Research Guides: Hawai'i History Day: Primary Sources from the Hawai'i Congressional Papers Collection: 2020: Communication in History

About this Guide

This guide features a selection of primary sources from the Hawai‘i Congressional Papers Collection that relate to each year’s Hawaiʻ History Day theme (click the green tabs above to navigate). Some of these documents may spark ideas and help you to generate questions as you start developing your project!

To learn more about our collections, which include the papers Senator Hiram L. Fong, Representative Thomas P. Gill, Senator Spark M. Matsunaga, Representative Ed Case, Representative Patricia F. Saiki, Representative Neil Abercrombie, Senator Daniel Akaka, and Senator Daniel K. Inouye, please visit our website.

Political Speeches

Speeches are one of the most enduring and inspiring forms of political communication. Legislators have many reasons for giving speeches. These may include persuading fellow legislators to vote a certain way on a particular issue, stating or clarifying their position on an issue, differentiating themselves from opponents, commemorating people and events, or gaining the support of voters during a campaign.

Speeches may be given on the floor of Congress, before Congressional committees, at political rallies, at dedication ceremonies, or before professional associations, interest groups, or the general public. Regardless of where they are delivered, however, speeches are often quoted in news coverage and shared via social media, where they can reach audiences far beyond legislators’ home constituencies. In this way, speeches have great potential to raise awareness about and support for an issue, to shift public conversation, and to impact policy.

This page showcases some notable speeches delivered by Hawai‘i’s members of Congress. Drafts are included where available.

Speeches from the Hawai'i Congressional Papers Collection

Speech of Hon. Daniel K. Inouye to the Convention of the Democratic Party of Hawai‘i (final and draft)
Representative Daniel K. Inouye (D), Democratic Party of Hawai‘i Convention, May 19, 1962
The election immediately following statehood in 1959 was impacted by a lack of coordination within the Democratic Party and a notable gubernatorial loss for John Burns. In his keynote address to the Democratic Party of Hawai‘i 3 years later, Representative Inouye sets out to define the party’s--and the new state’s--values entering the 1960s. Citation: University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Library, Sen. Daniel K. Inouye Papers; Speeches; Speeches and Messages; “Speech of Hon. Daniel K. Inouye to the Convention of the Democratic Party of Hawai‘i,” May 19, 1962.
Address of Representative Thomas P. Gill (final and draft)
Representative Thomas P. Gill (D), Hawai‘i Democratic Convention, May 16, 1964
In this speech, Representative Gill speaks in support of progressive social programs and a campaign based on “concern for the rights and welfare of men.” Later that year, Gill would challenge (and be defeated by) Hiram Fong for his seat in the U.S. Senate. Citation: University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Library, Thomas P. Gill Papers; Political Offices; U.S. House of Representatives; Public Relations; Speeches; “Address of Representative Thomas P. Gill,” May 16, 1964.
Address of U.S. Senator Hiram L. Fong
Senator Hiram L. Fong (R), American Immigration and Citizenship Conference, Hotel Statler Hilton, Washington, DC, March 4, 1965
This is one of many speeches that Senator Fong gave in support of the Immigration and Nationality Act of 1965, more commonly known as the Hart-Celler Act, which abolished national-origins quotas that had previously restricted immigration from countries outside of Western Europe and instead prioritized immigrants with desirable skills and those with family already living in the United States. Citation: University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Library, Sen. Hiram L. Fong Papers; Public Relations; Speeches, Statements, Press Releases; “Address of U.S. Senator Hiram L. Fong,” March 4, 1965.
Address by Senator Daniel K. Inouye
Senator Daniel K. Inouye (D), Keynote of the Democratic National Convention, Chicago, August 26, 1968
In this speech, the keynote address at the tumultuous 1968 Democratic National Convention, Senator Inouye addresses the Vietnam war, protests across the U.S., the enduring effects of racism in America, and the role that institutions play in society. This speech brought Inouye into the national spotlight. Citation: University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Library, Sen. Daniel K. Inouye Papers; Speeches; Chronological; “Address by Senator Daniel K. Inouye,” August 26, 1968. Citation: University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Library, Sen. Daniel K. Inouye Papers; Speeches; Chronological; “Address by Senator Daniel K. Inouye,” August 26, 1968.
Hawaiian Native Claims Settlement: An Achievable Goal
Senator Spark M. Matsunaga (D), 5th Annual Convention of the ALOHA Association, Kauai Resort Hotel, June 4, 1977
In 1974, as a result of the advocacy of the ALOHA (Aboriginal Lands of Hawaiian Ancestry) Association, Representatives Matsunaga and Mink introduced legislation that sought to obtain reparations for Native Hawaiians for losses suffered as a result of the overthrow of the Hawaiian Kingdom and the subsequent annexation of Hawai‘i by the United States. Here, Matsunaga informs Association members that, in response to the failure of that legislation, Hawai‘i‘s Congressional delegation will change their strategy: they will establish a Native Hawaiian Claims Study Commission before pursuing reparations. Citation: University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Library, Sen. Daniel K. Inouye Papers; Native Hawaiian Issues; Native Hawaiian Claims; “Hawaiian Native Claims Settlement: An Achievable Goal,” June 4, 1977.
Statement by Senator Daniel K. Inouye for Hearings Before the House Interior Committee on Hawaiian Native Land Claims Study Commission (final and draft)
Senator Daniel K. Inouye (D), Honolulu, December 22, 1979
H.R.5791, introduced by Representative Akaka, was one of several measures proposed by the Hawai'i delegation that sought to create a Native Hawaiians Study Commission to investigate the events that led to the overthrow of the Hawaiian Kingdom, and to assess the economic and social needs of Native Hawaiians. Here, Senator Inouye speaks in favor of that legislation, and in favor of redress. The commission would eventually be created in 1980 as a part of legislation to establish the Kalaupapa National Historical Park. For an unmarked copy of Sen. Inouye’s final remarks, see https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/002949156. Citation: University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Library, Sen. Daniel K. Inouye Papers; Native Hawaiian Issues; Native Hawaiians Study Commission; Statements; “Statement by Senator Daniel K. Inouye for Hearings Before the House Interior Committee on Hawaiian Native Land Claims Study,” December 22, 1979.
Introduction of a Bill to Implement the Recommendations of the Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment of Civilians ("final" and draft)
Senator Spark M. Matsunaga (D), U.S. Senate, April 10, 1987
In this speech, Senator Matsunaga introduces S.1009, which authorizes $20,000 redress payments to be made to Japanese Americans interned during WWII. It also authorizes redress payments to be made to Unangax^ (Aleut) people who were evacuated and made to live under appalling conditions during the war. Matsunaga personally lobbied all senators in order to build support for this legislation. Citation (final): University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Library, Sen. Spark M. Matsunaga Papers; U.S. Senate; Public Relations; Speeches; Legislation; “Introduction of a Bill to Implement the Recommendations of the Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment of Civilians,” April 10, 1987. Citation (draft): University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Library, Sen. Spark M. Matsunaga Papers; U.S. Senate; Subject Files; Civil Rights; Redress; Speeches; “Introduction of a Bill to Implement the Recommendations of the Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment of Civilians,” April 10, 1987.

NOTE: A slightly different version of this speech can be found beginning on page 8956 of the Congressional Record for April 10, 1987: https://www.congress.gov/bound-congressional-record/1987/04/10/senate-section
Floor Statement by Representative Patricia Saiki on Reauthorization of the Magnuson Act (final and draft)
Representative Patricia Saiki (R), U.S. House, February 6, 1990
In this speech, given on the floor of the U.S. House, Representative Saiki speaks in support of H.R.2601, a series of amendments to the 1976 Magnuson Fishery and Conservation Management Act. Specifically, she calls for the prohibition of large-scale driftnet fishing, and for the inclusion of tuna under the provisions of the act, so that tuna fisheries across the Pacific can be managed sustainably. Citation: University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Library, Patricia Saiki Papers; U.S. House; Fisheries Conservation; “Floor Statement by Representative Patricia Saiki on Reauthorization of the Magnuson Act,” February 6, 1990.

Librarian

Dawn Sueoka

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

University Archives and Manuscript Collections

(808)956-6995

About Archives Research

Doing research in the Archives is different from finding books in a library. Identifying and reviewing archival material takes patience and persistence, so it’s important to start as early as you can!

If you think you might like to do research in the Congressional Papers Collection, email me (link above) with a description of your topic, and I’d be happy to see if our collections contain material that would support your research.

Please note that my access to the collections--and therefore my ability to assist researchers--may be impacted by COVID-19 closures.