Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Web Resources
Birds of the Hawaiian Islands: Occurrence, History, Distribution, and Status
Robert L. Pyle and Peter Pyle (2009) This site provides an official checklist for all species of birds documented as occurring in the Hawaiian Islands. Detailed species accounts are provided for 317 species documented since 1778, including native land birds and waterbirds, breeding seabirds, migratory species, vagrants, and non-native species with established breeding populations.
Cook Islands Biodiversity
Web site provides searchable access to the Cook Islands Biodiversity Database. The database includes information on 4,200 native and introduced species. It includes terrestrial, freshwater, and marine species.
Flora of the Hawaiian Islands
From the the Smithsonian Institution, this site provides searchable access to a checklist of Hawaiian vascular plants as well as a searchable image database. It also contains a pdf file of the supplement to the Manual of the Flowering Plants of Hawaii which details taxonomic changes since the publication of the Manual.
Flora of the Marquesas Islands
From the Smithsonian Institution, this site provides searchable access to a checklist of Marquesan vascular plants as well as a searchable image database.
Hawaii Biological Survey
This Bishop Museum site includes access to databases on insects, plants including algae, mollusks, fish, birds and terrestrial vertebrates, and marine invertebrates. Also links to the Northwest Hawaiian Islands plants and animals databases.
Hawaii Wetland Field Guide: An ecological and identification guide to wetlands and wetland plants of the Hawaiian Islands
This field guide illustrates 208 wetland plants commonly found in Hawaii’s lowlands. It describes wetland soils and hydrology, and restoration and mitigation concepts relevant to the islands. It also includes some of Hawaii’s unique wetland animals: endangered birds, native fish and shellfish, and rare and declining native insects. (Note: large PDF file, may take a while to download - 93.3 MB)
Offshore Islet Restoration Committee (OIRC)
Information can be accessed for the specific islets off of each of the main Hawaiian Islands or by type of organism; the Projects section has links to biological surveys and other reports in pdf format.
Pacific Island Plant Restoration Database
An interactive plant key, designed as a tool to assist managers of Pacific Island restoration projects in selecting plants appropriate for their project outplanting sites in the Pacific Region. From Hawaii Conservation Alliance
Plants to Control Stream Bank Erosion
From the Waimanalo Watershed Restoration Project, a short publication on using native plants to restore stream banks in Hawaii; includes a list of recommended plants, invasive plants to avoid, planting instructions, and erosion control. (PDF file - 332 K)
Need More Help?
Sci/Tech Librarians Email:
Other Hawaiʻi and Pacific links
ʻAimalama Pacific Peoples' Lunar Conference on Climate Change
Website for the 2015 conference that aimed to "bring together peoples of Hawaiʻi and the Pacific who are revitalizing lunar practices to share lunar methodologies with one another and build a regional community of practice."
Hōkūleʻa : Science at Sea
Site of several science research projects that will be conducted during the Worldwide Voyage. These include studies related to 1) Plankton populations research, 2) Water quality and research, 3) Marine debris collection and plastic pollution research, 4) Hydroponic food growing, 5) Marine mammal acoustics research, and 6) Fish DNA and population research.
Guidebook of Introduced Marine Species of Hawaii
This brief guide was assembled to provide information concerning some of the most common marine alien species in the coastal waters of Hawaii. Maintained by the Hawaii Biological Survey, Bishop Museum.
Pacific Invasives Initiative (PII)
PII works to conserve island biodiversity and enhance the sustainability of livelihoods of men, women and youth in the Pacific by reducing negative impacts of invasive species.
Rainfall Atlas of Hawaii
The Rainfall Atlas of Hawaii is an interactive set of maps of the spatial patterns of rainfall for the major Hawaiian Islands. Maps are available for mean monthly and annual rainfall for the 30-yr base period 1978–2007.
Regional Water Quality Program-State of Hawaii
From the Cooperative State Research, Education and Extension Services, U.S. Department of Agriculture. Information resources on water pollution, watershed management, and animal waste management for Hawaii.
Soil Surveys for Hawaii
(NRCS, USDA) This Web site lists Hawaii soil surveys that have been published by the U.S. Department of Agriculture since 1955. Soil surveys furnish soil maps and interpretations.