Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Chemical Society
Founded in 1876 and chartered by the U.S. Congress, we are the world’s largest scientific society. Our mission is to advance the broader chemistry enterprise and its practitioners for the benefit of Earth and its people. Our vision is to improve people’s lives through the transforming power of chemistry.
American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
The Society's mission is to advance the science of biochemistry and molecular biology and to promote the understanding of the molecular nature of life processes.
The Biochemical Society promotes the future of molecular biosciences; facilitating the sharing of expertise, supporting the advancement of biochemistry and molecular biology, and raising awareness of their importance in addressing societal grand challenges.
To collect, organize and disseminate structural & functional knowledge about biomacromolecules, their assemblies and interactions with small molecules, in a user-friendly way to a broad scientific audience as a free, collaborative 3D-encyclopedia of proteins & other biomolecules.
Protein Data Bank
The Protein Data Bank (PDB) was established as the 1st open access digital data resource in all of biology and medicine (Historical Timeline). It is today a leading global resource for experimental data central to scientific discovery.
Through an internet information portal and downloadable data archive, the PDB provides access to 3D structure data for large biological molecules (proteins, DNA, and RNA). These are the molecules of life, found in all organisms on the planet.
Nucleic Acid Database
The NDB contains information about experimentally-determined nucleic acids and complex assemblies.
Use the NDB to perform searches based on annotations relating to sequence, structure and function, and to download, analyze, and learn about nucleic acids.
Molecular Modeling Database
The Molecular Modeling DataBase (MMDB) is a database of experimentally determined three-dimensional biomolecular structures, and is also referred to as the Entrez Structure database. It is a subset of three-dimensional structures obtained from the RCSB Protein Data Bank (PDB), excluding theoretical models. The data processing procedure at NCBI results in the addition of a number of useful features that facilitate computation on the data and link them to many other data types in the Entrez system.
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 67 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
Podcasts and Other Interesting Sites
ACS Chemical Biology publishes free Podcasts highlighting articles and news pieces published in the journal and discussing the latest activities on its community Web site. These include interviews with our authors, editorial board members, editors and science writers.
ASBMB AudioPhiles is a monthly 'best of' summary which features research highlights from ASBMB journals. Our objective for this series of podcasts is to spotlight articles published in the Journal of Biological Chemistry, as well as other news of interest to biochemists and JBC readers.
A "kinemage" (kinetic image) is a scientific illustration presented as an interactive computer display. Operations on the displayed kinemage respond immediately: the entire image can be rotated in real time, parts of the display can be turned on or off, points can be identified by selecting them, and the change between different forms can be animated. A kinemage is prepared in order to better communicate ideas that depend on 3-dimensional (or more) information. The kinemages are distributed as plain text files of commented display lists and accompanying explanations.
Linscott's Directory of Immunological & Biological Reagents
Linscott's Directory has been connecting biotech researchers with reagent suppliers since 1980. Our search engine will help you find antibody suppliers for thousands of specific antibodies. Plus locate sources for ELISA assay kits, cytokines, enzymes, recombinant proteins, siRNAs, tissues, organs, custom antibody services and more. We currently have more than 2,500,000 different listings in our antibody section, and more than 1,000,000 listings of other products and services available from hundreds of different commercial and governmental sources worldwide, and more are being added each week. Use this excellent resource to connect directly to the companies and institutions that provide the products and services you need.
Protocol Online is a database of research protocols in a variety of life science fields. It contains protocols contributed by worldwide researchers as well as links to web protocols hosted by worldwide research labs, biotech companies, personal web sites. The data is stored in a MySql relational database. Protocol Online also hosts discipline specific discussion forums (BioForum), and provides a free PubMed search and alerting service (PubAlert). This site was created in June 1999 and is maintained by Dr. Long-Cheng Li.
Protocol Exchange is an open repository of community-contributed protocols sponsored by Nature Protocols.
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is an interdisciplinary journal providing a definitive source of research methods in cell, developmental and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, computational biology, immunology, neuroscience and imaging. Each monthly issue details multiple essential methods—a mix of cutting-edge and well-established techniques. All protocols are up-to-date and presented in a consistent, easy-to-follow format.