Research Guides: Food Science: Journal Articles

Food Science Technology Abstracts (FSTA) Tutorials

FSTA Tutorial Part 1 (approx. 10 minutes)

What content FSTA includes
What content FSTA excludes (predatory journals and fake science)

FSTA Tutorial Part 2 (approx. 20 minutes)

    What the information in FSTA looks like—what is it exactly that you search when you search FSTA?
    How the FSTA thesaurus helps organize that information, and helps you find what you need
    How to choose and find keywords for building a search
    How to connect keywords with Boolean operators to add precision to your search
    How to apply filters for even more precision

Access Part 2 here >>

FSTA Tutorial Part 3 (approx. 30 minutes)

How to put your search skills into practice (You will need to log into your organisational FSTA access on Web of Science to complete this section)
Assessment to verify your learning

Access Part 3 here >>

Certificate of completion

Available upon completion of all 3 parts

Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA)
via Web of Science 1969 - present: FSTA covers all areas of food science, food technology, and human nutrition, including basic food science, biotechnology, toxicology, packaging, and engineering.
CABI Digital Library (CAB Abstracts)
1910 - present: Citations with abstracts to international literature in the agricultural sciences, including tropical agriculture and ecology. This database covers journals, monographs, conference proceedings, theses, technical reports, patents, and other sources, most with English-language abstracts. UHM Library CAB Direct LibGuide
PubMed Medline
1946 - present: Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, citations, most with abstracts, for journal articles in biomedicine including research, clinical practice and health care services. Includes links to GenBank and protein sequence data and core medical, molecular biology and biochemistry textbooks. Search Guide (PDF from NLM) | UHM Library PubMed LibGuide
Web of Science
via Web of Science 1980 - present: Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences. Allows citation searching as well as searching by topic or author. UHM Library Web of Science LibGuide
SciFinder-n
1907 - present: SciFinder Scholar provides access to Chemical Abstracts from 1907 to the present and covers all areas of chemistry and chemical engineering. You must create a free personal account to use the Web version of SciFinder Scholar. UHM Library SciFinder LibGuide

PubAg
(National Agricultural Library, USDA) PubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. At launch, it delivered over 40,000 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and includes nearly 450,000 citations. Open access; no login required.

AGRICOLA
via EbscoHost 1970 - present: Citations, most with abstracts, for publications in agriculture and related areas such as nutrition, biotechnology, and botany.

Annual Reviews
Full-text access to annual reviews in biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences such as the Annual Review of Food Science and Technology

Google Scholar
Full-text @ UH Manoa links should automatically display. If the links are not displaying you can manually set the links to UH Manoa subscriptions by clicking the menu icon in the upper left corner of the Google Scholar search page. Go to Settings. Click on Library links and search for Hawaii. Select University of Hawaii at Manoa - Full Text @ UH Manoa and save your preferences.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.

ScholarSpace
(UH Manoa Library) This UH Manoa digital repository provides full-text searchable access to the full-text of many UH Manoa publications and other research materials. Includes many publications of the College of Tropical Agriculture and Human Resources. Open access; no login required.