14) Links to the Past: The Work of Early Hawaiian Artisans (R)
Arbeit, Wendy S. Links to the Past: the Work of Early Hawaiian Artisans. Honolulu: University of Hawaiʻi Press, 2011. 329 p. ill., bib.
There are 21 sections covering a breadth of materials.This is a compilation of items from museums and private collections. The bibliography is a useful guide to other more detailed sources by specific artistic material type.
15) Encounters with Paradise: Views of Hawaiʻi and Its People, 1778-1971 (OP)
Forbes, David W. Encounters with Paradise: Views of Hawaiʻi and Its People, 1778-1971. Honolulu: University of Hawaii Press, 1992. 285 p. ill., bib.
This catalog is from a landmark exhibition on Hawaiian art, written by one of Hawaii’s foremost scholars on Hawaiian history. The author includes many illustrations by John Webber, an artist on one of Captain Cook’s voyages to Hawai‘i. These images are important to the study of traditional Hawaiian arts since they depict life in Hawai‘i with its culture and art at the time of Western contact.
16) Pacific Encounters: Art & Divinity in Polynesia 1760-1860
Hooper, Steven. Pacific Encounters: Art & Divinity in Polynesia 1760-1860. Honolulu: University of Hawaiʻi Press, 2006. 287 p. Ill., maps, bib.
This exhibition catalog has a large section dedicated to Hawaiian art (p. 78-117). This is a beautifully illustrated coffee-table style book.
17) Artificial Curiosities: Being an Exposition of Native Manufactures Collected on the Three Pacific Voyages of Captain James Cook, R. N., at the Bernice P. Bishop Museum (OP)
Kaeppler, Adrienne L. Artificial Curiosities: Being an Exposition of Native Manufactures Collected on the Three Pacific Voyages of Captain James Cook, R. N., at the Bernice P. Bishop Museum (Special Publication Ser. No. 65), 1978. 293 p. ill., bib.
This older publication is a catalog for a groundbreaking exhibition organized by Bishop Museum. It is included for researchers who are trying to track down the locations and owners of some of Hawaii’s most important artifacts.
18) Holophusicon--the Leverian Museum: An Eighteenth-Century English Institution of Science, Curiosity, and Art
Kaeppler, Adrienne Lois. Holophusicon--the Leverian Museum: An Eighteenth-Century English Institution of Science, Curiosity, and Art. Altenstadt, Germany: ZKF Publishers; Distributed in the United States by Bishop Museum Press, 2011. 308 p. ill., bib.
The book is extensively illustrated with detailed information on the artifacts collected on Cook's Pacific voyages, including Hawaii.
19) Oceanic Art (OP)
Kaeppler, Adrienne L., Christian Kaufmann and Douglas Newton; translated from the French by Nora Scott and Sabine Bouladon with the collaboration of Fiona Leibrick. Oceanic Art. New York : Harry N. Abrams, 1997. 633 p. ill., bib.
This extensively researched and illustrated large volume has a small section dedicated to Hawaiian art (p. 540-541), plus focus on specific Hawaiian arts such as tattooing. Adrienne Kaeppler is an ethnographer with the National Museum of Natural History and previously worked with the Hawaiian collections at Bishop Museum, she is one of the foremost scholars on the subject of traditional Hawaiian art.
20) Old Hawaiʻi: An Ethnography of Hawaiʻi in the 1880s: Based on the Research and Collections of Eduard Arning in the Ethnologisches Museum, Berlin
Kaeppler, Adrienne L., Markus Schindlbeck and Gisela E. Speidel, ed. Old Hawaiʻi: An Ethnography of Hawaiʻi in the 1880s: Based on the Research and Collections of Eduard Arning in the Ethnologisches Museum, Berlin. Veröffentlichungen Des Ethnologischen Museums Berlin n.F. 78. Berlin: Staaliche Museen zu Berlin, Ethnologisches Museum, 2008. 332 p., ill., bib.
This book documents the art as well as photographs and monographs by Eduard Arning on an important collection of Hawaiian art.
21) The Arts of Kingship: Hawaiian Art and National Culture of the Kalakaua Era
Kamehiro, Stacy L. The Arts of Kingship : Hawaiian Art and National Culture of the Kalakaua Era. Honolulu: University of Hawaii Press, 2009. 266 p. ill., bib.
This is an important book for its comparisons of Hawaiian art and its incorporation as symbols of power into the designs utilized during the late Hawaiian monarchy period.
22) Traditions We Share: Celebrating the 1997 Folk Arts Apprenticeship Gathering: Pulama ka Noeau = Cherish the Skills, the Artistry, the Wisdom (OP)
Martin, Lynn J. Traditions We Share: Celebrating the 1997 Folk Arts Apprenticeship Gathering: Pulama ka Noeau = Cherish the Skills, the Artistry, the Wisdom. Honolulu: State Foundation on Culture and the Arts & Honolulu Academy of Arts, 1997. 65 p. ill.
This book features work in a variety of traditional art forms including the visual arts of weaving, kapa and wood carving. It is an excellent resource for connecting students with traditional Hawaiian cultural practitioners.
23) The Hawaiian Portion of the Polynesian Collections in the Peabody Museum of Salem. Special exhibition, August-November, 1920
Peabody Museum of Salem. The Hawaiian Portion of the Polynesian Collections in the Peabody Museum of Salem. Special exhibition, August-November, 1920. Nabu Press, 2012. 88 p. ill.
A catalog style listing details information for researchers on the 381 featured Hawaiian artifacts in the collection.
24) Piko: A Gathering of Indigenous Artists (AV)
Puhipau and Joan Lander. Piko: A Gathering of Indigenous Artists.” DVD. Nāʻālehu, Hawai‘i: Nā Maka o ka ʻĀina, 2009. (55 min.)
Artists from across the Pacific convened in Hawaii in 2007 and this gathering was documented on this DVD. Traditional artists from Hawaii are included.
25) Finding Paradise : Island Art in Private Collections, Honolulu Academy of Arts
Severson, Don R. 2002. Finding Paradise : Island Art in Private Collections, Honolulu Academy of Arts. Honolulu: University of Hawaii Press, 2002. 355p. ill., bib.
This book covers early examples of Hawaiian stone, wood, bone, feather and fiber art.
26) Material Culture: The J.S. Emerson Collection of Hawaiian Artifacts
Summers, Catherine C. Material Culture: The J.S. Emerson Collection of Hawaiian Artifacts. Honolulu : Bishop Museum Press, 1999. 142 p. ill.
This book is a record of one of Bishop Museum’s largest and most important collections. There are many photographs and item level catalog descriptions; however it lacks color illustrations.
27) Nā Mea Makamae: Hawaiian Treasures (R)
Young, David G. Nā Mea Makamae: Hawaiian Treasures. Kailua-Kona, Hawaiʻi: Palapala Press, 1999. 109 p. ill., bib.
Beautifully designed and richly illustrated, this book covers a broad range of artistic traditions.
