Research Guides: Hawai'i History Day: Primary Sources from the Hawai'i Congressional Papers Collection: 2022: Frontiers in History: People, Places, Ideas

About this Guide

This guide features a selection of primary sources from the Hawai‘i Congressional Papers Collection that relate to each year’s Hawaiʻ History Day theme (click the green tabs above to navigate). Some of these documents may spark ideas and help you to generate questions as you start developing your project!

To learn more about our collections, which include the papers Senator Hiram L. Fong, Representative Thomas P. Gill, Senator Spark M. Matsunaga, Representative Ed Case, Representative Patricia F. Saiki, Representative Neil Abercrombie, Senator Daniel Akaka, and Senator Daniel K. Inouye, please visit our website.

Frontiers in History

This year’s Hawaiʻi History Day theme is Frontiers in History: People, Places, Ideas. This page showcases primary sources from the archives of Senator Daniel K. Inouye, Senator Hiram L. Fong, Senator Spark M. Matsunaga, Representative Thomas P. Gill, Representative Patricia F. Saiki, and Representative Neil Abercrombie.

Some materials highlight new ways of thinking about topics like immigration, equality, and peace. Some materials document the emergence of leadership, and the breaching of Hawaiʻi’s political and business establishment. In some cases, the materials suggest not so much a frontier, but rather a return to principles and values that had been forgotten or abandoned, such as the sustainable management of land and the environment.

Banner image: Infrared aerial photo (Kalihi looking in the ‘Ewa direction) intended to illustrate the effects of pollution on land and water, late 1960s. Pollution studies conducted during this period led to the establishment and strengthening of clean air and water standards for Hawaiʻi. Audiovisual series, Slides subseries, Thomas P. Gill Papers, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Library.

Frontiers in Leadership

Representative Daniel K. Inouye, letter to Morio Omori, March 9, 1962
“I have been placed very uncomfortably into a position where I now, whether I like it or not, serve as a symbol to all others who have risen above the mud and shacks of the plantations. I am, whether I like it or not, a symbol to many of the possibility of equal treatment under our laws. I am, whether I like it or not, a symbol to many as a bright hope for true social acceptance. These are the issues that are involved. Believe me, I would, at times, naturally prefer to take the easy route and sit back and enjoy life. But now that I am in this position, I feel that I am morally bound to carry out my responsibilities to our people, and by people I mean all the people of Hawaii.”
House records series, Central files subseries box 2, Senator Daniel K. Inouye Papers, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Library.

Frontiers in Immigration

Senator Hiram L. Fong, “Testimony on S. 500 – Immigration Reform,” before the Senate Subcommittee on Immigration, February 24, 1965
“I wish to make a brief statement in support of S. 500, proposing to basically change American immigration policies.” “For as we move to erase racial discrimination against our own citizens [by enacting the Civil Rights Act of 1964], we should also move to erase racial barriers against citizens of other lands in our immigration laws.”
Committees series, Judiciary subseries box 46, Senator Hiram L. Fong Papers, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Library.
Senator Hiram L. Fong, “Statement on Passage of Immigration Reform Bill,” September 21, 1965
“I am very pleased that the Senate has at long last passed an immigration measure to eliminate the last vestiges of discrimination from our immigration laws.”
Committees series, Judiciary subseries box 46, Senator Hiram L. Fong Papers, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Library.

Frontiers in Land Use and Environmental Stewardship

State Representative Governor Thomas P. Gill, remarks on land policy in Hawaiʻi, February 9, 1961
“Hawaii will not solve its land problems until substantial policy changes have been made as to both public and private lands.”
Political offices series, State legislature subseries box 20, Thomas P. Gill Papers, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Library.
Department of Health, State of Hawaiʻi, “Report on Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 35 Requesting the Department of Health to Study the Incidence and Causes of Air Pollution in Hawaii,” January 8, 1969
“When President Johnson signed his approval to the Air Quality Act of 1967, he said, ‘We have only one choice - either we stop poisoning our air or we become a nation in gas masks, groping our way through dying cities and a wilderness of ghost towns.’ Fortunately, the outlook for Hawaii is not that bleak for we have worked hard to maintain the quality of our air...Ours is a challenge to keep this air from any undue deterioration.”
Political offices series, Lieutenant Governor subseries, Subject subseries box 128, Thomas P. Gill Papers, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Library.

Political Frontiers

Representative Neil Abercrombie, “The Incredible Story of Neil Abercrombie (Mr. Good) Becomes Super Senator,” U.S. Senate campaign poster, 1970
“THE TYRANT’S FOE, THE PEOPLE’S FRIEND. SUPER SENATOR IS ON THE SCENE!”
Oversize materials, Neil Abercrombie Papers, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Library.
Representative Neil Abercrombie, “Throw Your Vote to Neil Abercrombie,” U.S. Senate campaign poster, 1970
“No problem, Senator …. He’s not a viable candidate.”
Oversize materials, Neil Abercrombie Papers, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Library.

Frontiers in Equality

State of Hawaiʻi Department of Budget and Finance, “Women’s Law (sic.) Enacted in 1972 Legislature,” 1972
“(HB 1713) Equal Rights amendment to the State Constitution guaranteeing that equality of rights under the law cannot be abridged by the State on account of sex…”
State House series, Legislation subseries box 1, Patricia F. Saiki Papers, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Library.
State of Hawaiʻi Department of Budget and Finance, “Women’s Laws Enacted in 1973 Legislature,” 1973
“(SB 59) MATERNITY LEAVE; DISCRIMINATORY. Repeals the law relating to employees with more than 1 year of service in the civil service requiring them to take maternity leave without pay and granting only reemployment rights for extended leave…”
State House series, Legislation subseries box 1, Patricia F. Saiki Papers, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Library.

Peace as a Frontier

Senator Spark M. Matsunaga, “Let Us Teach Our People to Want Peace,” student paper (English 134), January 13, 1938
“We are living in a society based too largely on a militaristic foundation. The peace-loving emotions of the people have not been cultivated.”
Senate subgroup, Personal series, Biography subseries box 3, Senator Spark M. Matsunaga Papers, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Library.
Senator Spark M. Matsunaga, “To Establish a United States Academy of Peace - A Rational Pursuit for Rational Americans,” Sunday, January 10, 1982
“Perhaps, as the Gallup and Harris Polls indicate, the majority of Americans believe that war is inevitable, but I will never accept such a premise and I hope that you won’t either.”
Senate subgroup, Subject files series, Peace subseries box 315, Senator Spark M. Matsunaga Papers, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Library.
Senator Spark M. Matsunaga, “Remarks of U.S. Senator Spark Matsunaga on ʻThe Day After,ʻ an ABC Television Production,” November 23, 1983
“It is time for the American people to take up the new responsibility and power which [Manhattan Project physicist Isidor] Rabi spoke of and to lead their country and the world to peace, before ‘The Day After’ Arrives.”
Senate subgroup, Subject files series, Peace subseries box 315, Senator Spark M. Matsunaga Papers, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Library.

Librarian

Dawn Sueoka

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

University Archives and Manuscript Collections

(808)956-6995

About Archives Research

Doing research in the Archives is different from finding books in a library. Identifying and reviewing archival material takes patience and persistence, so it’s important to start as early as you can!

If you think you might like to do research in the Congressional Papers Collection, email me (link above) with a description of your topic, and I’d be happy to see if our collections contain material that would support your research.

Please note that my access to the collections--and therefore my ability to assist researchers--may be impacted by COVID-19 closures.