Research Guides: Food Science: Books/eBooks

Getting Started - Finding Background Information

OneSearch to Find Books and Journal Articles

Dissertations & Theses @ University of Hawaii
Dissertations and Theses at University of Hawaii provides access to complete full text of University of Hawaii theses and dissertations from 1996 to present.

Dissertations and Theses in ScholarSpace
An increasing number of UH Manoa dissertations and theses are available through our open access institutional repository, ScholarSpace. Open access; no login required.

Dissertations & Theses
Includes citations for doctoral and master's work from more than 1,000 graduate schools and universities dating back to 1861. More than 750,000 dissertations and theses from 1997 on have been digitized and are available in pdf format. Citations for dissertations from 1980 forward include abstracts. Note: include the asterisk (*) to include records with an okina in Hawai'i.

Ebook Central
Ebook Central is the new home for e-books from EBL and ebrary.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Search and view the full text of eBooks purchased by the University of Hawaii at Manoa Library.
WorldCat (via OCLC FirstSearch)
Search thousands of libraries around the world In one location. If the book you find is not available at a UH library, you can use the Request Via ILL link to borrow the book from another Library.

Google Books
Use Google Books to find information about your topic in books the UH Manoa Library may have on the shelves. Google Books provides a way to find information that might otherwise be hidden. Open access; no login required.
Search in OneSearch for the titles of books that you find in Google Books to see if they are available at the UH Manoa Library shelves.
Core Historical Literature of Agriculture
(Mann Library, Cornell University) The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) is a core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science,forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. Open access; no login required.
Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition History
(Mann Library, Cornell University) HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. The first phase of this project focused on books published between 1850 and 1925 and a small number of journals.
Science Breakthroughs to Advance Food and Agricultural Research by 2030
National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine 2018