Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Journal Article Databases
Citations, most with abstracts, for publications in agriculture and related areas such as nutrition, biotechnology, and botany.
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
Citations with abstracts for publications in science, technology and management of marine, brackish and freshwater environments.
Citations with abstracts for journal articles covering all aspects of the life sciences dealing with animals (including humans), plants and microorganisms. This is a particularly good database for articles on tropical ecology.
Collection of full-text bioscience research journals published by scientific societies and non-commercial publishers; focuses on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
CAB Direct (CAB Abstracts)
Citations with abstracts to international literature in the agricultural sciences, including tropical agriculture, and related areas of applied biology. This database covers tropical ecology particularly well.
GeoBase via Engineering Village 2
GEOBASE is a unique multidisciplinary database supplying bibliographic information and abstracts for human and physical geography, ecology, geology, oceanography, geomechanics and development studies. NOTE: To use the GeoBase thesuarus and the Google map feature, make sure that only GeoBase is checked when running your search.
JSTOR Biological Sciences Collection
JSTOR provides full-text journal backfiles. The Biological Sciences Collection offers great depth in fields such as biodiversity, conservation, ecology, paleontology, and plant science. The General Science Collection is also useful for ecological topics.
Citations and abstracts covering worldwide technical literature on the marine and brackish-water environments.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences. Allows searching to find papers that have cited a particular paper as well as searching by topic or author.
Going from Database Record to the Full-Text Article
Most of the Library's subscription databases enable you to connect directly from a citation record to the full-text article online, if available.
-Click on the link in the database record to search UHM electronic collections for the full-text article.
-If , you can search to see if we have it available in print.
-If we do not have the article in print or electronic format, you can to access the Interlibrary Loan online request form. Interlibrary Loan is a free service provided to you by the Library -- the article will be sent to you within a few days as a PDF file.
Some Recommended Journals
Dissertations & Theses
Large collection of dissertations and theses via Proquest. Full text: 1997 - present; Citations: 1743 - present.
Need More Help?
Sci/Tech Librarians Email: