Research Guides: Vladimir Ossipoff Architecture Papers at the University of Hawaii Library: Additional Hawaii Architect Collections at Hamilton Library

John Mason Young Architectural Papers

John Mason Young (1874-1949)
Date Range: 1889-1939 (bulk of records between 1909-1939)
Young was a member of the first University of Hawaii faculty in September 1908. He created the engineering program, drew plans for the Manoa campus and designed four campus buildings. He had a double appointment as Professor and College Engineer. His impact on planning and development in Honolulu is significant; he was co-author of the City and County of Honolulu building ordinance, and was a member of the city planning commission. Contact the University Archives to learn more about the collection.

George Hogan Architectural Drawings

Hogan was the architect for the University of Hawaii's Hamilton Library. He was born in Hawaii and had a successful career spanning 50 years. His residential designs are noted for Asian influence, especially in roof and ceiling details. Hogan retired in 1987 and passed away at the age of 95, in 2009. A finding aid with a short biographical statement and list of projects is in ArchivesSpace.

Spencer Leineweber Architectural Papers

Spencer Leineweber was an active faculty member in the University of Hawaii's School of Architecture and staunch advocate for cultural heritage causes, including the Jean Charlot Foundation. She was best known for her extensive work in preservation of some of Hawaii's most important buildings, including historic house museums, churches, YMCA and YWCA buildings, and historic districts. As an architect in private practice, she also created many elaborate custom residential projects for her clients.

Her papers are a testament to detailed research into the history of her projects for preservation projects. There are many original drawings, older plans, reports, maps, field notebooks, and sometimes paint samples used to establish a building's original colors. See ArchivesSpace for a preliminary finding aid to the collection.

Nancy Peacock Architectural Collection

Nancy Peacock is an architect and interior designer based in Honolulu. Born and raised on O‘ahu, Peacock attended Punahou School, graduating in 1972. She then studied at Cornell University, where she received a Bachelor’s of Architecture degree before becoming a licensed architect in the State of Hawai‘i. She spent time working under Norman Lacayo, Architect, from 1978 to 1981, as well as Ossipoff, Snyder, Rowland, and Goetz Architects from 1981 to 1982. In 1982, Peacock opened her own firm Nancy Peacock, AIA Inc., where she has served as owner and president for over thirty years.

The collection features original architectural drawings for 21 residential projects as well as publicity records for Nancy Peacock's award winning designs. See ArchivesSpace for a finding aid to the collection.

Hego Fuchino Architectural Papers

Hego Fuchino (1888-1961)
Date range 1924-1960
The collection includes approximately 1,200 architectural drawings. Fuchino was the first issei engineer trained in Hawaii. During WWII he was sent to an internment camp in Wisconsin. His drawings include Haleiwa Theater and Makiki Christian Church. A list of his project drawings is searchable in an ArchivesSpace finding aid.

Hart Wood Architectural Drawings

Hart Wood (1880-1957)
Date Range 1923-1950
Wood was an early proponent of Hawaiian style architecture. Before coming to
Hawaii he worked with Bernard Maybeck in Berkeley. He was a partner with Honolulu
architect Charles William Dickey from 1919-1928. Some of his projects included in the archive are the First Church of Christ Scientist, the S. and G. Gump Building in Waikiki, and the First Chinese Church of Christ. A finding aid listing the dates of correspondence and list of project drawings is searchable in ArchivesSpace.

James C. Hubbard Architectural Drawings

James C. Hubbard (1934-1997)
Hubbard was a noted landscape architect. There are approximately 120 landscape drawings in the collection, including the Bishop Center and Queen Emma Summer Palace. He wrote a number of books with Hawaii botanist Horace Clay on gardens in Hawaii. He was one of the founders of Flora Pacifica. There is a preliminary inventory of the drawings.