

How are other universities using it?

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill uses Sage Research Methods as a comprehensive tool to support students and faculty in learning and applying both qualitative and quantitative research techniques. It provides access to over 1,000 books, case studies, instructional videos, and datasets that help users develop research projects, analyze data hands-on, and understand how real research is conducted. This resource is integrated into courses and research activities, enabling practical learning and facilitating research design and analysis across multiple disciplines.

The University of North Carolina Wilmington (UNCW) provides access to Sage Research Methods through its library as a key resource for students and faculty to learn about social science research methods. The platform offers over 1000 books, tutorials, case studies, and teaching datasets that guide users step-by-step through the entire research process, helping them develop practical research skills with real examples and hands-on practice. This resource supports learning at all levels by making complex methods accessible and fostering confidence in conducting research projects.

Here are some helpful user guides: 

SAGE Research Methods: Home

Database(s) available at UHM Library:

• Sage Research Methods

SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1,000 books, reference works, journal articles, case studies, datasets and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher 

What is a Zotero? 

Zotero is a free, open-source citation management tool that helps researchers collect, organize, annotate, cite, and share research efficiently. It's supported by a non-profit organization dedicated to creating software and services for researchers and cultural heritage institutions.

How are other universities using it?

Harvard University promotes Zotero as a free, open-source citation management tool that helps students and researchers save, organize, and format references efficiently, especially for large projects like senior theses. Harvard encourages creating a Zotero account with a Harvard email to sync libraries in the cloud, collaborate with peers, and store files securely. Additionally, Harvard offers guides, training sessions, and recommends starting with ZoteroBib for citation generation before advancing to the full Zotero software for comprehensive research management.

Boston College encourages students to use Zotero for managing citations, creating bibliographies, and organizing research materials. The university's libraries provide tutorials and support to help students install and use Zotero effectively across various disciplines. Zotero is integrated into academic work to improve research efficiency and citation accuracy.

Supportive peer-reviewed articles: 

Zotero: A bibliographic assistant to researcher by Mueen Ahmed K. K. and Bandar E. Al Dhubaib discusses how Zotero helps researchers collect, organize, and cite sources effectively. The article highlights its usefulness in academic settings, especially for improving students' research and collaboration skills. It supports using Zotero in the classroom to make learning and managing information easier for both students and teachers.

The Hamilton Library offers a Zotero Basics digital badge for students, faculty, and staff to demonstrate that they have a foundational understanding of Zotero, a bibliographic management program. Anyone with a valid UH ID anywhere in the UH system is eligible.

Based on the Canvas Credentials (formerly Badgr) system, the Zotero badge allows recipients to forward the credentials to anyone, including their teachers and employers.

Teachers  are encouraged to integrate the badge into their courses.

The key skills that are included in the Zotero Basics badge are:

• Adding different kinds of references to the Zotero library, including books, peer-reviewed articles, and websites.
• Organizing references into collections.
• Creating notes for resources.
• Connecting references to a work processing document in either Microsoft Word or Google Docs 

Click here to access the tutorial.

Cliick here to the UHM Library's Zotero guide.

What is Data Management?
At the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa, research data management (RDM) includes all processes for handling research data throughout the research lifecycle, according to the University of Hawaii System. It involves more than just backing up files. It also involves systematic planning and decision-making to ensure data is organized, documented, accessible, reusable, and secure.

How are other universities using it?

The University of California uses the DMPTool, a free, open-source online application developed by the California Digital Library, to help researchers create data management plans that meet funder requirements. This tool offers step-by-step guidance, funder-specific templates, and institutional customization to support researchers across disciplines in complying with data management policies. It also facilitates collaboration and connects researchers to local resources, promoting good data stewardship and open science practices.

The University of Illinois uses DMPTool to help researchers create data management plans (DMPs) tailored to specific funding agencies through a guided, step-by-step online wizard. Researchers can use their university credentials to access a customized version of the tool that includes links to best practices and allows them to request librarian reviews for their plans. This service supports compliance with funder requirements, improves research data stewardship, and promotes reproducibility and data security across the university's research community.

Supportive peer-reviewed articles: 

Teaching Research Data Management for Students by Cord Wiljes and Philipp Cimiano describes a university course designed to teach students essential skills in handling research data. The course uses practical, hands-on activities to help students learn about data organization, sharing, and ethical research practices. The authors emphasize that teaching research data management early in academic training improves research quality and supports open science

Introducing Undergraduates to Research Data Management by Geoffrey Timms describes a one-credit, asynchronous course designed to teach research data management (RDM) to undergraduate students, particularly in marine science. The course uses real-world examples to help students understand how to organize, document, and share research data responsibly. Timms shows that teaching RDM in college classes is both practical and beneficial for preparing students for future research.

Research Data Management: What Data?

What Are Tutorbots?
Tutorbots are AI-powered assistants customized for a specific course or subject. They can answer questions, explain concepts, quiz students, and provide examples based on your class materials.

What Can They Do?
Depending on the tools used to create them, tutorbots can:

• Give students 24/7 support outside of class

• Provide personalized explanations and practice exercises

• Offer interactive learning activities, such as flashcards, role-plays, or problem-solving scenarios

• Reinforce course content in your teaching style

How Can They Help Students?
Tutorbots extend learning beyond the classroom, giving students a safe, low-pressure space to ask questions, review lessons, and practice skills. They can adapt to individual needs, helping students grasp difficult concepts and build confidence.

If you’d like to create a custom tutorbot for your class, contact David J. Brier at daveb@hawaii.edu.

Examples:

AI tutoring outperforms in-class active learning: an RCT introducing a novel research-based design in an authentic educational (Article)
https://www.nature.com/articles/s41598-025-97652-6

Ethical Privacy Consideration in AI-Driven Language Learning (Article)
https://www.researchgate.net/publication/390513930_Ethical_and_Privacy_Considerations_in_AI-Driven_Language_Learning

Exploring the potential of ChatGPT for foreign language education at the university level (Article)
https://doaj.org/article/0d4be8821405481a92748b432b55c288

Educational AI Chatbots for Content and Language Integrated Learning (Article)
https://uhawaii-manoa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UHAWAII_MANOA/19ki38g/cdi_doaj_primary_oai_doaj_org_article_3efe342bfd8740e5b060df3cc6e6cd63

Full Open Access Policy

At the time a scholarly article has been peer reviewed, edited and is ready to submit to a publisher for copy editing, the Faculty member will provide an electronic version of the manuscript copy at no charge to the University of Hawai'i at Manoa Library.

Papers should be submitted as of the date of publication. To submit a paper under the policy, upload the author's final manuscript, post peer-review, via a web form (http://scholarspace.manoa.hawaii.edu/openaccess )

The articles will be made available to the public via ScholarSpace, the open access institutional repository at the University of Hawai'i at Manoa.

If a journal publisher refuses to publish an article because of this prior license, Faculty have a number of options.

Persuade the publisher that it should accept UHM's non-exclusive license in order to be able to publish the article.

If the publisher requires a temporary embargo.Scholarspace can comply. Seek a different publisher.

Consult the UHM Library or the Patent and Copyright Committee about taking steps to address the publisher's specific concerns.

Obtain a waiver for the article under the policy.

To obtain a waiver, fill out the web form (http://scholarspace.manoa.hawaii.edu/openacces)

Faculty are also encouraged to retain ownership of the copyright of published papers where possible.

Faculty may use an Author Addendum Ihttp://manoa.hawaii.edu/library /wp-content/uploads/openaccess/author-amendment.docx) to attach to the publishing agreement.